We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salzburg charm and a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Salzburg charm and a great location.”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a four night stay at this rather special hotel and took in the Salzburg Christmas markets. We didn't see a cloud for the duration of our visit and loved the crisp but cold air and this beautiful city. One negative though which took us a bit by surprise was the amount of begging in the streets. Surely a city this apparently affluent should be able to look after the welfare of all it's inhabitants better than it does.

Our upgraded room was charming with interesting antique furniture alongside every modern convenience. And the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel staff spoke excellent English and provided a friendly yet efficient service, helping us with tours, taxis etc.

Without doubt the hotel location is a major asset being right on the famous pedestrian shopping street and this did not cause any problems whatsoever with noise inside the hotel. Like other reviewers we found the breakfast expensive and resolved to eat out on some mornings. The resolve didn't work however as the convenience outweighed the walk in the cold air outside.

Salzburg is a beautiful, magical city and the Christmas markets are spectacular. The Goldener Hirsch is the perfect location to take it all in.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luvsark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear luvsark,

thanks for your kind feedback and I am happy that you liked your stay with us.
Regarding the beggers, we are working together with the city government as this are groups coming from Romania and not from Salzuburg.
Good to read that we provided service you liked and thanks again for your positive review.
I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    173
    40
    16
    10
See reviews for
213
478
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 11/30
to 12-3, 2013. Overall, rooms, beds and hotel are clean. Housekeeping is rather lax though. For example, w/re to the Business Centre, I had to mention to the concierge the piling up of dirty dishes on one of the tables and noticed that one (of 2) of the pc stations in there lacked a chair. Also, dirty towels in our room were not picked up by housekeeping but instead left on the floor. This type of housekeeping is not appropriate for any business, much less a place that touts itself as a luxury hotel. Be aware that there is quite a bit of nepotism in this city and wherever you get "recommended" to go/eat probably should be taken with a grain of salt. Bottom line, do thorough research before you go and negotiate as much as you can. Our rate did not include breakfast for which they priced an additional amount at a premium. There are plenty of places within walking distance to eat at, some being more "American tourist friendly" than others.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverLake2TheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear SilverLake2TheWorld,
thanks for your detailed feedback and I am happy to read that you liked your stay with us. Your remarks regarding the service of the Housekeeping is noted and I will discuss with our Executive Housekeeper, as this is not the service we should deliver.
I remain with best regards and wish you a happy new year.
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I know I wrote a review earlier this year; but, we just spent another 3 nights at this wonderful gem in the heart of Salzburg. If you are looking for the typical Austrian experience, with true Austrian "gemütlichkeit " and hospitality, this is the place. The people are genuinely warm and welcoming, with ever present smiles and ready to make your stay, not only at their hotel; but, in and around Salzburg, an experience of lasting memories.
We return again and again. The manager and his entire staff truly make this an experience to remember and we feel it is a home away! As a five star hotel it deserves all the accolades I can bestow. To Herr Putz and the entire staff, YOU CAN BE VERY PROUD, YOU EXCEED EXPECTATIONS!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chamonixCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear chamonixCalifornia,
thanks so much for your kind feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us. Your feedback encourages us and this is the salt in the soup why we all work in hospitality business.
I remain with warm regards and wish you and your family a happy new year.
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Goldener Hirsch is a beautiful, upscale hotel with old-world charm. The location can't be beat, as it is right on the main shopping and pedestrian street, with shops and restaurants right out the door. Our room was upgraded upon our arrival, which was very nice, and it was huge! The biggest room and bathroom I've ever stayed in. It was clean and comfortable, with all the amenities. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and spoke English very well. The hotel is within an easy walking distance to most of the attractions in town, which was very helpful. Tip for visitors who are driving in--call ahead and ask the hotel for their rear-entrance address for your GPS, otherwise you'll be told to turn onto the pedestrian streets (which you can't and are blocked by metal poles) and will have to circle around forever, as we did :-). My husband is 6'5" and had to duck his head around the hotel since the ceilings are low, but that is to be expected in an historic hotel. Great stay at a lovely property!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Samantha F,
thanks very much for your postive feedback about our hotel and the service we deliver.
Yes, the ceilings are rather low as the hotel was built in 1407. I assume people were shorter at that time...
I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had high expectations of the hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews and the fact that it is in the Starwood Luxury Collection and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is located in several ancient buildings which gives it unique charm. It was wonderful to stay in a place that was 350 years old when Mozart was born a few doors down the street. The hotel fronts onto the main shopping and tourist street. Getting to the hotel by car was a bit tricky but once you find the back entrance to the hotel everything is looked after for you. Our room was very large with a huge bathroom and beautifully appointed in keeping with the age of the building and the five star standard. The service was friendly and faultless. We had dinner in the Herzl restaurant and enjoyed excellent food and service. Breakfast is very expensive so we chose to go to one of the many cafes close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian and Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Ian and Julie W,
thank you very much for your great feedback and we are happy that you liked our hotel as well as Salzburg.
Looking forward having you back with us, soon.

best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel is located in old town, on the shopping street, a block from the pedestrian street. It has the comfort of a well run, small hotel. Room was large and comfortable, service great. The breakfast is expensive-there are cafes nearby.

Room Tip: Room 10 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mittyc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear mittyLaJolla

thanks for your kind feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed staying with us.

Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.

br
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The location of the Goldener Hirsch cannot be beaten. On the Getreidegasse, it is in the center of old Salzburg. The hotel is designed in typical Tyrolean style and the staff wear Tyrolean outfits, which I find charming and appealing. Service is first class, quiet and dignified yet very efficient. For example, one day we saw that “The Sound of Music” was being performed live that evening at the Landestheater. As we thought it would be great to see that musical in the city where it was set, we asked to concierge to see if he could get tickets for us, and he did within a few hours.

The hotel rooms are decorated in Tyrolean style, but everything is comfortable and cozy. We were fortunate in obtaining an upgrade to a junior suite (Number 7), and it was superb. A very spacious room, with a desk and sitting area. The bathroom was relatively small, and the shower was tight. But those were minor inconveniences.

The breakfast area is cozy and the breakfast selections are extensive. Typical of the best German breakfast offerings, there is a wide selection of fruits, meats, cheeses, breads, cereals—everything a hungry person could enjoy. In addition to the hot offerings, it is also possible to order eggs cooked to one’s taste.

All in all, the Goldener Hirsch is worth every penny you might pay for your room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear silverbrian

thanks so much for your positive feedback and I am happy that you liked your stay with us, especially our wonderful breakfast.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.

kind regards
Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing