We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, if only they would close the door to the smoky bar!”
Review of Humboldt Stubn

Humboldt Stubn
Ranked #76 of 635 Restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European, German, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent food, if only they would close the door to the smoky bar!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had a wonderful meal here, which, unfortunately, was marred by the smoke wafting in from the attached bar. Not sure of Austria's laws, but they had a glass door to the room which could have been ( ? Was it supposed to be?) closed, which would have made this a wonderful place to dine! The smell was annoying enough that we skipped the desert we were planning to have, which sounded great, to get away from it.

Great Austrian food, with quite reasonable prices, and nice decor, pleasant service, prompt and with a smile,( contrary to other reviews). If you don't mind the smoke, worth a visit for sure. If it will bother you, steer clear ( we were quite far from the bar yet still were inundated.) Quite busy, so try to reserve if you go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav3lgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    74
    20
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely rude waiter”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We went to that restaurant hoping to have a nice dinner. When we asked if we could have a table he told us we woud have to wait for a while, as the restaurant was full. We asked politely for how long, and the answer was, literally: "I don't know, I would have to ask all the clients where they are going to leave". Right away, a couple who was having diner there told us that we could sit at their table, as they were leaving At that moment. When we got next to the table, the same waiter came suddenly shouting: "Nein! Nein! Nein! Nein!" He said that to us like 4 or 5 times and then walked away. Then another waitress told us that he meant that the table was reserved.

I have never been treated like that in a restaurant before, and I hope this was the last time. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cdela2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely rude staff”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a very bad experience in this place. We went there because a friend recomendation but we had an awful experiencie with the staff of the restaurant. Rude and unfriendly waiter. I can't recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank jcancela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Value for money"”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you are not concerned by the smell of smoke drifting from the bar area this restaurant offers great Austrian food. Dined there twice and chose different dishes non of which could be faulted for taste or portion size. Busy without being manic and more locals than tourists. Doesn't look inviting from outside but being mindful of the smoke is excellent value Austrian food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wotton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really good, varied options and excellent service”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We went as a group of 5 adults and 2 kids, the place is small but nice, the waiters are really nice and helpful, the food is good, you can try Austrian dishes, some options of salads in generous sizes, or "schnitzel" with fries, this last one is a good option for adults or kids who are not that adventurous with food. Would recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humboldt Stubn also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Humboldt Stubn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing