We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Ranked #4 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
212 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 664 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having stayed here twice before, we were again blown away by the hotel and its staff.

First things first: the hotel comes with a HUGE price, but it delivers.

Although not having booked through Starwood, our Preferred Guest Gold membership was honoured and we received a double upgrade to a Junior Suite with views towards the Festspielhaus :-) Despite the room looking on the busy street next to the Festspielhaus, there was no noise whatsoever.

The room (as the other rooms we stayed in before) was ultra-cozy and fitted with rustic, alpine furniture (some reviewers apparently can't tell junk from antiques). The bathroom with separate toilet/bidet, bathtub and shower had tiles in an appropriate alpine look.

All staff are highly trained and have perfect manners.

Breakfast, again, is VERY expensive, but staff, high class food and setting are well worth it (nevertheless try to get a rate including breakfast!)

For dinner, I would recommend the hotel's "s' Herzl" restaurant next door as the food is almost as good as in the main restaurant, but it's far less expensive and the setting is more relaxed.

I also highly recommend the unusual hotel bar offering the hotel's signature drink "Sabine".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear JanBerlin,
thank you very much for your kind feedback and I am happy to read that you respect our reasonable rates which allow us to deliver great service.
The sHerzl is one of the nicest and genuine restaurants in the city and popular within the local community.
We are looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    169
    39
    15
    10
See reviews for
209
467
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wyoming
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

A beautiful ancient hotel with all modern conveniences including superb food, wine and consierge service.Location is great for walking in town and close to all the Christmas markets,restaurants and shopping.A must visit any time of year,but extraordinary at Christmas

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for your kind feedback and I have to agree that Christmas is one of the most beautiful seasons in Salzburg.
Looking forward to having you back with us soon.
With best regards
Wolfgan Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Goldener Hirsch. We travel with my in-laws and four year old child and always make sure hotels know that we're together. When we got there they had us in rooms on different floors on opposite ends of the building. Apparently this may have happened because my husband purchased a suite or an upgraded room at least for us with our child and there was not one of these next to a regular room for my in-laws, or something like that. The room my in-laws were in was not suitable for my father-in-law, because it stairs in it, etc. Anyway none of this worked for me at all so I decided to speak up and really got Ito it with one of the female staff at the front desk. She seemed unwilling to work something out even if it meant being creative. I really just wanted the two rooms we had the year prior that apparently were just regular rooms. Finally, one of the male staff stepped in and started working away on the computer trying to help us. Not sure what his name was but I believe he is definitely a senior member of the staff, if not the manager. Anyway, problem solved and we were back in our old rooms next to each other and the Salzburg segment of our vacation began. We love this hotel and will return a third time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Argus1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for your, overall, positive feedback and I am happy to read that you finally stayed in your preferred rooms.
As you realized, mostly, all rooms are different which also is the special charme of our property.
We are all looking forward to having you back with us for a 3rd time and I
remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wow! A hotel with great character, which is situated in Salzburg. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. All areas of the hotel are very clean and the rooms are of a good size. The shops are within a very easy reach. The free wifi worked well throughout the hotel and the food in the restaurant was great (both breakfast and lunch). If staying in Salzburg, this is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matts3872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mats3872,
thank you very much for your kind feedback and I am happy to hear that you liked the hotel and our friendly staff.
We are looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
With best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great Hotel in an amazing location. Hotel staff were all very friendly. Parking was sorted every day dropping car off at back door. We stayed 3 nights as a family and were upgraded to 2 really lasrge rooms. Rooms were very old fashion but that was part of the charm. We had a lovely stay and Salzburg is such a lovely city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear David,
thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and I am happy to hear that you liked our hotel, our friendly staff and Salzburg as a city.
We are looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
With best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow...loved everything about this hotel except my husband is very tall and he had a terrible time moving throughout the hotel. The Hotels restaurants were not only charming but delicious. The bar area was small, yet wonderful. The staff couldn't of been more accommodating or nicer...just lovely people. The hotel is located on the charming Getreidegasse Road, across from the river. Great great location. Took a small van Sound of Music tour which was more a historic trip through Salzburg...highly recommend this a again a small van trip to Eagles Nest. Looking forward to a return visit with my young adult children...maybe at Christmas, as I've heard it's magical! If you want an true Salzburg experience...this is the place to stay. Literally everything is within walking distance!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and I have to admit that this hotel was not built for tall people.
Despite of this I am very happy that you especially liked our friendly staff which is our most important asset.
I am looking forward to having you back soon and remain
with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in Salzburg for two nights during a stopover between our visits to Prague and Munich and oh boy were we glad we did. Salzburg is a charming little city with beautiful sites and famous Hollywood history. We stayed at the Hotel Goldener Hirsh because we have been consistently happy with Starwood properties and this one was no exception. We found a somewhat reasonable rate online at Starwood's website. Sure, we could have stayed a little cheaper; however, the location of this amazingly quaint hotel, not to mention, its quintessential Austrian alp decor made the entire Salzburg experience complete. First, the hotel is located on the Getreidegasse shopping street, which is a fun place to stroll. Second, even though I normally hate McDonalds, in this expensive little town, there is a McDonalds just steps from the hotel that has perfect breakfast choices with an Austrian flair at far reduced costs than the restaurant across the street. The service was stellar. But did not include breakfast. We did get free WiFi though and a complimentary water and turn down service each day. Only downside: no pool or fitness center but the hotel allowed me to use the fitness center at the Sheraton (which was about a mile away but a good warm up before working out).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twointlkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for your positive feedback and I am happy that you liked the city and our hotel . Salzburg is really charming but I am sure you also liked Prag which is amazing, too.
Hope you stay with us next time you are in the suroundings and I remain
with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 131 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing