We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salzburg for the Music Festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Ranked #28 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

For easy access to the Music Festival events and highlights of Salzburg, this hotel has the perfect location. The building is very old so attempts to provide modern amenities like AC are not always successful. The staff are more than anxious to please, especially at the front desk. Including breakfast in our package was a good decision. Our room though overlooking the river was noisy as it was on the road which has much nightlife, which lasts until 4am.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not on the road.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latoya519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 806 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel, in my recent trip to Austria, for one night. Unfortunately they were going through a heat wave, and they only have a window attached A/C unit. The window had to stay open and was defeating the purpose of the A/C. Other than that it is located right in the center of the old town, with easy access to all the attractions. It's an old hotel, but it's well maintained.
Comfortable and clean room and bathroom.

Room Tip: There were some construction going on next door in front of the hotel. It's better to ask for ro...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulip053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

In Salzburg for only 2 nights, a central location was a major decision factor behind our hotel choice. But Salzburg isnt a big city so being right in the centre isnt actually that crucial. The Radisson Blu brand further swayed our decision, usually a good sign of quality, but on this occaision completely failed to deliver anything close to the promised 5 star experience. Rooms were very large, but dated and lacking in amenities (no fresh water, no air con, no coffee facilities, poor wifi and no in room iron - i had to wait a day for one to become available). Mini bar and breakfast were very pricey (26 euros!!!!! per person) and therefore best avoided, great local eateries are plentiful in any case. Service was good, but not perfect - the free drinks vouchers given to new guests were only offered on day 2. Unfortunately hotels like this make you question the whole 'star rating system' - therefore please only consider if you can get an amazing deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLRugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This is not a 5 star hotel as advertised. It is just a 2 or 3 star. Location is ok, but staff, room, etc is really bad. No air conditioning in rooms. Old furniture. Very bad. No parking. No elevator. Some rooms are located in other building.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank titofiedler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Major disappointment. Good location in a great city, but hotel was worse I have been in for many years. My sister and I had 2 rooms and they were both dark (light bulbs missing and never replaced when asked) and extremely hot. Three times we asked for fans, three times we were told they were on the way, and never did they come. Windows had to be kept open and noise woke us up at 2 am and 4 am. Staff had a bad attitude. Even when valet brought car as we left he just walked off and let us lift the heavy suitcases into the trunk. Did not meet our expectations by a long shot yet they have the guts to advertise if you are not 100% satisfied you do not pay. Fortunately for us the money was not an issue and we did not request a refund, but when we told the front desk they should take down those signs, they claimed all of the problems were not their fault anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

When I entered the Hotel it had the old world charm, but it was in a fading glory. The room was large and spacious, but no A/C and therefore had the windows open during the heatwave, but the sound from the courtyard below was very noisy all night. The location is excellent, the close proximity to the Hop on Hop off bus was great, the hotel staff were exceptional and knowledgeable. I don't think it rates 5 star or even 4 star, but it is a nice hotel. The price was a little steep for the quality, but I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Dont face into the street on the old quarter of town
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregu9120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The location is one of the best in the old city of Salzburg BUT the hotel is simply not up to the 5 stars it officially owns... The rooms are large but the furniture has certainly seen better days. In a hotel with rack rates of between €450 & 530 then you don't expect curling paint on the bathroom door or electric sockets which didn't work. None of the rooms have aircon which is ok in winter but not in summer especially with the present heat. My colleague was originally given a room when we checked in ( for me the room wasn't yet ready - at 6 pm) but the mobile aircon unit didn't work so the bell boy went to find another one. In the mean time we decided to open the window but the curtain rail fell down!

Eventually we both had attic rooms which were unbelievably hot. I had to ask for one of the mobile air cons BUT this would mean sleeping with the door to the roof terrace open to allow the pipe to be outside. The bell boy and front desk couldn't understand why I had a problem with sleeping with the door completely open when other people also had similar rooms opening onto the roof...
It also wasn't possible to stand up under the shower because of the slope of the roof

In the end I was forced to sleep with the door to the roof open ( I didn't have a window) as I would have suffocated otherwise. Even after it cooled down outside the old buildings just didn't cool down inside and I couldn't use the mobile aircon as the socket which would have been close enough for me to lead the outlet pipe out of the door didn't work

The front desk were friendly & helpful for things like tickets or restaurant reservations but not very helpful with things like organising help with bags (as an old building the hotel is on different levels so not all rooms are directly accessible by lift). During our stay there was a fire & I was shocked that the staff turned off the fire alarm after 30 seconds or so (& then ran around telling people to evacuate anyway) and then obviously had no idea about checking if all guests were outside or not. We were left to organise ourselves

In the restaurant the menu was extremely limited and whilst all the staff were very willing and friendly I didn't see a single one who didn't have the title trainee on their name tags. This was obvious in some of the mistakes that were made with orders. Of course everyone has to learn but as there seemed to be no head waiter in charge it appears hard to imagine how this should be possible. It certainly wasn't what you would expect from a 5 star hotel!

Room Tip: Ask to see several rooms and complain if the floor planks are rotten, things are broken etc. it is o...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cavey_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Address: Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $178 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Salzburg; landmark building can be traced to the 14th century; near all major points of interest & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salzburg
Salzburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing