We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Top Hotel in Salzburg with good location and excellent Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Ranked #15 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Top Hotel in Salzburg with good location and excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel about 30-40 times now. Always was happy. Location is good for me, walking distance from railway station and downtown. Every morning I take a short walk (about 200m) to the Mirabell Park to have a view of the magnificant castle and the park. The hotel has 2 restaurants, a normal price/good value restaurant where You can have dinner + dring for 10 Euros. The other restaurant is a high price luxury restaurant. Maybe the best restaurants I know. Dinner + wine starts about 30 Euros, but it is a highlight! Rooms are nice and silent. Very clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddySch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    595
    183
    55
    20
See reviews for
350
552
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I just got home from a trip to Munich & Salzburg and stayed at the Pitter for two nights. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location across the street from a park and just a 5 minute walk from the train station.

My room was average in size and had a small bathroom. They didn't have a queen or king size bed available so they moved two twin beds together to form a queen size bed. Linens were okay and bed was comfortable. My issue with the hotel is it looks as if it hasn't been touched since Mozart was alive! It looks very, very dated, and is in desperate need of a renovation. The hotel keeps it clean and neat, but it just looks old and very dated.

The hotel has a small pool and fitness room, as well as a wet and a dry sauna. The restaurant in the hotel is also very good.

So I enjoyed my stay at the Pitter and only wish it could be 'cleaned-up' a bit to the condition it should be.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beechmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Be VERY careful when getting into the shower from the right hand side. It is sloped, I slipped and broke two ribs on the first day of my trip to Salzburg. Did the hotel help with my injury or complaint about no non-stick surface? Heck no!! I will never again visit a Crowne Plaza Hotel. I will return to Salzburg, but not at this place or any other Crowne Plaza or IHG hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRAN
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

I stayed 3 days at this hotel . it is located almost centrally allowing to reach major touristic spots shortly most of them even by 15 minutes of walking distance. Rooms are quite good and clean and I found nothing wrong with the room service. The restaurants and bar are very nice with good food and nice service. The people at Crowne Plaza was very friendly and helpful toward guests . All in all it's what you expect from Crowne Plaza standards. A free WiFi will be a nice option to add , hope to have it in my next trip . Highly Recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehrdadnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Warm and welcoming with friendly staff. Nice bar and also the restaurant were we had breakfast. Great location

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycjime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

TheSerice was very good, I liked the room as well. The location is perfect, amenities too, special the Swimming pool with mirror. I eated a dinner at Pitter Keller. It was brilliant. The food was very nice, service: quick, friendly, proffesional.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank INERCONTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Stayed at the Crown Plaza for 5 nights during a trip to Austria. The hotel is in a good location - very close to Mirabell Square/Gardens and within a short walking distance to both the train station and the old town (approx 10minutes to both in opposite directions). There are also bus stops outside the hotel for travel in both directions.

The standard of the hotel is what I would normally expect from a Crown Plaza property. The room was of a good size with a large and comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little cramped but still peferectly servicable. The usual in-room facilities were available - free tea/coffee, mini-bar, hairdrier, iron/ironing board, in-room safe and dressing gowns. There is wifi available in the room and throughout the hotel - although we didn't use this so can't comment on costs. There are two computers available in the reception area which provide internet access free of charge.

We got a very good price for 5 nights bed & breakfast for a double room (expedia special rate), which represented great value for money.

The hotel facilities are quite good too. There is a very small leizure area - with some gym equipment, sauna and steam room and a tiny little swimming pool (think average sized-jacuzzi but without the bubbles).

The breakfast was good - with plenty of choice of hot/cold dishes, breads and pastries. Not sure it was worth the 15 Euro per person charge, but since we were on a B&B rate it was good to get some food to set us up for the sightseeing day ahead.

We also ate in the hotel restaurant one night - the Imlauer which, although quite expensive, did serve very good food. I personally found the Plaza Bar and the Piterkeller Bar/Restaurant to be too smoky for me. Although, this was something that I found throughout Austria, and was especially difficult for me as a non-smoking living in Scotland which has a smoking ban in public places in place for 4 years!

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English, which was useful as my German is fairly limited.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay at the Crown Plaza and I would recommend it to other travellers, especially if you can get yourself a good rate!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowSam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Address: Rainerstrasse 6 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2014 the hotel Crowne Plaza Salzburg - The Pitter was newly renovated and extended. € 15 Mio were spent to create new perspectives and dimensions. Experience typical ,,Salzburg flair" at this traditional hotel, which was already opened by the Pitter family in 1864. This ,,Grand Hotel" offers 198 rooms and suites and is located directly in the city centre of Salzburg. Reach the famous Mirabell Garden & Castle within 2 walking minutes and the main station within 7 minutes by foot. "Salzburg Airport W.A. Mozart" is easily accessed by car or public transport (Bus number 2) within 15 - 20 minutes. Indulge yourself in a brand-new, spectacular location above the roofs of Mozart's city and enjoy drinks and delicacies of our cuisine. Experience the magic of Salzburg at highest level at the IMLAUER SKY - Bar & Restaurant. Open throughout the year from breakfast until at least 1 am! Typical, regional delicacies and a selection of over 30 beer specialties is served at the oldest beer cellar in town, at our legendary "PitterKeller". During fair weather the "PitterGarden" is open for you. New fitness area with sauna and mountain views from the private rooftop-terrace. Hotel guests relax and train there at no extra cost. Endless possibilities at the newly built ,,Pitter Event Center" for YOUR event. 6 glass domes and a total space of 450 sqm make the "Pitter Saal" unique in Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing