We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, super clean and very spacious!”
other travelers have booked this property
Livingroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Livingroom
bedroom second bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Livingroom
bedroom
second bedroom
The kitchen
Dining Area
The kitchen
kitchen, dining table
bathroom
toiletries
Livingroom
livingroom
livingroom
anteroom
View from the Balcony
balcony
the house
The house
the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Salzburg, Austrian Alps

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
TammyP
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, super clean and very spacious!”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We used VRBO.com to reserve the largest of the 3 apartments (2 bedrooms, 1 bath, fully-stocked kitchen with table for 6, large living room, balcony with mountain views). All correspondence with Dr. Ruth was thorough, professional and timely. We had a rental car and this is the perfect location in Salzburg if you have a car. The apartment is in the Maxglan region of Salzburg and there is free parking so you can easily make day-trips via convenient access to the interstate/autobahn without having to fight Salzburg traffic. Alternatively, you can easily walk or take the bus to Old Town Salzburg. The walk is about 25 minutes to Old Town but we found 8 or 9 restaurants within a 10-15 minute walk from the apartment. The apartment has complimentary use of a shared washer/dryer which was very convenient. There is also free wifi and satellite TV. My husband and I stayed here alone but I would anticipate the apartment would comfortably accommodate 5 people. It was very clean too! Dr. Ruth doesn't live onsite but she offered that we should contact Mariana (lives downstairs) with any questions or needs. Mariana was wonderful when we needed help with a cab and the Internet went down after a storm. I would recommend this apartment to anyone going to Salzburg.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2015
Dear Tammy
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment. If you take the shortest way to the historical center it should not take more than 15 walking minutes up to Neutor. Usually my cleaning lady leaves a map on the kitchen table where the way to the center, the next bus stop and 2 supermarkets are drawn in. I hope she did leave one for you. Best wishes, Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Reviewed January 31, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2015
Dear Mary
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Looking forwards to seeing you back in Salzburg, best wishes, Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Unit312J
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Salzburg is my second home. I've usually stayed in the old town so I have quick and easy access to late night Bosna's and Kasekrainers. But this time I was bringing my family to my favorite place in the world and with a rental I felt it would be easier to have a place out here. We loved it. We did not meet Ruth, but she made things easy. We spent a great six days there. I am very familiar with the area and used to live nearby so getting around was not an issue. I dream, dream, dream of having a place just like this when I retire and come "home". My parents loved the quiet neighborhood setting. Plenty of room and really felt like our house for the weekend. I'll keep it in mind for future travels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quietness
Liked least: house was full so the washer/dryer were often occupied. But we got it done :)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2015
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg and at our apartment. Looking forwards to seeing you back some day, best wishes, Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment had a home-like, comfortable feel, with lots of books on shelves.
Liked least: We could have had better directions to closest amenities of groceries and bakery. We found them on our own. I think housekeeper didn't leave those details for us, unless she did and I missed finding them..
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2015
Dear guests
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am very happy that you enjoyed our stay in our apartment. Best wishes, Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
skelghyl
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great location in sleepy suburb”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Set in a quiet neighbourhood only 5 minutes on the regular bus service from Altstadt which stops just a 3 minute walk from the apartment. Comfortable accommodation and handy to have a PC with internet connection. Billa supermarket 8 mins walk to the west and a bakery even closer. The walk into town took us 20 minutes either by following the bus route or via Bayernstrasse and through the tunnel - nice for a change although the bus (using our 14 euro weekly ticket) is always tempting! You can even catch the bus to Europark just next to the bakery mentioned above if you need some retail therapy although don't expect any bargains.

Good value for money for Salzburg. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Handy location for our needs with food shops nearby
Liked least: Early morning noise when ironmonger opposite was getting a delivery of metal.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2015
Dear guests
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am very happy that you enjoyed our stay in our apartment. Best wishes, Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loz345
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great holiday rental.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Apartment Ruth for a week just after Christmas 2012.
My husband and I were traveling with our 2 childlren aged 8 and 10.
Ruth greeted us on arrival and she was very helpful. She took her time to go through all details with us making sure that we knew how to use the oven, TV, dishwasher, etc.

We had a rental car and had a parking spot allocated on the premises. The apartment is convenient located close to supermarkets and shops . We did have a car so did not have to rely on public transport.

It was a nice base for us to visit the old Salzburg town, Salt mines, Untersberg, Berchesgarten, Salzburg Zoo, museums, Fortress, New Years Eve Fireworks, Sound of Music sites, Wolfgansee, etc.

Unlike a hotel room/ suite, this apartment was very large and we all had lots of space to relax. The 2 bedrooms were very comfortable and it was quiet at nights.
Kitchen was well equipped with modern appliances and it had an extended area which had a dining table and 5 chairs. All very cosy to have dinner on a winters evening together via candlelight .

The living area was large and had a TV (satellite) with sofas and a Hammock. This was a great family area to rest after a day of touring.

The bathroom was older style but functional.

There was also a shared laundry in the building with washing detergent provided. So we were able to have clean clothes during our stay.

Wifi was provided and it was really good to have this. The apartment also had a desk top computer for use, but we relied mainly on our own laptop.

Overall, I give this place the thumbs up and would return again.

The only inconvenience was the clothes dryer broke down half way through our stay. This was over New Years day so was not repaired. Otherwise, the stay was great and I would recommend it for a family who needs space and comforts of home. Whilst it is close to transport, shops, etc, I still feel that having a car is more convenient if staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space we had.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2015
Dear guests
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Sorry about the inconvenience of the dryer breaking down during the holidays . It should not happen with a Miele dryer,
Best wishes, Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukaseiwi...
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Deal In Town for The Comfort and Budget”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Dr. Ruth's Apartment was comfortable, lovely, and complete with full kitchen and bathroom.
The layout of the rooms was excellent, and there was a large living room and a very full kitchen. In addition, Ruth was available if there were any questions or issues with the apartment...she was most helpful and gracious...
The apartment is within walking distance to "Old Town" and the Historic District and if you have a car, there are ample parking garages downtown. Grocery Stores are close, if you like to cook at home . .
We loved it, and would go back in a minute when we travel to Austria again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and ease - - -
Liked least: it was all GOOD
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2012
Dear guests
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the apartment. Hope to see you back to Salzburg some time in the future. Sincerely, Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing