We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Makes Salzburg more Salzburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Ranked #27 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Makes Salzburg more Salzburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel in the historical centre of Salzburg. If you are looking for hotel with convenience location, clean and very friendly staff then this the hotel for you. The breakfast is very expensive, however do not consider this seriously, the coffee shop of the hotel is offering excellent breakfast items in very good prices. Also the parking is far but very convinient, the extra discount for the hotel guests makes it also very affordable

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Giannos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    242
    109
    59
    39
See reviews for
153
328
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here! We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was great after a long trip through Europe. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The location was perfect and walking distance to everything! Very clean and the welcome drink was a nice tough. Only con would be that breakfast was very expensive and we chose to go other places. Could not have been a better stay!!! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The central location of the Radisson Altstadt is a blessing and a curse: handy for the historic centre but noisy- either in the rooms facing the Judengasse or I suspect those looking across the main road to the Salzach River. Though here in a relatively cool evening the bedroom had heated up and with no aircon that window just has to be open. Somewhere nearby is a compressor thudding away till 2 a m.

No need to set the alarm- the cathedral bells at 7 am would wake the dead!

It's well appointed but the welcome is strange. A free drink is offered and when you ask where the bar is, they take you there. But it is in practice closed with not a soul in sight on Sunday evening!

I avoided the 26euro breakfast and instead had a delicious apricot croissant and excellent coffee out of doors on the nearby Residenzplatz for 4 euros 50.

Such is the tourist demand in Salzburg such a hotel can survive despite offering due to its location much less on amenity and comfort than the modern traveller expects,and at a full price in season. I would avoid it in hot weather but if the location is the thing, here it is.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Salzburg was the highlight of my 2 week European vacation...and I was delighted to stay in a hotel with such charm, character and ambiance smack in the heart of the "old city"! My room was HUGE with original hardwood floors and a hallway /door separating the bathroom from the bedroom area. It also had gorgeous antique furniture and THE most comfortable bed, flat screen TV and window with shutters that opened onto the lane. I actually asked the front desk if I had been upgraded...No..I was told this was their standard room category. I can only imagine how lovely their superior rooms would be! I loved being in the old town with its winding lanes, museums, churches, fabulous boutiques and quaint restaurants.
I arrived by train and went to the information booth in the station - They told me which bus would take me directly from the train station to old town (2.60 euros and 15 minute bus ride) and was dropped off approx 8 minute walk from the Radisson..easy peasy.
For those of you who don't like antiques..or are looking for a modern property with all the amenities of home..you will have to cross the river which is also only a 10 - 15 minute walk from old town. There again...there are tons of restaurants and boutiques - just more modern.
For me...the Radisson was the perfect hotel. I might mention that I have been a travel agent for 36 years and have stayed in numerous hotels in Europe. This was one of my favorites.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be noisier than others when the window are open. Best to request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as we have stayed in several radisson hotels all over uk but this is a different experience it is based in a good location right in the heart of the old town which is quaint and easy access for tourist attractions. Not had breakfast here as quite expensive and decided to venture out instead. Room is on the fourth floor and very old fashioned don't expect the contemporary radisson look you normally get it's more like yours grandmas bedroom
So be warned no a/c just a wheel round mobile unit which
Is very noisey and leaves a trail of water on the floor which is quite a hazard but researched
It and as is expected bathroom
Has a bath and separate shower and is clean but not what I would normally choose as I like modern hotels which this isn't . No English tv channel except world news which is disappointing as it has rain
So would of killed an hour to chill out however , there is every other language available !! Enjoyed trip but wouldn't come back to old fashioned for me but average hotel and good base

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is less than average, no AC in summer time ! No car park available! The bar is annoying too much,, couldn't sleep well during whole trip. Room service is sucks The hotel deserve no more than 3 stars. Location is the most valuable element in this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Hamdan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here sometime ago and never got around to posting a review. Now we do.

We chose this hotel for location and for its historical charm. We had a young child with us and were given a great big room some distance from reception but the walk was interesting. This is not a modern structure so the building is an adventure. The room we had was excellent. The bathroom of a high standard. The hotel staff were fantastic and anything we needed for our young boy (like warm up food) was never a trouble.

The location of the hotel can not be beaten. The service we enjoyed there on that trip was the best we encounted. Lovely hotel in what is a special part of Europe. Salzburg is delightful. A lot of the movie Sound Of Music was filmed here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#12 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#10 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Address: Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Salzburg; landmark building can be traced to the 14th century; near all major points of interest & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salzburg
Salzburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing