We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value in Salzburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
Ranked #22 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good value in Salzburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is certainly not the best hotel in Salzburg, but it has everything a traveler will need. Prices in the area are high in general, but the Mercure Salzburg City had a comfortable room at a reasonable price. While Mercure hotels are not known for luxury, the room was comfortable with plenty of space for our extra luggage. The staff were friendly and helpful, and even the wireless internet worked well. Breakfast was not included in the price or our room, however there are packages that can include it. We did eat breakfast our last day there, and the buffet included most anything one would want. The hotel is located about 15 minutes walking distance from the main part of the city, or a taxi will cost from €5 to €7, depending on traffic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyTravelerReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guests from Florida!

thank you for your positive feedback about our Mercure!

Of course we will share your comments with our front desk staff.

We hope we can welcome you in one of our Accor properties again.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    423
    182
    48
    20
See reviews for
183
435
55
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were fortunate to get parking out front for our stay free of charge. The hotel is located about a ten minute walk to the centre which was ideal for us. I enjoyed a couple of very pleasant jogs into the centre and down the side of the river. The hotel is a little dated but its clean and good value for Salzburg. We also checked out a local restaurant Die Weiss just a few minute walk from the hotel, great beer and hearty food!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guests from Dublin,

thank you for your positive review! We enjoyed reading that you had a comfortable stay.

Hope we can welcome you again in the future in the renovated Mercure Salzburg City.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel itself is clean and tidy, however it is centred around conferences and business visits. The location was terrible - a 40 minute walk from the edge of the old city which holds all the attractions and restaurants. If you want to go to a restaurant at night, you really need to take a taxi and the location does not really allow for you to pop back in during he day for a quick refresher and more sight seeing.

Train station is also approx 30 minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeAdelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay in the Mercure Salzburg City.
The months of september and october are typical that business guests meets leisure guests in the hotel as within our brand we are not focussed on one partical segment of guests.
To be honest the distances you have mentioned to several points of interest in Salzburg are not quite correct. We do not claim that the hotel is located in the old part of the city but the train station is a 10 minutes walk as well as the Staatsbrücke is a 15 minutes walk. As well as we have a direct public bus connection in front of the hotel.
Nearby are several restaurants,within direct walking distances, that are offering Asian/ Austrian / Indian and Italian cuisine and are very popular even within the native Austrians.

We hope to welcome you in other Accor property in the future.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

THe hotel was really nice, clean and staffs were helpful and pleasant.The hotel was only 10 mins walk to the city centre, and the bus stops is only about 5 mins walk.Although most of the time we just walked going to the city centre.There is also a spar and liddl nearby.Over all I am happy and satisfied with this hotel and if ever we go back to Salzburg, I will surely book on this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guests from Great Britain,

first of all thank you for your review! We will be more than happy to share your comments with our staff!

Hope Accor can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards in Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights recently,I feel most of the earlier comments are accurate ,On arrival I was disappointed at reception area very dull dreary and tired,our room on 1st floor was the same dated and tired,I did feel it was clean and would not find fault with housekeeping ,saying that the breakfast area i found to be clean with a delicious choice of food and efficient service from the staff. distance from old town ect was just right and indeed a pleasant walk ,As the manager says a refurbishment is due that should make this hotel an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margimarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your feedback which we will be more than happy to pass to our team.

We hope we can welcome you in our newly renovated Mercure Salzburg City soon. +

Best regards from Salzburg,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#33 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#25 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Property: Mercure Salzburg City
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14/A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing