We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“OK stay at a great price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OK stay at a great price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

As we travelled in off-season, we were able to secure 3 nights here at a great price, less than $100 per night. On top of this, we seemingly received a free upgrade to the 'business suite' - where the rooms are supposedly better (probably because there were nobody else staying there!).

When going to the hotel from the train or airport via taxi, I suggest that you have a copy of the exact address to show the driver. We got in the cab and asked to be taken to 'Mercure Salzburg City', and the driver did not speak a word of english and started sprouting questions in German. Eventually he took us to the other Mercure in Salzburg (which is only 300m down another road), but it would be best to try and avoid confusion and walk that 300m in the driving snow!

We did have an issue with the hotel and my credit card. When I booked the hotel online, I paid the full amount upfront. At checkin, they took my credit card details again, which I thought was curious, and when I went to my room to log onto my internet banking, they had appeared to have just charged my credit card 100 euros. I promptly went back down stairs and asked for an explanation, and was told it was a 'pre-authorisation' for a 100 euro deposit, in case of any damage, and that the credit card would not be refunded as 'they didn't have the money.' It looked to me like they had the money, as there was a pending debit on my credit card. When I asked somebody else the next day, this was confirmed, and sure enough the 100 euro charge disappeared from my statement 5 days after check-out. It caused a little bit of a hassle, but all worked out in the end - don't stress!

The room was smallish, but comfortable. The bed was very large, and super comfy. TV was great - had satellite cable with Eurosport, BBC World and the like. Temperature control was a bit of an issue - the heating was off, but it was still very warm at night.

Another thing that we found odd about this place was the lack of overhead lighting in the rooms. There are many lamps, but it can at times, even with all the lights on, be difficult to see what you are doing.

The bathroom was fine, good shower pressure etc.

We thought the 'business centre' was great - really it is a computer and a notepad. But still, great amenity and very helpful if you need to print off tickets to the Sound of Music tour or anything like that.

Location wise, the hotel is great - it is about a 10min walk to the main part of town, and about 15min walk to the station (difficult with bags, as there are thick loose stone paths that will ruin your wheels - definitely recommend getting a taxi). Of course, it would be much prettier and nicer to be in the old town itself, but I imagine much cheaper to be a little way out.

We didn't have reason to use the restaurant, but it seemed very reasonably priced. Another great thing about the location is the presence of an Indian Restaurant called Taj Mahal a few hundred metres down the road in the direction of the main town - very cheap, and among the best Indian restaurants I have ever been to. There was also an Italian place just next to the Indian restaurant - the food was good, but the service was very poor.

For more nearby food, I would also highly recommend the beer barn Alter Fuchs - great beer and huge delicious meals at quite reasonable prices.

Bottom line - this is a good option for those wishing a comfortable stay in Salzburg. The rooms are serviceable (although we were supposedly in a superior room - I don't know what the normal ones would be like), and some of the staff are more helpful than others. It is also a nice walk to the centre of town. However, do not expect many frills.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanleythemanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Stanleythemanly,

Thank you for taking the time to publish such detailed description of your impressions! We are sorry to read, that your stay did not completely satisfy your needs and do thank you very much that you still mentioned the pros on our property.

The pre-authorisation is really nothing to worry about. As online prepayment is secured, the hotels do not receive your credit card details. Therefore the hotels still take an imprint on your credit card. Even the stay has been prepaid. Our superior rooms are located inner courtyard.

Sending best regards to Melbourne
Thomas Baliamis & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    388
    170
    44
    17
See reviews for
170
397
48
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The best thing of this hotel was the breakfast. It was excellent. Another thing was
free Wi-Fi. Other than that the location of the hotel was not so bad. It was less than 1km
away from the center of Salzburg.
BUT ...
Reception people were not so friendly and didn't give us welcoming atmosphere
at all. I guess they had to work during a Christmas season so they were not so happy??
Anyway it was quite bad first impression of the hotel when we checked-in.
The bed was also not comfortable at all and we couldn't sleep well. Need to check the
quality of the bed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear GMB95,
Thank you for the inviting headline! We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast.

We are very sorry to read, that our Reception Team did not manage to give you a warm and pleasant welcome. Please accept our sincer apologise for this impression.
If you have problems with the quality of the bed - either to hard or to mild - please inform our reception. We have diffrent types of beds and might be able to exchange them. The most important on holidays is to sleep well!

We indeed hope to get a second chance to make sure, you get a better impression of our charming Reception team!

Looking forward welcoming you again
Thomas Baliamis & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

A very nice hotel. Well kept, clean rooms. Very friendly service at the reception and during breakfast.. Rooms to the garden very quiet. Good choice to stay in Salzburg. About 15 minutes by foot to the city center. Parking garage available.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your friendly posting! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you soon again and look forward welcoming you!

Kind regards to Vienna
Thomas Baliamis & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel may not be the closest to the centre but is only 10 minutes walk from the action. Excellent public transport too.

The staff were extremely friendly and were always ready to answer queries and advise us.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your recommendation! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! We shared your compliments immediately with our staff.

We hope to welcome you soon again an remain,
with kind regards
Thomas Baliamis & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

The hotel is good. Located 15 minutes from the centre, walking. Very quite for resting.
I'm sorry to state that being a frequet traveller and good customer for Accor Hotels chain, the welcome received but mainly the check out provided by operators at the front desk were not as expected. I normally feel very welcome as a customer should feel. Not this time. Who knows why.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for takeing the time to post your impression.
We kindly apologize for the unhappy check-out and are indeed grateful that you still rated the rest of your stay satisfying

We hope to get a second chance the next time you stay in Salzburg and send

best regards to Bologna
Thomas Baliamis & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Our room was on the 1st floor (probably other rooms are renovated?)

The bathroom is in 80th style with red floortiles and wallpaper with stripes.
The button of the flushing tank was not existent.

The bed was a bit too smooth (for us).

Top: breakfast! Very good, big assortment.

Nice: after check out we could leave our car in the park garage

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LatinaViva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear LatinaViva,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your impressions of your stay at the Mercure Salzburg City.
We are happy to read, that you enjoyed the selection of food at our breakfast and that we could convince with some additional Services such as parking after check-out.
The flushing tank in the room has immediately be fixed - thanks that you mentioned that.

We are sending best regards to Graz
Thomas Baliamis & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillingen, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Recently passed two days & one night there, having a meeting in one of the hotel's meeting rooms. The catering service provided by the hotel's own restaurant "Le Sel" is higly recommendable. Water, juice & coffee are available at any time and the snacks are well sized and not too filling for a long working day. Also the restaurant itself is OK with good quality local food and friendly service.

All in all a good, solid choice for a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirUther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear SirUther,
Thank you very much for your recommendation! We really appreciate your comments on our Meeting facilities and are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us for such a long time.
We shared your kind feedback with our service & kitchen team which is delighted about your impressions!
We hope to meet you soon again at the Mercure Salzburg City and remain,
with kind regards
Thomas Baliamis & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#30 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#36 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
#27 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Property: Mercure Salzburg City
Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14/A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing