We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Ranked #28 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel. I was really worried about this hotel based on reviews and photos but honestly we had no complaints. Ok so breakfast was expensive but that's ok because straight out the front door on your left is a cafe serving breakfast for less than 10 euro. The hotel is located in a perfect location walking distance to everything. Unfortunately due to a booking mishap we were put in separate section of the hotel which was a little out of the way but still we were well looked after and the rooms were amazing. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoozle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 806 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Salzburg and Munich for the Christmas Markets. Took a chance by booking this hotel after seeing reviews on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed. We arrived early and our rooms were already available. Rooms were comfortable with large beds with beautiful linens. Room not huge but certainly large enough to feel we were not cramped. Bathroom/shower great. Walked out the back door of the hotel and within minutes were at the Market! Could not have a better hotel for location. The staff from the moment of arrival could not do enough. Mostly young staff yet professional, friendly, conscientious and generous with time and information. Suggestions for restaurants were right on target. We never had a bad meal and the hotel breakfast was expansive and delicious. The only set back was that we only booked in for 2 nights. Our next trip will certainly be an extended stay at this splendid hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a hotel that is in the old town, but on the other end by Mozartplatz, which is away from the touristy Getreidegasse (but actually on the Judengasse - it's the same street). The front of the hotel faces the Salzach River, but you have to climb quite a few steps to get into the hotel reception. The better way is to go around and enter from the Judengasse side, which is also direct access to old town stores and restaurants.

Staff was very friendly, and was quick to point out public transportation, or any other advice I needed while in town. They always had a smile and was ready to help.

The room was on the older side (of course, it's because it's an old building in OLD TOWN), but very large and comfortable. It even had a bathtub. Very clean. Very nice. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have rated this hotel based on the number fo stars. The position is excellent in the center of the city, which gives great access to the various location, not so good if you come by car as the closest car park is a walk away.
The hotel is not 5 stars, service is not good, the room are large but do not appear very clean.
I was overall disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. We originally were only going to stay one night, but after checking in to our room and our interaction with the friendly staff, we decided to extend our stay. Our room was very spacious and well decorated. The furniture was older, but it added to the charm of the room. The location is right in the heart of Salzburg, within walking distance to many of the greatest sights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We asked for a double room & got two single beds pushed together - not very romantic when one of you keeps disappearing down the gap.

The room was musty. There was building work going on in reception so you had to use the stairs to the first floor to get to the lift. Reception was dingy & staff were more interested in their own conversation than attending to the guests. Valet parking was expensive. No tea or coffee in room.
We were amazed that this was classed as a 5 star facility.

The restaurant was appalling! There were no vegetarian options for my partner so we asked for pasta with mushrooms (they weren't happy with us ordering off the menu), when it arrived it was inedible. It was just dry pasta with mushrooms thrown in - no sauce, olive oil or seasoning. I ordered the chicken which was deep fried in a coating but wasn't cooked all the way through, which I didn't notice until I'd taken several bites. I was woken in the night with bad stomach cramps & spent several hours on the loo. Not the romantic stay I had envisaged in salzburg!

The only good thing that I can say about this hotel is that the location is convenient for exploring the old town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and we got a large cosy room. Hotel is elegant, classy and in the heart of old town Salzburg.

Service was great and friendly. Breakfast was rich and traditional Austrian.

I recommend you go there in Christmas time when the whole street in front of the hotel is full of decoration and warmth.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Address: Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $179 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Salzburg; landmark building can be traced to the 14th century; near all major points of interest & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salzburg
Salzburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing