We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Salzburg
Ranked #11 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
CH-Oeschenbach
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Very nice hotel, excellent service, very friendly and helpful personal. I will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarice64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    267
    59
    21
    8
See reviews for
193
348
53
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed in early November which coincided with a big hospitality convention in town. Upon check-in, we were told of the convention and how all the rooms were sold out, but because I was a Starwood Preferred Guest member, they upgraded me to a Junior Suite so they can sell the regular room I booked to a conventioneer. I was surprised at the free upgrade because I was a newbie member with zero points and no prior stays at any Starwood properties.

The suite was on a private floor. It was beautiful with a large bathroom, separate toilet room, large main room divided between the sitting area and sleeping area, and large foyer. The minibar came free, everything in it, alcohol, snacks, etc. free! Staying in the suite also gave us free access to the club lounge with its free food and drinks throughout the day into the night. You could literally eat all your meals in the club lounge everyday for free if you wanted. Free beer, wine and champagne were also available.

The location of the hotel is on a quiet street. It's a 15 minute walk to old town. The staff was polite and helpful with directions. The surprise upgrade made our ordinary tourist trip a luxurious trip!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shallots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2,128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,520 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Excellent location.
We upgraded to an executive room and had a picture perfect view of the Saltzburg castle.

The Sheraton parking is free on the weekends, and this property represents the best of Sheratons in the US.

Highly recommend. Property is a short walk to Old Town.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

There are other comprehensive reviews here, and I don't want to relive the nightmare so for my sake and yours, I'll keep it brief.
We asked for a non smoking room. We got one. On a smoking floor. Between two smoking rooms. Needless to say, the air conditioning system ensured that our room was hazy with smoke. Two jetlagged kids who slept upon hitting the hotel in the early afternoon and right through meant no moving. Upon questioning downstairs, we were told all non smoking rooms available were on the same smoking floor, but we could have upgraded for a fee. Of course we would have done so if we'd been told on check in!!
I don't like to say never, but I'd be pretty desperate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunthesheepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Overlooking Mirabellgarten, the Salzburg Sheraton is within walking distance of the main tourist destinations in Mozart's birthplace. The staff is excellent and very welcoming. We only stayed one evening, but found the room to be one of the best, most spacious, clean, and well appointed rooms that we've had the pleasure of staying in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLewis47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights at the Sheraton Salzburg. The location could not have been better. We often stay at Starwood hotels and my husband is a Starwood preferred guest. We had booked our room through the Sheraton website. Prior to our arrival, we received an email from starwood hotels to say that we had been upgraded to a junior suite and we would have access to the Club Lounge. This was a pleasant surprise! When we checked in, we did indeed get the junior suite which was on the Club Level, however we were denied access to the Club lounge even though our confirmation email from Starwood specifically stated this fact. The front desk personnel, argued with us and refused to honor this at first. After some back and forth, they finally honored the confirmation information that we were sent. This was a rather unpleasant welcome especially since we patronize Starwood hotels. However, the rest of our stay was extremely pleasant and the personnel we encountered were extremely nice. The room was fantastic and the club lounge is outstanding. In the future, we would definitely pay the 60 Euros to use the Club lounge it is more than worth it at this location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shad0wstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel was very close to everywhere you'd want to be in Salzburg, but off the main streets where it can get noisy and congested. It's right next to the famous Imperial Gardens, and bridge to the old city, theaters and restaurants. We enjoyed the warm, friendly and helpful staff. We were upgraded to the Club Floor, and found the Club Room a great spot for breakfast and a late night cup of tea. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycfan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#6 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 138 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Salzburg

Property: Sheraton Salzburg
Address: Auerspergstrasse 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing