We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, not a four star for me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Ranked #52 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Austrobel hotel is in a good location facing the Mirabell Palace and Gardens, its in easy walking distance into the old town and the main attractions. The room was average and a little gloomy for me. It was very warm at night but were unable to open the windows as it was quite noisy outside.There was a mini bar in the room but couldn't find any prices. Although we only had water and soft drinks out of the bar, It was not refilled throughout our stay, we did five days. There is no tea or coffee facilities in the room so sometimes the water would have been nice. There is a small lounge in the main reception where you can get tea, coffee or a soft drink. The machine wasn't working on several occasions.The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Sorry about the hotel but I paid a bit more for a four star hotel hoping for a bit more.There isn't even a bar where you can go and relax in after a long day walking round the city.
However Salzburg itself is a lovely city with lots to see. You can do alot on foot. We went in Dec and the Christmas markets were fantanstic. It snowed whilst we were there, this made it extra special. Take lots of warm clothes if you go at this time of year. A trip to the lakes and mountains is well worth it, fabulous. We went to the information centre and booked a trip to Wolfgang including a boat trip, visited three places on this trip it was lovely. Also recommend the Fort, We spent a full day there.The walk isn't for the unfit!
We stayed five days in Salzberg, however I think it was one day too many as we had managed to see most of it by that time.
A tip if you are staying in Salzburg over a Friday and Saturday, book a table if you want to go out. Restaurants are all booked up and you cant get in anywhere if you haven't booked.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Hotel am Mirabellplatz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 566 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is just a short walk away from Salzburg's beautiful "Old Town" where all the main sights of the city are located. Located directly across the street from the Mirabell Gardens. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Location is great everything within walking distance. Only a short walk to the Augustiner Beer Hall

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Booked in advance so got a good rate and stayed 4 nights for the price of 3. The room was good although the furniture was a little used.
It was very clean with beds made and fresh towels everyday.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Location is great everything within walking distance.
We didnt take the breakfast at the hotel which was 15 euros each but took a 5 minute stroll to the Cafe Bazar on the river which is the most wonderful place to start the day, a good selection and reasonably priced.
Wifi is free but you have to call down for the code but its only a phone call so not a problem.
There is no tea or coffee in the room but there is a nice lounge downstairs which has free tea and coffee and juices 24/7.
Really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back

Room Tip: We had an inside no room so no view but no noise at night
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 82Lizzie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is just a short walk away from Salzburg's beautiful "Old Town" where all the main sights of the city are located. Rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean and the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. The free coffee and soft drinks downstairs near reception were a welcome refreshment after a day's sightseeing. The only downside was the poor wifi connection in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

just a few steps from Mirabell Palace. Easy to reach main atractions of Salzburg. If you need transportation, there are lots of buses available. Our room was clean and comfortable, a bit outdated. Nice staff, always ready to help you. I recommend this hotel if you stay for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FNOBRAZIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked this at the last minute and stayed two nights. The price was fantastic and I mean it was what I considered to be very low, less than $130.00 US dollars a night for last minute, directly across from Miribell Plaza! The place was clean, well located and the staff was great and very helpful. I will go back to this hotel. I can't recommend this place enough. My husband and I were exceptionally pleased with everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarheelCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely hotel ! beautiful cozy rooms, excellent full breakfast with juices, pancakes,sausages, waffles etc. Walked around the old town and clicked many beautiful pics of the excellent architecture . Also joined a carnival on a saturday evening which was a fabulous experience !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank punitadatta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#53 of 132 in Salzburg
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Mirabellplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Mirabellplatz

Address: Paris-Lodron-Strasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $116 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel am Mirabellplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Central Location and HistoryWelcome to Hotel am Mirabellplatz, Salzburg.Built as a palace for the Archbishop Paris Lodron in 1653 our house radiates historical charm together with modern character. Due to the excellent location in the old town, the most popular sights are within walking distance. Be it elegant comfort room, modern business room, spacious family room or exclusive residence room - all rooms were furnished with great attention to detail and were lovingly designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel am Mirabellplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrotel Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Austrotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Austrotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing