We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“salzburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
Ranked #31 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is very clean and modern. It is about 1km from the old town, the walk is pleasant, passing bars and cafes along the way. The central train station is less than ten minutes walk away. The wifi works well in the lobby and rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roger314159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Good rooms for stay overnight, own parking, but not good value for price, only for traveling by car. The location is bad, so far from historical center. will not come back to that hotel and will not recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

First of all make sure that you go to the right hotel. If you get the bus number 2 from Salzburg HBF to the hotel you need Bayerhamerstraße stop. However this stop is actually on Wienerstraße and when you get off the bus there is a Mercure hotel in front of you just past the petrol station. However this is not Mercure City hotel. This is in fact Mercure Central. I went to the wrong hotel and the receptionist was very helpful when she could not find my reservations. She called the other hotel who confirmed my booking. I suspect that this happens quite a lot. Anyway when I got to the correct hotel (When you get off the bus go back to the crossroads turn right and walk about 50 yards and you are there) the check in process was good. The two females on reception were very good. My room was good. There was tea/coffee making facilities, a double bed and an adequate sized bathroom. However the TV only had a few channels and the bathroom could do with a make over.
However this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. So why was the restaurant not open on the Thursday, Saturday and Sunday night? People staying where told to go to the Mercure Central hotel (see above). And breakfast was ok. There was supposed to be a hot option. Well there was scrambled egg, baked beans, potatoes, bacon and sausage but they were certainly not hot. You could not even say they were luck warm. So again very disappointing.
And now onto the check out. Well the total opposite of the check in. The male was rude and had a could not care less attitude. He snatched my key card off me. Then I believed he checked that all was in order and then just walked away. No thank you for staying. No was everything ok? A really rude man.
So all in all not bad but could do so much better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith47424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked the Mercure for our 3 nights in Salzburg. You can tell the Hotel is mainly tour groups that check in, tour and leave. Dining room staff were great and had more warmth than reception staff.
Room was too warm as there is no air con controlled by individual. The rooms on the car park side are noisy with the window open.
Very basic in the standard room but did the job.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hdajss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I think i am a nice guest, always. But i have to criticize this hotel with a really stupid design in bathroom. The screen glass of the bath is not fixed but seems like fixed, which is really dangrous. Because when you taking shower ur eys is closed and many people will relax to depand on it then you will be fall over to the floor.
In addition to this, the reception guy is really unprofessional, when i called him to report this situation just for kindly suggestion but he is unpolite and impatient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donsonzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good location, but not so on if are there in the winter time...at least to people from warm countries...
The service is not good, in the room and the conexion for the internet in the room is horrible. The reception also stays long time "alone", one person is not enough for a good and basic service. The breakfast is very good and well served, altough you have to pay it separately from the room. There's parking and is not recommended to go to the city by car, so, you will have to walk around 1 km.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMuniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights recently with my wife and small baby. Absolutely no problems. Arrived at 12pm and expected that the room would not be ready but it was already available and the cot was setup in the room as requested. Front desk staff were friendly.

Room was ok. Nothing special but perfectly adequate given the price we paid. Not a big room but clean and all amenities were provided (bathroom products, tea/coffee making facilities, flatscreen TV).

Location is also fine. Admittedly not right in the middle of the Salzburg Altstadt but was an easy 10-15 minute walk away and again, given the price it was perfectly acceptable.

3 very nice restaurants only a few minutes walk from the hotel. We ate at 2, an Italian and an Indian which were very nice and well priced.

All in all, a good low cost option for somewhere to stay when in Salzburg.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxinquaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#38 of 132 in Salzburg
923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#43 of 132 in Salzburg
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
912 reviews
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14/A | Bayerhamerstrasse 14/A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $85 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing