We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Ranked #15 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Denpasar
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Hotel is close to train station, 10 minutes by taxi.Walking distance to Mirabellgarten.15 minutes walking to Mozartsteg.The rooms are ok, not too big also not to small.The Breakfast room is big and the staff are friendly and helpful.In the hotel also a reaturant with austrian cuisine but If you like asian food I suggest the Asia Kitchen, just a cross the hotel of the right side, buffet service, food are delicious and fair price.You can also buy optional tours at the reception, just asking them if you don't know which tours to take, they will help you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arya_Swadharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience and the location. Indeed the Asia Kitchen is great price value but if you are in Salzburg you should at least try once our famous Pitterkeller with all its delicious Salzburg specialties, e.g. Vienna Schnitzel, Salzburger Nockerln, Kasspatzen...=D
Next time! Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    653
    198
    60
    22
See reviews for
385
615
77
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have mixed feelings about our stay at the Crowne Plaza. Travelling with another couple, we requested two king rooms near each other. The other couple received their room of choice, we were given two king singles. This did not concern my husband and I too much, but it was when we went to bed that night that we were happy to have separate beds as we were restless and could not sleep due to the ineffectiveness of the airconditioning. We had mentioned to the front desk earlier that the room was extremely hot and when we came back from dinner they had placed a fan in our room. I realise that Salzburg was experiencing very hot weather, but our friend's room was so much cooler than ours.
The next morning we explained that we could not spend another night in that room and asked if we could be moved. The staff were very understanding and they upgraded us to another room. This room was so much better but we were still quite uncomfortable with the temperature at night.
We found the wifi quite frustrating. The staff gave us a password, and said we could use it for 48 hours then renew it again. It kept falling in and out all the time, my husband found it annoying as he was trying to catch up on business emails etc.
I give full credit to the staff who tried their best with problems which were beyond their control.
The location was excellent, with lots of great restaurants around and a pleasant walk through the gardens to the old town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hambleton21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear hambleton21,
first of all we appollogize for all your inconveniences that occured during your stay. Regarding the airco we have to say that this summer was the hottest ever. Today only 3 days later, we have only 22°C which is 15°C lower then last week. This is crazy and unfortunately our Old Lady (I mean the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter) which has been built in 1864 is not able to get the same quality of cooling to all rooms.
Regarding the WIFI we have started to double the number of access points in the floors due to the strong walls. We still need some time but the connectivity and performance is one of our current major projects. We have changed our supplier and are now able to provide a capacitiy of 100Mbit to our guests splitted in max 5 Mbit per guest.
We hope that you still will return to the Pitter when you come to Salzburg the next time! Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff beside the hardware they are the heart of our Hotel. Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We were only in Salzburg for one day and night to do the sound of music tour but I wish we'd stayed longer and would have been happy to stay longer in this hotel. It was only €7 in a taxi from the train station and minutes from the Mirabell Gardens.

The rooms were large with comfortable beds. Separate toilet and bathroom areas and plenty of wardrobe/drawer space. Large tv too with bbc entertainment channel. Was around 35degrees when we were there and the air conditioning in the room wasnt up to it but when we called down a fan was sent up promptly which was appreciated.

We ate in the Pieter Garden in the hotel which was lovely and the waiter was friendly and helpful. We had breakfast too (cooked and continental available) which was tasty and worth the €12.50.

I would stay here again if returning to Salzburg.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaL874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear GemmaL874,

thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. So next time stay longer!! =D Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
P.S.: We appologize for the inconveniences regarding the aircondition. This was the hottest summer ever in Salzburg and this heat wave was too much for our normal aircondition which is normally working well with temperatures of 25-28 °C in this region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

After driving for 2 weeks in Germany, we reached Salzburg by train from Munich. We had selected Crowne Plaza basis the previous reviews here, the location, the reasonable price (Euro 104 for a classic room and euro 119 for a Superior on IHG website) and the fact that it had a swimming pool (albeit quite small).

The rooms weren't ready when we reached the hotel around 1:00pm and we decided to come back after lunch. On our return, 3 rooms were ready and the 4th was given to us a little later. As we entered our superior room, I was shocked that it was a twin bed, when I had asked for a king bed. The house keeping just put the two beds together and voila... I had a king bed. It seems the Pitter doesn't actually have king beds and this is how the king bed is made. Apart from this, the room was reasonably nice and comfortable.

The front office was helpful with suggestions and booking us on a tour to the Ice Caves. The location is good with Mirabell Gardens and the bus stop just a couple of blocks away. it is also walking distance to the main train station, though we took cabs because of the luggage we had. When indoors we spent a little time in the small pool which was at a comfortable temperature, inspite of it being quite cold outside. We didn't eat in, so can't comment on that but there are a few restaurants one can walk to for food.

We had a slight problem at check out that we were charged a higher room rate than the one we had booked at on their website. But this was sorted out in about 15 mins when we produced our confirmation email and the the front office making a few phone calls to verify.

In summary a good stay apart from a few niggles as mentioned.

PS: The reward points didn't automatically get credited to my account and a claim had to made subsequently which was addressed promptly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Prmetha,
thank you so much for your brief review and we appologize for your inconveniences regarding the delay of check in and the wrong bed type. We have still some king bed rooms.I just answered a review from another guest who claimed that they only want king beds with two matresses. It is getting more and more difficult to meet all global needs but I a happy that your accepted our way of solving this issue. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that everything is OK now regarding your IHG reward points. Yours sincerely Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went here due to a Globus vacation and so we did not select this hotel....Globus did for us. We were happy to see a room that was big and although they didn't have free Wi-Fi in the room, at least they provided it for 1 hour in the lobby. What you do is go to the front desk and ask for the voucher pass code and they'll give it to you. It will expire in one hour. Then you can write a review on here within that one hour! Haha!

Everything seemed clean and unlike most of the hotels Globus gets (outside of the city) you can at least explore this beautiful city because it's so close to everything. Also, the breakfast buffet Globus offers every single day was better than most. Eggs tasted better and they didn't seem to be as stingy as some other hotels we've been to (already 5 others we've been to and will be at another 20 soon!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Jay D,
we hope you had a great time during your Globus Tour. This agency is a long term partner from us and we appreciate their ongoing business very much. Thank you so much for taking the time to right this wonderful feedback. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter including the breakfast and the WIFI connectivity, which you perfectly used...=D
Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is in a good location. We were able to walk to the old city center with no problems. The staff was generally friendly and helpful. Housekeeping could have done a better job. It was clear we had 3 people staying in the room, but we had to ask for more towels a couple of days. The air conditioning in the room was no where near adequate. In their defense, they were experiencing a heat wave at the time. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novanative703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Novanative703,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback and yes you are right we can not recall such a long and hot summer period in Salzburg. It is the hottest one in this century. We appologize that our aircondition was at the limit for over 2 weeks. We are sorry that the housekeeping did not honor your need for more towels. I am sorry for that and I will pass your feedback onto our Executive Housekeeper. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg and hope that you will once come back! Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have a week for my vacation with family and decided to spend 2-3 days in Austria. Had selected Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter to be our accommodation. This is the right choice that we had selected. Hotel's location is very good near by tourist area such as Mozart's Birthplace,Hohenstaufen Fortress. You can spend a good time with your couple by walking and it will take only 5-10 mins to attraction and shopping zone.Staff are friendly with manner. I have visit hotel 's garden terrace ,good place to relax in the afternoon with cool beer.

Love to stay here.

Peter Chamnongthai

Room Tip: Room on the high floor is fantastic choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Mr Chamnongthai,
thank you so much for your nice comments regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. Its great that you loved it because that is what we are all reaching for! And yes the garden Restaurant "PitterGarten" is the best place on a hot summer day with shaddow froim large chestnut trees good food and great Salzburg beer! You deserve it!
Thanks again and warm regards from Salzburg, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Address: Rainerstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2014 the hotel Crowne Plaza Salzburg - The Pitter was newly renovated and extended. € 15 Mio were spent to create new perspectives and dimensions. Experience typical ,,Salzburg flair" at this traditional hotel, which was already opened by the Pitter family in 1864. This ,,Grand Hotel" offers 198 rooms and suites and is located directly in the city centre of Salzburg. Reach the famous Mirabell Garden & Castle within 2 walking minutes and the main station within 7 minutes by foot. "Salzburg Airport W.A. Mozart" is easily accessed by car or public transport (Bus number 2) within 15 - 20 minutes. Indulge yourself in a brand-new, spectacular location above the roofs of Mozart's city and enjoy drinks and delicacies of our cuisine. Experience the magic of Salzburg at highest level at the IMLAUER SKY - Bar & Restaurant. Open throughout the year from breakfast until at least 1 am! Typical, regional delicacies and a selection of over 30 beer specialties is served at the oldest beer cellar in town, at our legendary "PitterKeller". During fair weather the "PitterGarden" is open for you. New fitness area with sauna and mountain views from the private rooftop-terrace. Hotel guests relax and train there at no extra cost. Endless possibilities at the newly built ,,Pitter Event Center" for YOUR event. 6 glass domes and a total space of 450 sqm make the "Pitter Saal" unique in Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing