We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“colinlew” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Ranked #15 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“colinlew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel is 150 years old. It has recently been refurbished but retains its period charm and comfort. The rooms were excellent, slightly small perhaps but understandable in a hotel of this age. There is a very pleasant Plaza bar. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel; the restaurant was packed and the buffet did not look inviting. Instead we went around the corner to a good cafe and had an excellent breakfast for a third of the price. The steam room and the sauna in the spa area are well maintained, and were not over-used during our stay. The staff at reception were very helpful and very friendly. The Pitter Kellar restaurant attached to the hotel is traditional with Austrian food. The fifteen minutes stroll into the old town is best taken through the Mirabelle gardens and along the river.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colinlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest thank you very much for your time to post a review to Tripadvisor. We are sorry that our breakfast buffet did not meet your needs. Normally the price of the Breakfast if you are travelling with kids is not higher then the one in nearby places. We offer the full range of egg plates, coffee and tea specialties at no additional cost. Next time please review if it makes sense to book including breakfast as the surcharge is less then the normal breakfast price. Thank you again for your time. All the best from freezing Salzburg. Martin Gissel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    594
    183
    55
    20
See reviews for
350
552
73
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Upgraded 2 a junior suite on arrival great start , very very comfy bed , pool tiny but spotless . Wifi with a connection charge come on guys 4 star hotel? Free just about everywhere else in town

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. Excellent that you loved the bedding in your Junior Suite. I am really sorry that you where not happy about the WIFI charges. We have already decreased the rates by a third. Still the investment was very high in this old building. But good news. With immediate effect WIFI is free in the public areas and the Restaurants. It is a matter of time when all our Hotels will grant free Wifi access. Have a good time and thank you again for your time. Martin Gissel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel is well located right near the Mirabell Gardens - and you can easily walk into the Old Town along the river. The parking is a little distance away, but the staff helped us find what to do.

The hotel feels a little dated - and is probably in need of a renovation/refurbishment - but it's obvious that they have done the rooms recently - if not the corridors. The house-keeping staff were kind and helpful, if the reception staff weren't particularly memorable.

The restaurant "Pitskeller" is great - and the range of food is good, as we couldn't really find anywhere else to eat around the place - as it felt it was sort of in the "business district" of Salzburg.

Room Tip: There isn't any great views. If you're looking for one with a view over Salzburg - stay at H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your nice feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. Yes we admit our "lady" is old but we all love this 150 year old Hotel! We are currently in the planning process of a major redo of our rooms which will hopefully begin in January 2013. But the most important asset of a Hotel are the people working there and we are so glad that you liked our service. Thank you again. Martin Gissel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The stay in this hotel was short. We had been holiday-ing in the Tirol region in Austria and had an early flight the next day.
The few staff we had encounters with were friendly. There were around 30 other parties checking in at the same time but they were efficient. The room, a twin, was standard and actually quite small. The bathroom was not well organised, the toilet was directly behind the door, but the shower was good and small toiletries were provided (which proved essential as we had used all of ours on the main part of our holiday). Reception also provided us with a dental kit upon asking at reception (again we left ours behind!). Very helpful.
The room was unbelieably hot and as a result we had to open the window but it was raining and the rain dripped onto a metal roof, which was just outside and below the window, all night- did not provide for a good sleep.

Evening meal was excellent and breakfast was fantastic. The best buffet selection I have ever seen! Cooked breakfast, cereals, breads, fruit, yoghurt, waffles, chocolate, jams, marmelades, hams, cheeses, pates... I could go on!!

I can not comment on the hotels proximity to locations as we were only there for 12 hours at the most. I would recommend this hotel for short visits though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilly_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear lilly_424,

thank you so much for your time to rate the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We are so sorry that the room was too hot during your short stay. I assume that our system could not react in time to the temperature switches outside. It is indeed an old Hotel and sometimes we struggle a bit with the technical fittings even though we already spent a fortune on the updates... Thank you for your great feedback on the breakfast. that is the most important meal of the day and should allways be very good! I hope to see you again at the "Pitter". Best regards, Martin Gissel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for 2012 New Year's Eve with my husband. Location is perfect as you can reach to the downtown in 10 minutes by walk . The restaurant "Pitterkeller" is wonderful, had a perfect dinner there. Also the room service is very very punctual and first-rate. The room was cleaned everyday regularly and we never had a problem or water, electricity, a/c, etc.
Only problem I had was sleeping since the pillows were rather uncomfortable. There is also a gym, indoor pool and sauna but we didn't experience. As we booked quite early the price was reasonable for a period like that... Do not hesitate to choose!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pesciolaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here two nights as part of a tour group. The location is nice, very close to the gardens and not far from shopping. It was difficult to find any maps in the lobby, the staff was not terribly helpful. The main problem is that the rooms are very dated. The carpet is old, the upholstery looks old, and our room on the inside of the hotel had a very unappealing view. The dinner was OK, and the breakfast as well. We didn't spend much time in our room, but I can't think of many good things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T-Train205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Tim P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience with us. We are glad to know you found our location convenient. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback in order to improve upon our services, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had 4 nights here in mid December and felt we really made the most of the time thanks largely to the helpful and friendly staff. Front desk staff especially, from the moment we arrived were extremely helpful. The hotel has 3 restaurants to choose from - fine dining to Austrian 'bistro' style. We found all food terrific and nothing too much trouble. Gym, sauna and pool were great, especially after a long day walking or on tours - even if we weren't quite used to the local custom in the sauna! Downside was no wifi in rooms, however I understand they are probably set up for business people, and we did use the free (but quite slow) computers in reception.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Address: Rainerstrasse 6 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2014 the hotel Crowne Plaza Salzburg - The Pitter was newly renovated and extended. € 15 Mio were spent to create new perspectives and dimensions. Experience typical ,,Salzburg flair" at this traditional hotel, which was already opened by the Pitter family in 1864. This ,,Grand Hotel" offers 198 rooms and suites and is located directly in the city centre of Salzburg. Reach the famous Mirabell Garden & Castle within 2 walking minutes and the main station within 7 minutes by foot. "Salzburg Airport W.A. Mozart" is easily accessed by car or public transport (Bus number 2) within 15 - 20 minutes. Indulge yourself in a brand-new, spectacular location above the roofs of Mozart's city and enjoy drinks and delicacies of our cuisine. Experience the magic of Salzburg at highest level at the IMLAUER SKY - Bar & Restaurant. Open throughout the year from breakfast until at least 1 am! Typical, regional delicacies and a selection of over 30 beer specialties is served at the oldest beer cellar in town, at our legendary "PitterKeller". During fair weather the "PitterGarden" is open for you. New fitness area with sauna and mountain views from the private rooftop-terrace. Hotel guests relax and train there at no extra cost. Endless possibilities at the newly built ,,Pitter Event Center" for YOUR event. 6 glass domes and a total space of 450 sqm make the "Pitter Saal" unique in Austria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing