We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good find in salzburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Ranked #14 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good find in salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

there are limited options in Salzburg and i found crowne plaza quite convenient since its very close to the station as well- under 5 mins drive! great if youre travelling via eu-rail ! some of the rooms have been recently furbished so you should ask for one of them. I got a lovely corner roon which was facing the mirabell gardens as well as the fort . you could also get a glimpse of the alps from the room. Bathroom was decent size and above average though not spectacular. Its 3-4 minutes walk to the mirabell gardens and also just one block away from whrere all the tour operators start . so if youre headed to the sound of music tour or the lakes or germany all you have to do is walk a block to and fro. Being such a small town, Its just 10-15 mins away from the main shopping area/restaurants and the city centre, i enjoyed walking there. you could also visit Mortzarts first house in this main area for a small fee. All in all a charming stay > please note that there are steps in the lobby and you will have to pick up your luggage and carry it up so please travel light if possible !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCtravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear PCTravelfreak,

thank you for your brief feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. Regarding the steps. We just renovate the complete lobby and upon reopening in May 2014 there will be a ramp for a convenient transportation of the luggage to the front desk. Also we have porters available to help with your luggage.
Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    553
    170
    52
    20
See reviews for
326
511
66
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The service was excellent. The rooms are very large. The Hotel is centrally located and is a walking distance away from the town centre. The Salzburg congress is across the road. The room needs a bit of renovation but overall its excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikasGupta_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Please come back in May when we reopen after extensive renovations. Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My first stay at a Crown Plaza Hotel. We arrived for the Christmas Markets and had 3 rooms here. The hotel is very modern with "American" type showers and bath. They hotel was very warm and cozy. The breakfast buffet was always fresh each morning and the restaurant and bar had superb service and food. The hotel Concierge and Bell staffs were always accommodating to our needs and suggestions for what to do and were to go. We will return here for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Love2TrvlMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Love2TrvlMM,
thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza WSalzburg The Pitter. It is wonderful to read that we where able to provide you with an enjoyable service. That's the most important together with a good night sleep. We are already looking foward to your next stay, hopefully you will not wait too long. Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our stay at the Pitter was disappointing.I had booked after reading the reviews on Trip advisor. Perhaps the timing was bad and everyone was in a party mode??? The staff were not very helpful.In fact they were rude.No porters at the check in.

I had requested a double bed.We were given 2 singles and after much deliberation we were moved to another room.The rooms are small and in need of a makeover.it certainly looked as if the hotel was functioning with a skeleton staff.

The Salzburg card was not available at the hotel so we had to go to INFO .The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk away from the Old city.
We did have some coffee in the Bar.Really surprised that the hotel does not a non -smoking bar!Especially since the vouchers for being eco friendly are only redeemable in the bar.
We did not take the breakfast option.

We made bookings for a show and were charged €96 over the recommended price.Luckily it was spotted and then corrected.My request to make supper bookings were misunderstood.The sauna was out of order.

Definitely not a hotel I would recommend if in Salzburg.I would recommend something in the city itself as there are more choices for restaurants and coffee bars.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SonoraSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

- 10 min walk to main town so not so bad
- grocery store nearby
- good cafes nearby
- ample parking on street
- rooms were nice and clean
- bathroom with old tiles but quite nice and clean

Will recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelaholic3602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear travelaholic 3602,

thats a great list, that you put together, smart, short and WONDERFUL feedback. Thank you so much for it!! Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at the Crown Plaza Salzburg in Austria on Dec 26th, it was a nice clean.When l checked in l found the agents very friendly and helpful.. Willing to go the extra mile. As a travel agent myself. l would not hesitate to recommend this hotel at any time after experiencing it myself.

Room Tip: There should be ample space to tentaively to park temporary and assistance to off and assistance wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Szamn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sdesouza,

thank you very much for your very nice feedback from your last stay at the Crowne plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We hope to see you again once. Warm regards, MArtin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were two adults and a teen daughter. the executive king was a ver large room with both the king bed and a rollaway set up in the divided living area. Room was exceptionally clean with nice standards. IHG elite membership allowed us free wifi. We did not buy the breakfast option. Hotel was an average walk from the train station and okay with rolling suitcases. Everything we wanted to do was walkable so we did not rent a car. Pool was miniscule, but there is an option to use the larger city pool nearby.

Room Tip: we had 412 which was a very large room. some street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marta_m_m123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear marta_m_m123,
thank you very much for the four star review! We are really happy that our room size matched your needs for your family. Sorry for the small pool, this relax pool will not "survive" our big renovation which will start in February 2014. The whole fitness area will move to a new added 6th floor where also the Bar and restaurant will be situated. So next time please use the breakfast option as the view from our new Rooftop-Restaurant will be spectacular, I promise. Also a terrace will allow you to sit outside while you enjoy our variety of good food and drinks-not only in the morning but also until night! So watch out and hopefully see you next year in the NEW JEWEL of Salzburg The renovated Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. Warm regards - Martin Gissel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#21 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#6 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Address: Rainerstrasse 6 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2014 the hotel Crowne Plaza Salzburg - The Pitter was newly renovated and extended. € 15 Mio were spent to create new perspectives and dimensions. Experience typical ,,Salzburg flair" at this traditional hotel, which was already opened by the Pitter family in 1864. This ,,Grand Hotel" offers 198 rooms and suites and is located directly in the city centre of Salzburg. Reach the famous Mirabell Garden & Castle within 2 walking minutes and the main station within 7 minutes by foot. "Salzburg Airport W.A. Mozart" is easily accessed by car or public transport (Bus number 2) within 15 - 20 minutes. Indulge yourself in a brand-new, spectacular location above the roofs of Mozart's city and enjoy drinks and delicacies of our cuisine. Experience the magic of Salzburg at highest level at the IMLAUER SKY - Bar & Restaurant. Open throughout the year from breakfast until at least 1 am! Typical, regional delicacies and a selection of over 30 beer specialties is served at the oldest beer cellar in town, at our legendary "PitterKeller". During fair weather the "PitterGarden" is open for you. New fitness area with sauna and mountain views from the private rooftop-terrace. Hotel guests relax and train there at no extra cost. Endless possibilities at the newly built ,,Pitter Event Center" for YOUR event. 6 glass domes and a total space of 450 sqm make the "Pitter Saal" unique in Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing