We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
757 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“The Whole Package”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

You cannot beat the location of this historic hotel situated right in the heart of Old Town Salzburg. Walk to all the major sites, shopping or restaurants while staying in this centuries old, charming small hotel, updated with all the amenities. The service is impeccable, the rooms are large, and you will even find a delicious chocolate on your pillow each night. WiFi is free and works well and fast! This hotel is a winner!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbuntarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear pbuntarl

thanks so much for your kind and positve feedback. I am really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and please share this with your friends and family.

Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    175
    39
    16
    11
See reviews for
220
482
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Valley, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Goldener Hirsch oozes old world charm and combines it with top flight service. Our rooms were delightful with sitting areas in what may have been the older section of the hotel. The restaurant served delicious food and has an outstanding wine list. Breakfast was good as was anything from the bar. If you are going to Salzburg, it is hard to find a nicer spot.

Room Tip: Rooms 40 and 41 are charming with nice sitting areas. They can be adjoined if desired. They are on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elk208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear elk208,

thanks so much for your kind and positive feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.

With best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent location on the main part of old town. Great rooms and quirky layout for a 500yr+ building, amenities were ample in the room, wifi well appreciated. Staff were very attentive and helpful, best service I have received, far better than you get at some 5* upscale chains.

Room Tip: Facing over the old street is great, but be aware there can be some noise from the deliveries in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Nigel C,
thanks again for your nice feedback and I am happy to see that you even used different channels.
Hopefully you return soon.

With best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel was very nice and the service was great. It is in the heart of old town and very convenient to shopping and restaurants. The rooms were clean and decorated in a very traditional way. This hotel is itself historic, dating back many centuries. It is clear that over the centuries rooms and structures have been added. Because of this it is easy to get lost finding your room. But I found that to be part of the charm. The staff is not "warm and fuzzy", but they are extremely professional and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csuosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear csuosu,
thanks for your positive feedback and I am happy to read that you liked your stay with us. I am sad, that you felt that our staff was not warmhearted but only professional. Usually this is our greatest strenghts and I will share your experience with them.

Looking forward to having you back with us, soon
Best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We knew we were booking an extraordinary hotel but it exceeded our expectations!!! We usually go bed and breakfast type places and love them but this was amazing. The service, the smiles, turndown service, umbrellas, great restaurants and the location can't be beat. We stayed in room 8 that had a king and a pull out couch for our 15 year old son. Plenty of room, nice desk and the bathroom was huge!!!! Tub and shower separate! Plenty of clothes storage and a great view. But what makes this hotel is the service. The restaurant was full but we went back in to the desk and guess what, walked right in to a table! They have 2 restaurants and we didn't make it to the "best" but what we had was amazing!!! Service there was great! Book this if you are ready for some space and luxury as you travel through Europe, it is expensive but also is a great value!!!

Room Tip: We hade room 8 and it was very large. 2 windows, fold out couch, 2 wardrobes and then a bathroom su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Jack D,
thanks very much for your nice and positive comment. It is great to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago and had a wonderful time . The rooms were beautiful done in the Tirol style. This is in the heart of the city and as you step out the main door you have the very best fashion shops greet you. The breakfast is memorable and dinner was fantastic. The staff are very helpful and will meet your every need. I wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Saltzburg.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Johnny C,

thanks very much for your positive review and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The best location, under the benevolent wing of Mozart... All places of interest are at walking distance. If you like traditional Austrian décor you will be completely filled. Extremely comfortable bed, quiet room, attentive and discreet staff, delicous breakfast : everything is excellent in this hotel with a more than perfect service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tianax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Tianax,
thanks for your positive and encouraging feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
With warm regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing