We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveler rating
363
320
140
71
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
320
140
71
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river old town perfect location air conditioner large bedroom historic building modern amenities standard room sitting area old world charm your luggage charming hotel sound of music tour beautiful city altstadt bidet christmas
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 938 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2015

The room was spacious enough for myself and my roommate. The hotel was near a train station and close enough to the old city center. But what was killer about the hotel was view during breakfast...breathtaking.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2015

Upon entry to this hotel we were instantly charmed by it's character and quaintness. The staff greeting us were friendly and very helpful. It's located right in the heart of Old Town of Salzburg so is steps from everything. Our room was very large, picturesque and old-world charming.
Based on all of these attributes alone, I would have rated this hotel a 4 star; however, what drops it down to 3 star for me were a few things that made our stay uncomfortable. First, there is no air conditioning. They had a portable air conditioner in the room but we needed to vent it to the outside & had to open the window for that. The unit was not large enough to properly cool the room, and worse, the noise from outside (people partying in the Old Town at night and delivery trucks banging around early in the morning) was very distracting and kept us awake.
Also, the lighting is very poor which gave the room a very dark and dank feel. Some things in the room were broken....such as the shower door, some of the lights and when I unplugged something from the outlet, the whole socket and plaster fell out.
Finally, the beds were not the most comfortable and they were two single beds pushed together. I`ve seen this in Europe before, so it seems somewhat common; however, usually the hotels will put something comfortable on top to give it a "one-bed" feel. The other problem with it is that the beds kept pushing apart leaving a big gap between us that we kept falling in to.
Keeping in mind that we were in a 13th century building and the charm and allure of that, overall these other issues really detracted from that.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonikaToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is one of the top in Salzburg from location standpoint. It's very close to all main attractions in Old City and extremely convenient especially if you travel with your children. Besides very friendly staff & free wi-fi connection, you have the experience to stay in spacious rooms with original structural parts dating back to 16th century. We stayed 3 days with my wife and our 6 years old son, had a very good experience in Hotel Altstadt that added to our overall travel satisfaction in Salzburg. Strongly recommended.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
Thank Kurklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2015

Good standard of hotel, very friendly staff. Rooms were well appointed, nice bar area in which to relax.

Hotel is located in the Old Town area and very Central for walking.

Only drawback was the noise from the street below and the guests in the above room. Should you wish to have a relaxing break and sleep after 6.30/7am be aware noise could be an issue. Pity as otherwise this was a perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

stayed in september for short break. perfect location for all local sites
Rooms are good size although despite being 9c outside the rooms are very warm
Staff are very nice and helpful
i would recommend and will stay again.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank jhockham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews