We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“hotel okay, avoid restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“hotel okay, avoid restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

When I travel for my work, I always choose hotels with a restaurant, because I don't feel like going out on my own in the evening. I realize I have to give in on quality, but I gain on convenience. Having said that, the low standard of quality at the restaurant of the Mercure Salzburg City was not what I bargained for. I gave my order for a drink. More than 15 minutes went by, the waiter muttered something about a group of Americans, brought me my drink (1/8 of wine instead of 1/4 and still water instead of sparkling). Then they brought my main course, forgetting about the starter. I ended up having my starter after the main course. When I brought this up with the waitress, she gave some sort of lame apology. The waiter, however, was apparently man enough to make mistakes, but not to come over and apologize. When I checked out and mentioned what happened, the receptionist said: Ï'll have to find out what went wrong". Other than that, room was fine, shower in the bath.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchfarmeress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest from the Netherlands,

first of all let me apologize for the experience you have had during your stay in our restaurant.
Please be assured that this is not the Mercure standard that we want to represent in the F&B section. We will discuss your feedback with our team in order to improve our service!

We hope we can welcome you again to give us the second possibility to convience you of our service.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    388
    170
    44
    17
See reviews for
170
396
48
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Comfortable modern and clean hotel max. 20 min. walk from centre of old town. Underground parking available for €11-/night, free wifi & adequate speed. We stayed in a small suite (room 212) which was big enough for 4 people (sofa extended to allow for an additional bed) with view towards the back, hence avoiding busy front side road. No smoking hotel. Breakfast was ample however a little lacklustre. Staff friendly, service OK. Good value considering location and timing. Will be back next time again. Had dinner in Bella Vita just around the corner which was an excellent choice if you are not in a hurry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for your review on your trip to Salzburg. We are happy to hear that your stay had been enjoyable!

Hope we can welcome you in future in one of an Accor Chain Hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mercure Salzburg City for 6 nights during a trip to Europe. It was one of the nicer hotels we stayed in during our trip and we enjoyed the experience. The room and bathroom were quite spacious, easily the largest we encountered on our entire trip. The employees were tremendously helpful in navigating the city and finding local restaurant gems. The location isn't ideal, but the walk to the train station and older parts of the city are still within 15 minutes. Overall we would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelohio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

great to hear that our team could make your long stay in Salzburg comfortable and enjoyable. We will pass your comments and they will be happy to read them!

Hope you will come to Salzburg one time again!

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manger Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nice comfortable hotel in quiet location. Beds nice and bathroom well stocked (towels, soap, lotion etc.) Lots of closet space and bench space for suitbags, free wifi. Close to downtown - a brisk 10 minute or more leisurely 15 minute walk, also near bus line. We walked from the train station pulling our bags, a bit of a walk but very doable. Staff quite helpful with good restaurant recommendations. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorealOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guests from Alaska,

thank you for your positive recommodations regarding the Mercure Salzburg City!
We will share your feedback with our team!

Hope we can welcome you again in the beautiful city of Salzburg,

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
491 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Mercure City as part of a group. Reception was clean and well appointed but nothing special. Our room was nice, clean, and the beds comfortable. The bath was nice, fairly roomy by European standards. All in all, very nice indeed. I am not a fan of duvets (I think they are too hot) but made do. I suppose I could have asked for a blanket, but we were only there one night.
Breakfast was very nice with a large array of breads, cheeses, cereals, and my personal favorite - croissants! There was hot food and it looked nice but we eat a simple breakfast when traveling.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoilerMakerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear BoilerMarkerBob,

thank you for your positive review. We enjoy reading that you have enjoyed your stay within the Accor Chain!

We hope we can welcome you again in beautiful Salzburg.

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#31 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#36 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
#28 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Property: Mercure Salzburg City
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing