We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“passion play 2010” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kilkee, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“passion play 2010”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

this hotel is located in a very nice area of the city a lot of walking anywhere did not like irish drinking only bar available with dinner did not like singsongs rooms basic for business people nice patio out the back

Room Tip: can not cope with groups arriving
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest from Irland,
Thank you for your time to express your experience. We hope we will see you again in Salzburg.
Best regards from Salzburg
The Mercure Team and Thomas Baliamis, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    388
    170
    44
    17
See reviews for
170
396
48
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My other half and I went to Salzburg in the middle of August and we stayed at the Mercure Salzburg City for four nights whilst there. Overall, I have to say I liked this hotel very much because it was close to the centre of the City (about 10 mins walking, with plenty on the way into the centre), clean and the staff we dealt with we're helpful. The air conditioning in t he room was not in use, but the hotel had provided a fan instead, which did much the same job. The restaurant and room service was also very good indeed, and not much more expensive than other restaurants in the city which is normally the case.

If there was to be one criticism, it was that the room could do with general redecoration and renovation just to spruce it up a little, although everything worked (or alternative provided!) and the room was comfortable and clean.

If I returned to Salzburg at any time, I would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guests from Manchester,
It´s always a pleasure to read good feedback about our staff and service. We will start with the renovation this winter. The renovation includes also the installation of an air-condition. We hope we will welcome you soon in Salzburg
Best regards, the Mercure Team and Thomas Baliamis, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and paid more than we paid for the Hilton in Vienna and Innsbruk. I have stayed in better Premier Inns and Ibis if I am being honest. Upon arrival reception staff tried to make me leave a cash deposit (as I did not have my credit card with me) although my roon was already pre-paid through an internet booking. The sheets in the room were spotless however the throw that goes across the bed had some stains which were either blood or faeces. I left a note for the cleaner with an arrow pointing to the stains asking not to put this back on the bed-so they didn't, they left it on the side for the next punter! On the first night we used the extra pillows from the drawer although they didn't have pillowcases on. The next day the maids made the bed and didn't put pillowcaes on the pillows for us. The room was roasting hot as there is no airconditioning. The breakfast was quite limited and of a cheaper quality than other hotels I have stayed in. On the plus side, the hotel is in a good location for walking to and fro the centre of Salzburg. Bus number 2 leaves from the end of the street (about 25 metres) to the airport .Bus number 21 stops just along from the hotel and goes to the centre of Salzburg every 15 mins. A, 24 hour bus ticket costs 4.30 euros and can be bougth from tourist information centres or the bus station.Salzburg is a beautiful place and we walked until we were fit to drop. I would return again in a heartbeat but would DEFINATELY NOT stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMF_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guests from Glasgow,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Salzburg City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. In the coming winter we will start with the renovation. An air-conditionig is also in our plans.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Thomas Baliamis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel like other Mercures is wifi free, all basics are here. about 10 mibs walk to the rail station and down town. Lots of Italian families stay here. good choice if all you need is a clean place to stay.

Room Tip: a room facing the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MdMontaigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest from Kalifornia,
Thank for your comment and nice words. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Europe and send you many greetings from Salzburg
The Mercure Team and Thomas Baliamis, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just stayed 4 nights at Mecure Salzburg City and we have to say we were most disappointed. Salzburg was supposed to be the highlight of our 4 week holiday and this hotel meant it certainly was not. Our first impression of the hotel was not great as we were greeted by a male member of staff who could not have been more miserable and helpful if he tried. He made no eye contact with us as we checked in, and we were made to feel like we were wasting his time.
When we got to our room it was so small. Considering we had paid a premium price we were not thrilled with this. There was no air conditioning, the room was dreadfully hot and to have the window open was quite noisy.
If I come to Salzburg again I will not be staying here. The location was somewhat central, if you like a bit of a walk!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katemimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guests
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies and specially for our Staff in the reception.
This winter we will start with the renovation. Air-condition is actually not a must to get 4 stars in Austria. Actually we need an Air-condition just for 6-8 weeks per year. However we will invest the money and will install an air-condition for the future.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Best regards from Salzburg
Thomas Baliamis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This Hotel is well located and within easy walking distance of the city centre. We arrived about half an hour before the meals were due to go off for the night but nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they prepared us a very enjoyable meal while we relaxed at the bar with a nice beer or two. Check in was very efficient and friendly with a good map of the city offered and an explanation of the best route to take into the City. Breakfast was very good and the room was clean and comfortable. No trouble with noise so sleeping was not a problem. It was 35 degrees Celsius for a lot of our stay and the hotel; has a policy of no air conditioning but that did not pose much of a problem but I imagine some people may have found it a little too hot. Overall we would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnarrogin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guests from Perth!
Thank you for taking time to write your experience. It is really a pleasure to receive such positive comments. We hope your trip in Europe was accompanied just by positive and nice memories.
Greetings to Australia
The Mercure Team and Thomas Baliamis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#31 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#35 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
#27 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Property: Mercure Salzburg City
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing