We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Value for money hotel in Salzburg” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
Ranked #22 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel in Salzburg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in September while visiting Salzburg as tourists. I had looked up quite a few hotels in Salzburg and finally zeroed in on the Mercure - both from cost and location perspectives.

Our 'check-in' was not great - even though we arrived after the check-in time it was taking a long time for the room to get readied and allotted to us. After we complained a little, we were offered to have a drink or two 'on the house' in the bar. While that's okay, we still ended up waiting for an hour or so for the room to get ready. That was probably the only 'negative' about the stay.

The room was fine, a little on the smaller side but that was okay because we didn't expect to spend long hours in the room anyway. The room could benefit with better lighting inside though - it can get really dark and that's not something you want - especially when you're packing to leave.

From a location perspective, it's probably a 15 minute walk from the center of the city or to Mirabell gardens. There is bus connectivity as well so getting around to-and-fro was absolutely not an issue.

I would recommend the Mercure as a place to stay in for sure. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pratish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guests from India,

thank you for the time to write your review about your stay at the Mercure Salzburg City.
We apologize for the inconvience that we have caused you at the beginning of your stay!

We are looking forward welcoming you the next time you are in Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    423
    182
    48
    20
See reviews for
183
435
55
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
203 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed only 1 night and had a good experience. Check in was smooth and trouble free.

Asked for non-smoking rooms. However, cigarette smell was present at the corridor on rooms level. Rooms seem to have been recently renovated, nice and clean. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was fine and everything in working order. Just like the normal Mercure standard. Welcome drinks vouchers given for Accor members.

Wifi was free and worked in the rooms as well. TV programmes mostly European and only 1 English news channel.

Location of the hotel is not very far from the train station. Walking instructions which took about 10 minutes given by the hotel is as follows:

- leave the main train station through the main exit
- turn left and follow the street to the traffic lights
- turn left at the lights and walk left through the railway tunnel
- keep walking straight "Gabelsbergerstrasse"
- the street makes a slight turn left and you will see traffic lights
- turn left at the traffic lights into Bayerhamerstrasse
- after 200 m you see our hotel on the right hand side

We found another short cut though. Instead of exiting the main train station, walk in the opposite direction which leads to a tunnel that cuts across the railway tracks and platforms above and exit by walking up a flight of stairs. Cross the road and turn left and walk along Lastenstrasse then turn right into Breitenfelderstrasse and walk on. Finally turn right and walk along Bayerhamerstrasse to reach Mercure on the left. Walking time to reach the hotel is about 5 to 7 minutes.

To reach the old town, turn left at the hotel and walk along Bayerhamerstrasse to reach Schallmooser Huaptstrasse turn right and walk straight ahead to cross the bridge into the tourist spots.

We paid slightly over 50 euro without breakfast per room for a night stay when booked early which was a good deal. Customer service was excellent too. A good Accor hotel to stay within easy walking distance from train station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guests from Singapur,

thank you for your detailed review!
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Salzburg and we will pass your feedback to our staff members.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

When I travel for my work, I always choose hotels with a restaurant, because I don't feel like going out on my own in the evening. I realize I have to give in on quality, but I gain on convenience. Having said that, the low standard of quality at the restaurant of the Mercure Salzburg City was not what I bargained for. I gave my order for a drink. More than 15 minutes went by, the waiter muttered something about a group of Americans, brought me my drink (1/8 of wine instead of 1/4 and still water instead of sparkling). Then they brought my main course, forgetting about the starter. I ended up having my starter after the main course. When I brought this up with the waitress, she gave some sort of lame apology. The waiter, however, was apparently man enough to make mistakes, but not to come over and apologize. When I checked out and mentioned what happened, the receptionist said: Ï'll have to find out what went wrong". Other than that, room was fine, shower in the bath.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchfarmeress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest from the Netherlands,

first of all let me apologize for the experience you have had during your stay in our restaurant.
Please be assured that this is not the Mercure standard that we want to represent in the F&B section. We will discuss your feedback with our team in order to improve our service!

We hope we can welcome you again to give us the second possibility to convience you of our service.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Comfortable modern and clean hotel max. 20 min. walk from centre of old town. Underground parking available for €11-/night, free wifi & adequate speed. We stayed in a small suite (room 212) which was big enough for 4 people (sofa extended to allow for an additional bed) with view towards the back, hence avoiding busy front side road. No smoking hotel. Breakfast was ample however a little lacklustre. Staff friendly, service OK. Good value considering location and timing. Will be back next time again. Had dinner in Bella Vita just around the corner which was an excellent choice if you are not in a hurry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for your review on your trip to Salzburg. We are happy to hear that your stay had been enjoyable!

Hope we can welcome you in future in one of an Accor Chain Hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mercure Salzburg City for 6 nights during a trip to Europe. It was one of the nicer hotels we stayed in during our trip and we enjoyed the experience. The room and bathroom were quite spacious, easily the largest we encountered on our entire trip. The employees were tremendously helpful in navigating the city and finding local restaurant gems. The location isn't ideal, but the walk to the train station and older parts of the city are still within 15 minutes. Overall we would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelohio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

great to hear that our team could make your long stay in Salzburg comfortable and enjoyable. We will pass your comments and they will be happy to read them!

Hope you will come to Salzburg one time again!

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manger Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#33 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Property: Mercure Salzburg City
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14/A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing