We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and ambiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location and ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Salzburg was the highlight of my 2 week European vacation...and I was delighted to stay in a hotel with such charm, character and ambiance smack in the heart of the "old city"! My room was HUGE with original hardwood floors and a hallway /door separating the bathroom from the bedroom area. It also had gorgeous antique furniture and THE most comfortable bed, flat screen TV and window with shutters that opened onto the lane. I actually asked the front desk if I had been upgraded...No..I was told this was their standard room category. I can only imagine how lovely their superior rooms would be! I loved being in the old town with its winding lanes, museums, churches, fabulous boutiques and quaint restaurants.
I arrived by train and went to the information booth in the station - They told me which bus would take me directly from the train station to old town (2.60 euros and 15 minute bus ride) and was dropped off approx 8 minute walk from the Radisson..easy peasy.
For those of you who don't like antiques..or are looking for a modern property with all the amenities of home..you will have to cross the river which is also only a 10 - 15 minute walk from old town. There again...there are tons of restaurants and boutiques - just more modern.
For me...the Radisson was the perfect hotel. I might mention that I have been a travel agent for 36 years and have stayed in numerous hotels in Europe. This was one of my favorites.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be noisier than others when the window are open. Best to request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    229
    108
    55
    37
See reviews for
142
299
28
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as we have stayed in several radisson hotels all over uk but this is a different experience it is based in a good location right in the heart of the old town which is quaint and easy access for tourist attractions. Not had breakfast here as quite expensive and decided to venture out instead. Room is on the fourth floor and very old fashioned don't expect the contemporary radisson look you normally get it's more like yours grandmas bedroom
So be warned no a/c just a wheel round mobile unit which
Is very noisey and leaves a trail of water on the floor which is quite a hazard but researched
It and as is expected bathroom
Has a bath and separate shower and is clean but not what I would normally choose as I like modern hotels which this isn't . No English tv channel except world news which is disappointing as it has rain
So would of killed an hour to chill out however , there is every other language available !! Enjoyed trip but wouldn't come back to old fashioned for me but average hotel and good base

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is less than average, no AC in summer time ! No car park available! The bar is annoying too much,, couldn't sleep well during whole trip. Room service is sucks The hotel deserve no more than 3 stars. Location is the most valuable element in this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Hamdan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here sometime ago and never got around to posting a review. Now we do.

We chose this hotel for location and for its historical charm. We had a young child with us and were given a great big room some distance from reception but the walk was interesting. This is not a modern structure so the building is an adventure. The room we had was excellent. The bathroom of a high standard. The hotel staff were fantastic and anything we needed for our young boy (like warm up food) was never a trouble.

The location of the hotel can not be beaten. The service we enjoyed there on that trip was the best we encounted. Lovely hotel in what is a special part of Europe. Salzburg is delightful. A lot of the movie Sound Of Music was filmed here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

While the hotel had some charm the reason you stay in a hotel is to get a good nights sleep. There was no air conditioning and the room was quite stuffy. We requested a fan which they never delivered. Due to the warm room we had to sleep with the windows wide open and could hear the people noisily returning from the bars at all hours of the night (even on weekdays) and the early morning garbage trucks. Our room faced another building across a narrow road. so there was no privacy with the window opened. On the positive side the location is good and the rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jomo753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

After a few days in a somewhat cramped hotel room, we were overwhelmed by our accommodation in Salzburg. We had an enormous bedroom with a bed to match - plus another spacious sitting room with a river view, & a very good bathroom. It all looked very classy & comfortable; a real 5 star room. Not inexpensive though - & we avoided the €26 breakfast as we were not that hungry & that really was far too much. Still, the staff were excellent & pleasant, helped us with luggage & directions, & a we had a first rate meal in the restaurant with a view of the /river. The location is a real asset; you walk out the front door & you are right in the old town, just a short distance to the cathedral & the shops.

Room Tip: You arrive at the riverside entrance & it is not that easy to spot - especially if you are looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON - ENGLAND
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for three nights in June 2014. Taxi from airport was €14 so worth getting one.
It's a very old hotel, right in the middle of the old town, and well positioned for sight seeing.
We had a standard room which was adequate for our stay. Comfortable beds and pillows, full size bathroom, bidet, shower and 2 sinks. Separate toilet which is unusual but much better. Had a mini-bar and t.v. Didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment in the food. Staff very helpful - we had a quick check-in and nothing was too much trouble.
It was very hot when we stayed, so a bit of air-con would have been nice also no tea/coffee making facility in standard rooms, only in the suites.
Overall a nice hotel which I would recommend for its location.

Room Tip: We were in 408 overlooking the back streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHENSONSX9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#6 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#4 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
Art Hotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Address: Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Salzburg; landmark building can be traced to the 14th century; near all major points of interest & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salzburg
Salzburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing