We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best choices in Salzburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
Ranked #24 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best choices in Salzburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is 10 min walk from the historical city centre. Nice and clean rooms, great breakfast. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Highly recommended, great value for money. Free wifi to all hotel rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank climbonice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    463
    198
    56
    20
See reviews for
199
482
57
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
242 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

An adequate hotel that is about a 10 minute walk from the old town centre.

The rooms are clean and tidy with a reasonable bathroom.

The rate was a little high for the standard of the facilities.

The staff at reception were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Coach55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The room was nice, warm sleeping condition during winter. Good location located near to Salzburg Old Town. Friendly and helpful staff. A bit odd though because no slippers/flip-flop were provided for a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here with my partner, and my brother and his wife. we had spent a day in the alps and ended up heading to salzburg, so this was an extremely last minute booking. We made the booking online in the car on the way. There were standard and superior rooms left and since it was not a large price difference we booked two double superior rooms. Unfortunately when we got there the one room had two single beds, and the other was smelling very strongly of cigarette smoke (non smoking room) and the bathroom light didn't work. We asked to change both of the rooms, which was then done with out hassle. The new rooms were both double rooms, and both decent, clean, and there was no more cigarette smell. We were also put in rooms next door to each other which was convenient. We did not spend much time in the hotel since we arrived at about 8pm, and then went out for dinner returning just to sleep before heading out in the morning. The walk to the river was a decent 15min walk, which was a bit further than the 10 mins advertised by the front desk, and we are very fast walkers, but an easy route, just two streets, so no danger of getting lost, and the view is ok since you walk through shops on the second street. If the weather is nice this would be no prob to walk. But it was a bit too far in the cold, and if we had known would have driven the car instead of walking. Did not stay for breakfast since we left early in the morning. The price for this hotel was reasonable and was quite adequate for what we needed, Wouldn't book this hotel for a romantic holiday, but ok if you are just stopping for the night etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Vasco_Pyjama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

If you are avaiable to walk a little, there's a good place to stay. Just 15/20 minutes walking to the old city, there are market/restaurants/banks near the Hotel. The breakfest is really good with several options. Just miss a central light in the room and a cheaper option for water in the mini-bar. Nice shower and good heating system!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiagogasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I normally stay in Mercure Hotels whenever I go for my holidays. I stayed for 6 nights at this hotel in salzburg. The location is good, the rooms are ok except for the 2nd last day of my stay, when the flush of the toilet when bonkers and we were given a key access to another room(two rooms away) because no maintenance could be done since it was Christmas . Imagine the inconvenience. Anyway, the main reason for this review is to congratulate the excellent staff in the restaurant who were warm, friendly and absolutely great unlike the front desk or reception staff. The front desk people need a crash course on public relations. Not all of them though...there is one particular lady called Sabine. I dont think i need to explain why i particularly mentioned her because if i were to do that this review will be lengthy. I agree with the the reviewer of 'A Drop in Hotel'. I hope the management of the Accor group does something to improve the quality of the service overal

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumaz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I was wondering if this really is a 4 star hotel when I first saw the entrance. The room is ok except for the light. There were no main light in the room just two bed lights and two table lamps. So the room was very dark throughout our stay. It's so difficult for us to read something. Also the Internet is very very depressing. It keeps disconnecting us. Location is acceptable for youngsters but for the elders it may is too far from the old town. Room for improvement for a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwansin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#34 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#42 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Property: Mercure Salzburg City
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14A | Bayerhamerstrasse 14/A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing