We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect blend of historic charm, modern comfort, and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
714 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Perfect blend of historic charm, modern comfort, and great location”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Brief summary: wonderful combination of historic charm, modern comfort, excellent service, and great location.

We stayed in Room 3, a junior suite and a wonderful upgrade care of our Starwood membership. Very spacious room with a very comfortable king bed, sofa and two club chairs, vanity, large work desk, lots of closet and drawer space. Windows that open, although the AC worked perfectly and quiet. Our room faced the back, but the rooms seem quiet in general.

The décor is traditional country-Austrian, and feels very fresh with excellent housekeeping. There were a few authentic antiques in the room, which added charm.

The bathroom was equally spacious, with deep bathtub/shower, two sinks, robes, very nice toiletries, etc.

The breakfast is excellent, with a very wide variety of hot and cold items: meats, cheeses, salmon, relishes and vegetables, cereals, yogurts, breads and pastries. They will cook eggs to order. The waitstaff is professional, courteous, and there for you. Also nice: the breakfast room is sunny and cheerful -- and take a look at the adjoining space for more charming décor.

Throughout the hotel, the staff is professional, friendly, very helpful, and fluent in English. They were very helpful with tourist guidance, arrangements, advice, etc.

The hotel did an excellent job on the laundry, with same-day service even on a Saturday, at a reasonable price.

The hotel's restaurants are excellent and specialize in Austrian cuisine, but with some variety and deft skill. The more casual Herzl is open for lunch and dinner, but has a variety of plates as well as more casual fare, and is located a very short walk outside the hotel, off the main street in. The fine dining room is located in the hotel, with a varied menu but definitely fine cuisine based on traditional specialties. Excellent wine list. 'Not cheap, but very good dining and value with the superb service as noted above. Finally, the bar is an intimate, charming area with a good man at the bar, with Sinatra and jazz standards playing -- a place for grownups. I recommend dining/drinking at these places, even if you are not guests at the hotel.

To be sure: the location is great -- convenient to all the attractions of old town, and only a 10 minute cab ride from the train station. Especially nice is that you are in the middle of things, but just outside of the main throngs of the central squares -- the hotel feels quiet yet is in the center of things.

Pay attention to a few things: (1) the shops that advertise in some of the vitrines in the lobby areas. These are high quality yet affordable, unique shops. (2) Check out the décor throughout the hotel, such as the lovely tapestry on the first floor (second floor to Americans), small sitting rooms, and other nice touches. (3) THANK YOU so much for complimentary copies of a good English-language newspaper, the International Herald Tribune.

My only criticism is minor, and one that I have with most hotels these days -- the duvets are a little too warm. As usual, my husband and I remove the duvets from the covers, and just sleep with the covers. But that seems to happen everywhere these days...

To sum: this hotel really sets the standard for comfort, charm, and excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Mme_X,

thanks a lot for taking the time to give this detailed feedback. I am sure this very valuble information for other travelers and I am very delighted to read that you really loved our hotel.

We are looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
With warm regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    179
    39
    16
    11
See reviews for
226
488
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Arrived by train, and after a quick 10 euro taxi ride, we entered the hotel lobby filled with old world charm. Both of our rooms had been upgraded based upon our SPG membership. The upgrades were to suites and offered comfortable beds, good air conditioning, substantial storage space and a large bathroom. We could not have been more pleased with the front desk staff. They offered efficient service, spoke several languages and even helped make our train reservations for the next day. The location is outstanding, and provides walking access to many restaurants, bakeries, and tourist attractions. We selected this hotel based upon tripadvisor reviews and will stay again on future visits without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockfish65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear rockfish65,

thanks a lot for your positive and kind feedback. I am really happy to read that you appreciated our service and liked our property which is something special.
Looking forward having you back with us, soon.
I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's not cheap, but worth the money. Smart, attentive, extremely well-trained staff who spoke several languages (including English flawlessly), location right in old city, just a short walk from the funicular, filled with history and charm. Only ate breakfast and dessert, but food was better than anything else we had in Austria. Dinner menu looked good. Rooms were old-world elegant, clean, luxurious. Bathrooms roomy and well stocked. The keys are heavy brass (?), which took some getting used to, believe it or not. Valet parking.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we are very happy that you liked our service and the attitude of our associates.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

this is a Starwood luxury property so you know what to expect. We booked 3 months in advance on a non refundable rate so got a very good deal (less than 50% of rate for walk in guests on that day)

Has the charm of an ancient villa or an Indian Haveli but still they have tried to update all the equipment (very good, just not at par with a business Starwood luxury property)

Only caveat is that rooms have no view as this was a property they took over and couldn't do much about that. Location is in the Old City so that's as good as it gets.

Room Tip: no view from rooms , so don't fret on which one to take!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Arun,
thanks for your positive feedback and I am happy to read that you liked the special charme of our ancient property. You only find this in Salzburg and you cant copy that!!
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Goldener Hirsch it is extremely quaint and the furnishing were old world and very charming. The location is super and within walking distance of all the historic sights. The staff was very professional especially the Headwaiter Hr. Bauer and the Breakfast waiter Hr. Brandstatter.The beds were very comfortable. The only problem was our stay was too short we would have liked a few more days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Leonard,
thank you very much for your kind feedback and I am happy to read that you liked our hotel as well as the attitude of our associates.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
With warm regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohave Valley, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband & I love staying at hotels with modern conveniences but old world/historic charm! This one was wonderful... like staying at an Austrian chalet. Comfy bedding but again we enjoy firmer mattresses. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly & very helpful! It's difficult to lose your key since its on a large very heavy keychain ....that you deposit at the front desk each time when departing your room. I liked doing so for it added some charm & we never had to wait long for our key when requesting it. They recognize their guests making you feel very Welcome. Terrific location, close to bus lines, restaurants, stores, pubs, the Danube river etc.. A wonderful experience... Even when it drizzled we would go downstairs & pop in & out of shops.

Room Tip: FYI. When we requested a king bed, we got 2 twin beds next to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks you very much for your kind and positive feedback. I am very happy that you liked the charme and atmosphere of our hotel and we are looking forward having you back with us, soon.
I remain with warm regards from Salzburg
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We visited Central Europe (Munich, Salzburg & Prague) during the heavy rains/epic floods of late May/early June. Even the rainy weather couldn't dampen our enthusiasm for the Hotel Goldener Hirsch. It is the only place I would consider staying in Salzburg - and I went as far as to check out the other 5* competition at Hotel Sacher Salzburg and Bristol Hotel (very stuffy hotels - not at all welcoming).

Despite our early arrival at the Hotel Goldener Hirsch, we were warmly welcomed by a staff person who politely offered to handle our bags. The staff at the front desk provided a friendly greeting and notified me of a room upgrade even though I do not have a very high level SPG membership. The room was absolutely lovely with lots of typical Austrian furnishings which added to the charming appearance of the room and hotel. The view from the numerous windows looked out over a picturesque square and the Mönchsberg. The location can't be beat as its on Getreidegasse road where all the lovely shops, cafes, restaurants, etc. are located and easy walking distance to all the sites. The room was everything you would expect from a 5* hotel with comfortable yet supportive mattresses, an absolutely lovely bathroom with a fantastic shower (I think it had a shower and a bath), Molton Brown products, plush bathrobe and cute slippers, good lighting, and international electrical outlets. We slept very well and were very sad to leave.

I hope to visit Salzburg again when the weather is much better and I will only consider staying at the Hotel Goldener Hirsch. Of all the 5* hotels we stayed at on this particular trip, Hotel Goldener Hirsch was our favorite. It was definitely the highlight of our visit to Central Europe.

The service at the hotel was consistently friendly, professional and attentive. We were greeted each time we entered the hotel and offered help when it was needed.

Room Tip: We loved our room which faced the Mönchsberg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisajanetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear lisajanetx,
thanks a lot for your detailed and very positive feedback. We could not do better...
I am very happy that you liked our hotel as well as your whole trip through Europe.
We are all looking forward having you back with us, soon.
With warm regards from Salzburg
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing