We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, calm, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Ranked #15 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
IRAN
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice, calm, friendly”
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I stayed 3 days at this hotel . it is located almost centrally allowing to reach major touristic spots shortly most of them even by 15 minutes of walking distance. Rooms are quite good and clean and I found nothing wrong with the room service. The restaurants and bar are very nice with good food and nice service. The people at Crowne Plaza was very friendly and helpful toward guests . All in all it's what you expect from Crowne Plaza standards. A free WiFi will be a nice option to add , hope to have it in my next trip . Highly Recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehrdadnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    664
    200
    60
    22
See reviews for
388
626
77
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Warm and welcoming with friendly staff. Nice bar and also the restaurant were we had breakfast. Great location

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycjime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
2 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2010

TheSerice was very good, I liked the room as well. The location is perfect, amenities too, special the Swimming pool with mirror. I eated a dinner at Pitter Keller. It was brilliant. The food was very nice, service: quick, friendly, proffesional.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INERCONTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Stayed at the Crown Plaza for 5 nights during a trip to Austria. The hotel is in a good location - very close to Mirabell Square/Gardens and within a short walking distance to both the train station and the old town (approx 10minutes to both in opposite directions). There are also bus stops outside the hotel for travel in both directions.

The standard of the hotel is what I would normally expect from a Crown Plaza property. The room was of a good size with a large and comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little cramped but still peferectly servicable. The usual in-room facilities were available - free tea/coffee, mini-bar, hairdrier, iron/ironing board, in-room safe and dressing gowns. There is wifi available in the room and throughout the hotel - although we didn't use this so can't comment on costs. There are two computers available in the reception area which provide internet access free of charge.

We got a very good price for 5 nights bed & breakfast for a double room (expedia special rate), which represented great value for money.

The hotel facilities are quite good too. There is a very small leizure area - with some gym equipment, sauna and steam room and a tiny little swimming pool (think average sized-jacuzzi but without the bubbles).

The breakfast was good - with plenty of choice of hot/cold dishes, breads and pastries. Not sure it was worth the 15 Euro per person charge, but since we were on a B&B rate it was good to get some food to set us up for the sightseeing day ahead.

We also ate in the hotel restaurant one night - the Imlauer which, although quite expensive, did serve very good food. I personally found the Plaza Bar and the Piterkeller Bar/Restaurant to be too smoky for me. Although, this was something that I found throughout Austria, and was especially difficult for me as a non-smoking living in Scotland which has a smoking ban in public places in place for 4 years!

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English, which was useful as my German is fairly limited.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay at the Crown Plaza and I would recommend it to other travellers, especially if you can get yourself a good rate!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowSam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Very Impressed
My wife and I had a 4 night stay at this hotel and were extremely pleased with every aspect. Friendly reception, clean and very spacious room with temperature controlled radiatiors, comfortable king size bed, minibar, TV with English news channels, good size bathroom with shower etc. The "swimming" pool is tiny (Ive been to hotels with bigger Jacuzzis) but is ok for a dip. The sauna and steam rooms are excellent and the gym is very small but functional. The bier keller down stairs sells good food at reasonable prices and it is possible have meals there most of the day and evening. Resaraunt upstairs is a little expensive so we didn’t eat there although we had breakfast one morning and were pleased with what was on offer. I have given top marks for everything except the location but to be fair that is a littly petty as although the hotel is at the most northern part of the town we only had to take a 5 minute walk to the nearest bars and restaraunts. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the Old Town across the river and that is where most of the "action" is. We will be returning to Salzburg and if the hotel prices don’t increase TOO much in the Summer we will stay at the Crown Plaza again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_Watterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Dear Tony, thank you very much for this fantastic feedback! Regarding your next stay I hope too that we can meet your budget also in summer. We also have the PitterKeller in our portfolio Salzburg's oldest beer cellar which is also onsite. The prizes there lower and the atmosphere is very casual. Within Salzburg I would say that our location is still quiet good because the Hotels within the historic city center are very difficult to reach and distances on the other hand as you outlined are very small and the area where our Hotel is located is very safe. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

No one knew what was going on re trips, events at any given time over the Xmas period at the Front Desk. On numerous occasions I was given incorrect information which caused much confusion and inconvenience. The staff are young and need better training as to what is actually available for their guests to visit.

I was asked on at least five occasions asked did I want to attend a Gala Dinner, I declined on each occasion. I was actually told by a lady that I could not book for the week unless I attended the Gala Dinner at 95 Euros each!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANTACLAUS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I am a Priority Club Platinum member, and stayed at this hotel in Dec 2009. Front desk staff are ambivalent, and have no idea what a Priority Club Platinum member is or what additional perks or amenities they can offer to priority club members. I received incorrect directions, wrong bus and train info from various front desk staff everuday I was there. Room decor is outdated and bathroom toiletries inadequate. The bathroom in my particular room was tiny and not cleaned very well. Beds are old and rooms generally stuffy. Old tube style TV in every room, but no free internet, the hotel is not in a quiet location, my room was overlooking the street and car noise was constant all night long. It is walking distance to the main train station and the attractions downtown, although the bus service is more convenient (if you can get the proper information from the front desk staff) . The slosest bus stop is about 2 blocks away. Mirabel Palace about 5 blocks away. Breakfast food is the same everyday, please change it up a bit! . Breakfast service staff is not very friendly. Unless, you want the points, I´d recommend to try a hotel closer to the main downtown area with much better customer service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Address: Rainerstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2014 the hotel Crowne Plaza Salzburg - The Pitter was newly renovated and extended. € 15 Mio were spent to create new perspectives and dimensions. Experience typical ,,Salzburg flair" at this traditional hotel, which was already opened by the Pitter family in 1864. This ,,Grand Hotel" offers 198 rooms and suites and is located directly in the city centre of Salzburg. Reach the famous Mirabell Garden & Castle within 2 walking minutes and the main station within 7 minutes by foot. "Salzburg Airport W.A. Mozart" is easily accessed by car or public transport (Bus number 2) within 15 - 20 minutes. Indulge yourself in a brand-new, spectacular location above the roofs of Mozart's city and enjoy drinks and delicacies of our cuisine. Experience the magic of Salzburg at highest level at the IMLAUER SKY - Bar & Restaurant. Open throughout the year from breakfast until at least 1 am! Typical, regional delicacies and a selection of over 30 beer specialties is served at the oldest beer cellar in town, at our legendary "PitterKeller". During fair weather the "PitterGarden" is open for you. New fitness area with sauna and mountain views from the private rooftop-terrace. Hotel guests relax and train there at no extra cost. Endless possibilities at the newly built ,,Pitter Event Center" for YOUR event. 6 glass domes and a total space of 450 sqm make the "Pitter Saal" unique in Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing