We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Ranked #15 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel and service”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My family and I stayed here for about 3 nights in July. The hotel is clean and well maintained and has a decent, reasonable buffet breakfast. The Pitter Keller restaurant in the basement is excellent and offers great food and beer. The hotel is also within walking distance (15 mins) to the old town of Salzburg and only 3 minutes away from the gorgeous Mirabell Palace and gardens (a real must-see highlight if you visit Salzburg in the summer!) Though there was construction going on at the hotel, for the most part the staff tried their best to ensure it did not inconvenience guests. One afternoon when the drilling disturbed our sleep and we complained, they offered us free buffet breakfast the next day. Overall a very satisfactory experience and would definitely stay there again if I visit Salzburg.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear T B,
it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We really try to minimize the disturbance through the construction works which will soon be finished. We are happy that we were able to take care of this issue for you. We hope that you will come back to our beatiful city of Salzburg soon and thank you for your nice feedback! Warm regayrds, MArtin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    664
    201
    60
    22
See reviews for
391
626
77
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I Stayed here as part of an organized tour. I stayed 2 nights in Salzburg, and I enjoyed the stay at the hotel thoroughly. The Crowne Plaza Salzburg- The Pitter is located in the "new town" area of Salzburg, on Rainerstrasse, about 10 minutes walk away from old town and many great restaurants nearby. My room had some dated decor, but the bed was comfy and the bathrooms were nice. The wifi was free, and it had a very good connection, along with a TV with over a hundred channels in ~10 languages. There was a lot of renovation happening, but it was all during the day and not later.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IKMD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear IKMD21,

we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg and of course in the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. It is fine to read that you had agood night sleep with our award winning Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program. The beds are important for sure and you are right the disturbance by the works are minimized to daytime from 8am to 4pm. Very soon the final works will have been finished and this traditional Grand Hotel will have a fantastic look and feel. Whatch out for the spectacular roof top Restaurant and Bar which will open in November 2014. We hope to see you again at "The Pitter". Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRETE,GREECE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there with my girlfriend and some friends for a ciuple if friends.Although at first sight we were not impressed,at the departure we did not want to leave!!!Great staff, very kind and helpful.The best thing at this hotel was the rich buffet at the breakfast,which had everything!!!Our room was not too large, but it was clean , warm and had everything we wanted for a pleasant stay,and especially the bed and its matress.Convenient central location at a quier and safe place.Stay there!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank skoukou78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear skoukou78,
thank you for your wonderful description and your perfect feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Crowne PlazaSleep Advantage bedding. We hope to see you again in Salzburg!!
Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Good location , about 15 minutes walking distance from the Train Station. Currently being renovated, to be upgraded, However, the hotel now feel so cold and lack of warmth. The Reception is now bright but the flooring used normal tiles, with sparse decorations, with bright lighting making the hotel look so modern with lack of warmth. Using marbles and small carpets here and there will lessen the coldness of the hotel.

Being a 4 star hotel I found many of the is missing :

1) No Bell Boy / Luggage service greeting your arrival and offer to be sent to the room.
2) Very badly equip gym/exercise room.
3) Newly renovated room now with wooden floors.... Making the room also more colder than ever. Having a small laid carpet would make it more warmer.
4) Toilet and bathroom is separated, with the bidet wrongly placed in the bathroom, Make it difficult to clean up your self.
5) Ice machine not working and only placed on 1st floor. Not on all floors. You have to walk far for ice.
6) Being an ambassador member, not sure room was upgraded as I book a junior suite and was given a junior suite. No Club Floor is available.....
7) Asked for foam pillow, response was that we dont have any other selection. Whatever in the bedroom is what you will get.
8) Reception staff is helpful but very mechanical.... No warmth or extension to check if everything is ok from time to time.....

However breakfast selection is good. Concierge is ok. Overall, was dissappoint with this Crown Plaza Chain.

The only saving grace is great location near Salzburg Congress.

Room Tip: Renovated Room is a good option. But sofa not comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear JimmyKL,
thank you very much for taking the time to give us your detailed feedback on your stay. First of all we appologize that we missed to give youn a warm welcome. As I see from your comments you are a Member in or IHG Ambassador program, honoring our most loyal Intercontinental guests. Therefore you are used to our fantastic service levels of the 5 Star Intercontinental products. In Mid Europe the Crowne Plaza Hotels mostly range in the 4 star segment. We are the only 4 star Hotel with 2 porters in the team, sometime they are on tour for valet parking, but normally they should be available. We are currently renovating the whole Hotel and the fitness Center which was situated in the cellar will be soon open in the new constructed 6th floor. In the meantime we have placed some fitness equipment into a conference room in order to give our guests at least the opportunity to work out. We know that is not perfect but better then nothing. All our pillows are with foam as per Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Standard. This might have been the reason why you got this answer regarding the pillow. You are right the toilet and the bidet are not in the same room in this roomtype. That is bad but unfortunately we are not able to change that. We currently built up 30 new rooms where we have taken care of this important matter. Unfortunately we were not able to upgrade you any further from the Junior Suite as we have only 2 more Suites available which where obviously occupied during your stay. Thank you for your tips regarding carpets in the rooms and in the lobby. We will definitely finetune a bit more as soon as we are finished with the major renovations. Thank you again for all your comments, yours sincerely, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

the rooms are renovated but the views are terrible-all face another builing site-our suites had a tiny window and was dark all day.the air conditioning was bad-they coulnt fix it and gave us a fan.
the breakfast room was fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altravelindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear altravelindia,
thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations for your stay at the Crowne plaza Salzburg The Pitter. I assume that your stay was beginning of June because we had some trouble with our new aircondition. I can asure you and the TA community that now the aircondition is working very good. regarding the view: we are a city Hotel and therefore there is not much to see but most of the adjacent houses are historical buildings. Our quarter is a very nice one which already lies in the historic part of Salzburg. Currently a business and bank district. Thank you again for your comments. Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stay for a week at this hotel. It locates in a nice location, near Mirabell park and across the street from my conference center. Walking to the river and across the bridge to the old city is convenient. Walking to the train station is also easy. The room is comfortable and they offer a nice spa-typed spray for your pillow, which smells so good. The breakfast is super with good fruits, breads, cheese, etc. The only downside is that the hotel is during ongoing renovation causing noisy sound during the day.
I will definitely recommend this place in Salzburg.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear 3T, thank you so much, that you took your time to tell the TA community about your positive experience at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We are so happy that you enjoy your stay. Yes indeed there are works going on during the day time. Most of our guests are on tour or in conferences anyway. In a couple of weeks we will be done and then the whole Hotel will look extremely nice. Next time you join the congress you wil even be able to have your breakfast in the brandnew IMLAUER SKy Bar & Restaurant in the new constructed top floor of the "Pitter". So see you next year! Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We visited for two nights, staying in a standard double room. Our room had not been refurbished (as noted on the website we booked through) but this did not bother us at all as the decor/furnishings were all in perfect condition, and of the usual high-quality you find at Crown Plaza hotels. Spacious room, with lots of natural light. Room had an ironing board which was great, as we have found many places in Europe do not offer this in individual rooms. Extremely comfortable bed.

Hotel is in a good location, walking distance to Old Town and other sites, restaurants and shops. It appears the building is currently undergoing renovation but this did not affect our stay - not once did we hear construction work etc.

Enjoyed the buffet breakfast for 15 euro each. However, wish I'd know you could order your eggs fresh rather than eat only what was offered in the buffet!

Staff friendly but efficient - seem less check-in and -out. Also happy to provide info on tours, things to do etc, as well as book these for you.

Would happily stay there again and highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Flossy1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Flossy171,
it is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. By the way you can really order any egg dish you like beside the offered ones on the buffet. But it is a really good idea to share that Information with the guests in a better way. Thank you for that tip! Yours sincerely, Martin Gissel- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#28 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Address: Rainerstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2014 the hotel Crowne Plaza Salzburg - The Pitter was newly renovated and extended. € 15 Mio were spent to create new perspectives and dimensions. Experience typical ,,Salzburg flair" at this traditional hotel, which was already opened by the Pitter family in 1864. This ,,Grand Hotel" offers 198 rooms and suites and is located directly in the city centre of Salzburg. Reach the famous Mirabell Garden & Castle within 2 walking minutes and the main station within 7 minutes by foot. "Salzburg Airport W.A. Mozart" is easily accessed by car or public transport (Bus number 2) within 15 - 20 minutes. Indulge yourself in a brand-new, spectacular location above the roofs of Mozart's city and enjoy drinks and delicacies of our cuisine. Experience the magic of Salzburg at highest level at the IMLAUER SKY - Bar & Restaurant. Open throughout the year from breakfast until at least 1 am! Typical, regional delicacies and a selection of over 30 beer specialties is served at the oldest beer cellar in town, at our legendary "PitterKeller". During fair weather the "PitterGarden" is open for you. New fitness area with sauna and mountain views from the private rooftop-terrace. Hotel guests relax and train there at no extra cost. Endless possibilities at the newly built ,,Pitter Event Center" for YOUR event. 6 glass domes and a total space of 450 sqm make the "Pitter Saal" unique in Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing