We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“New Year week in Salzburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
Ranked #22 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Year week in Salzburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Advantages.
Very quiet area, despite the fact our windows faced a road.
There is SPAR nearby - it might be important if you did not pay for breakfasts.
It is easy to reach the hotel from the airport - the (trolley-)bus stop is just round the corner (take line 2 and get off the bus at the Bayerhamerstrasse stop).
Try to ask for a bigger room - e.g., rooms 301 and 308 are much bigger, have balcony and a kind of vestibule with an additional door to the room itself; thus, these rooms are more quiet than others.
We stayed at the hotel during New Year holidays and enjoyed New Year's Eve dinner at the hotel restaurant with live harp music.

Disadvantages.
Please note that breakfasts might not be included into room rate.
There was a tea/coffee facilities, but only one mug in the room.
Sometimes they threw away a piece of soap in the bathroom and forgot to provide us with a new one.
Be careful with elevators - they are rather old and unreliable; once we stuck inside for about five minutes :-)

Room Tip: Try to ask for a bigger room - e.g., rooms 301 and 308 are much bigger, have balcony and a kind of v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear PabloP,

thank you for your positive words on your stay during New Years Eve. We appreciate reading that you have enjoyed your stay in Salzburg.We will pass your feedback to our housekeeping department in order to improve this part of service.

We hope we can welcome you in the near future again.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    423
    182
    48
    20
See reviews for
183
434
55
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My family recently stayed here, unfortunately no snow in town, but plenty outside. We caught the bus and cable car to Untensberg, was beautiful. The lakes and mountain trip was great, just unfortunate that it is winter so didn't get to see Mondsee-do the early sound of music tour (9:30). Daniel on desk was very patient with us giving great advice on where to go. Christmas markets are amazing. Mercure is clean, comfortable and very warm.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear DianaH,

thank you for your positive review. We appreciate reading that you had a really good time in Salzburg even without snow. We will pass your positive feedback to Daniel who will be more than happy to hear that he could make your stay more comfortable.

We hope we can welcome you in the future - the next time with snow.

Happy new year!

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Quite outdated but alright hotel if the price is right. Nice sides: 10-15 min walk from main station and 15-20 to downtown, couple of supermarkets around, tea/coffee facilities in the room. And one of the best Wi-Fi connections I had in hotels lately.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Andrey P,

thank you for sharing your comment on tripadvisor about your stay. We appreciate your positive feedback and decription. We hope we can welcome you soon in the future in Salzburg or in another Accor property.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The location is a bit off-center, but at that price, I guess anyone can live with that. On the other hand, service is top-notch, personnel is most helpful - go to the bar for a bucket of ice, and they will offer you wine glasses. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Ricardo T,

thank you a lot for the positive words. We are more than happy to share them with our team!

It is a pleasure to read that we could welcome you a second time with us.

We wish you and your family Merry Christmas and a happy new Year.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in September while visiting Salzburg as tourists. I had looked up quite a few hotels in Salzburg and finally zeroed in on the Mercure - both from cost and location perspectives.

Our 'check-in' was not great - even though we arrived after the check-in time it was taking a long time for the room to get readied and allotted to us. After we complained a little, we were offered to have a drink or two 'on the house' in the bar. While that's okay, we still ended up waiting for an hour or so for the room to get ready. That was probably the only 'negative' about the stay.

The room was fine, a little on the smaller side but that was okay because we didn't expect to spend long hours in the room anyway. The room could benefit with better lighting inside though - it can get really dark and that's not something you want - especially when you're packing to leave.

From a location perspective, it's probably a 15 minute walk from the center of the city or to Mirabell gardens. There is bus connectivity as well so getting around to-and-fro was absolutely not an issue.

I would recommend the Mercure as a place to stay in for sure. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pratish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guests from India,

thank you for the time to write your review about your stay at the Mercure Salzburg City.
We apologize for the inconvience that we have caused you at the beginning of your stay!

We are looking forward welcoming you the next time you are in Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
203 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed only 1 night and had a good experience. Check in was smooth and trouble free.

Asked for non-smoking rooms. However, cigarette smell was present at the corridor on rooms level. Rooms seem to have been recently renovated, nice and clean. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was fine and everything in working order. Just like the normal Mercure standard. Welcome drinks vouchers given for Accor members.

Wifi was free and worked in the rooms as well. TV programmes mostly European and only 1 English news channel.

Location of the hotel is not very far from the train station. Walking instructions which took about 10 minutes given by the hotel is as follows:

- leave the main train station through the main exit
- turn left and follow the street to the traffic lights
- turn left at the lights and walk left through the railway tunnel
- keep walking straight "Gabelsbergerstrasse"
- the street makes a slight turn left and you will see traffic lights
- turn left at the traffic lights into Bayerhamerstrasse
- after 200 m you see our hotel on the right hand side

We found another short cut though. Instead of exiting the main train station, walk in the opposite direction which leads to a tunnel that cuts across the railway tracks and platforms above and exit by walking up a flight of stairs. Cross the road and turn left and walk along Lastenstrasse then turn right into Breitenfelderstrasse and walk on. Finally turn right and walk along Bayerhamerstrasse to reach Mercure on the left. Walking time to reach the hotel is about 5 to 7 minutes.

To reach the old town, turn left at the hotel and walk along Bayerhamerstrasse to reach Schallmooser Huaptstrasse turn right and walk straight ahead to cross the bridge into the tourist spots.

We paid slightly over 50 euro without breakfast per room for a night stay when booked early which was a good deal. Customer service was excellent too. A good Accor hotel to stay within easy walking distance from train station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guests from Singapur,

thank you for your detailed review!
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Salzburg and we will pass your feedback to our staff members.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#33 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Property: Mercure Salzburg City
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14/A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing