We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Salzburg!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sensational Salzburg!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed 4 nights from Oct. 31 to Nov. 4, 2012. There were 4 of us in 2 rooms. Upon check in we were upgraded to junior suites. Great big room with sitting room and perfectly modern and spacious bathroom. Shower was excellent. Our room looked over a roof/courtyard area. This was good because it was very quiet. We kept our wine cold outside on the window sill ;) Very comfortable bed and pillows. It was nice to be able to open windows and great fresh air. The hotel sits right on the prestigious Getreidegasse with world class restaurants and shopping. Hotel staff were multi lingual and very personable. We left our room key at reception when we went out and they always gave us right key back upon our return without asking who we were. Great location.You won't be disappointed. The restaurant food and breakfasts were good. On Friday nights the symphony plays Mozart's Requiem at the Cathedral during the mass at 7pm. It was otherworldly. We loved Salzburg. So much to see and to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook Getreidegasse. It can be loud at night with revellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKrischek, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your positve feedback about the hotel the staff and the wonderful city. In Salzburg there is always something going on and I am curious what you will explore during your next trip.
With warm regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    175
    39
    16
    11
See reviews for
220
482
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in October for two nights. We had a wonderful stay the staff was so helpful too. One night there was a little hum coming from the heating register. A staff member fixed it right away, then the hotel sent us a basket of fruit and goodies plus a bottle of wine. We didn't complain prior, only reported the hum. Needless to say it was a great stay with a helpful staff giving us directions etc. plus they all speak fluent English.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKrischek, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your postive feedback and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Since our hotel was built in 1407, unfortunately things break but wes usually are able to fix it. I do hope you enjoyed the fruits and wine and look forward to having you back with us, soon.
With warm regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Spent two nights slightly off season so they bumped us up to a suite. Everything about this hotel is terrific. Staff, cleanliness, nice rooms, great beds, free internet, location and just the overall character of the hotel captures the spirit of Salzburg - a delightful town.

Room Tip: We were in 49, a suite and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esh228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKrischek, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and we are very happy that you liked our Suite. We only have 5 but they are really nice.
Especially during off season, when we have the change, we give uprades to increase the satisfaction of our guests.
Looking forward to having you back with us soon.
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

No pool no fitness center. You don't need either , this is one of the best walking cities!
The Goldener Hirsch is our favorite hotel in Europe. Salzburg is the music capital and this hotel is the inveterate Austrian Hunting Lodge. Gemütlichkeit defines the experience. We have been here many times and feel at home. the staff is genuinely friendly, the ambiance...well everyday is like Christmas, and you will never find a better more comfortable bed with down comforters ..am
Nowhere. Truly a five star gem in the crown of Starwood's luxury collection. There is no better value in Salzburg and we have been going there for 30+ years. THIS IS AUSTRIA!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chamonixCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKrischek, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and I it is really true, the friendliness is genuine. We just love our guests.
I do hope to have you and your family back with us soon.
With warm regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is situated in the middle of the old town of Salzburg. Everything can be reached from here by foot. The hotel serves a good breakfast buffet and has two good restaurants (one of them works well for families too). The staff is very nice and helpful. Clearly a very well managed hotel which we can recommend to anyone being a business traveler, couples, solo or families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimZuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKrischek, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear valued guest,

thank you very much for your nice feedback and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I were visiting Salzburg for the first time for five nights. We were looking for a hotel that was walkable to everything, little more on the luxury side and would give us the feel of Salzburg. This hotel met every expectation. Upon check in we were told were had been upgraded; not sure why but we had a corner room which was more of an apartment and overlooked the main street and front door of the hotel, with windows that fully opened letting us enjoy the fresh air and noises of the city (close them at night to avoid people noise). Location and staff were superb and it is a great hotel from which to explore Salzburg and the surrounding area. Would also highly recommend the Fraulein Maria Sound of Music Bicycle Tour; you'll see things you'll likely not otherwise see. To the men in the group, do it and enjoy; you will be surprised at how much fun you will have. Highly recommend this hotel to help you really experience Salzburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brysully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKrischek, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and great to read that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the bike tour for Sound of Music. We will share your feedback with our partners.
Looking forward to having you back one day.

I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Location can't be beat, and the service surpasses anything I've ever seen. Each member of staff attentive, English-speaking, courteous and willing to go the extra mile.

Water was nice and hot, room comfy and quiet. No tea-making setup in room. Breakfast a bit spendy (32 euros for egg breakfast) but this is a 5-star after all. I had the Wiener Schnitzel which was out of this world - light, tender and tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKrischek, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay.
the Wiener Schnitzel is one of the most popular dishes in both of our restaurant, served by our kind colleagues.
Looking forward to having you back one day
I remain with best regards from Salzburg
Wolfgang Putz
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing