We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum, yum, oh and did I sat Yum”

The Heart of Joy Cafe
Ranked #48 of 635 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, oh and did I sat Yum”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I went here because I am gluten free. I had a lovely big bowl of lentils, some gf bread and salad - oh yeah and some delicious chocolate cake. They call it a moose cake in Australia it would be morw like a mud cake, really nice. Went to pay and realised they don't do credit cards and banks close in Austria for lunch until 2. So left an item and went back to my bnb to get the money. No problem! All of that cost 9,70 euro. Oh and it a warm and relaxing atmosphere really enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    74
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good, we came back twice in one day! Best coffee in Europe!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stumbled across this cafe when we were desperately searching for a place for coffee and wifi. As soon as we walked in the staff were so welcoming and so was the room temperature (it was quite cold outside) it smelt heavenly also. We ordered coffees and they were the best we've had in Europe. Not too strong and great flavour. We then ordered food even though we weren't hungry, so glad we did, I think it was the best salad I ever had in my life. (Heart of joy salad with goats cheese) also the quiche was divine. I would recommend this place to everyone visiting Austria/Salzburg.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prestonsjessluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh organic breakfast”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a surprise to find this so high in the rankings on here. We had a good breakfast here which was freshly made which is probably why it took a while to come. This is one of a few good eating places/cafes in this street making it it difficult to choose which is the best, as really they are all good for different reasons. This one offers organic fresh food, obviously prepared as it is ordered. We had a lovely muesli with yoghurt and some fresh orange juice with coffee. The service was friendly and we enjoyed sitting outside very much on a warm morning. Would definitely visit again if I was in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Getmearoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok for Breakfast”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was not as inspired as the previous reviews. OK service, and eggs and toast OK, felt ripped off by the 3 euro tea, but I think more people in Europe are renting a seat than having a tea. Too pricey for me.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheKingsBelleville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal for a vegetarian with coeliac disease and her family!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited Salzburg in trepidation, knowing the favoured foods were pastries,cakes and schnizel! The heart of joy cafe was perfect as there was delicious gluten free savoury food as well as cakes. The atmosphere was calm and relaxed and we visited 5 times during our stay - recommendation indeed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Heart of Joy Cafe also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to The Heart of Joy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing