We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gardens and close to town”

Mirabell Palace and Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.49*
and up
Private Tour of City of Salzburg and Lake district area
More Info
$141.33*
and up
Day Trip to Salzburg from Vienna
More Info
$451.32*
and up
Private Custom Day Tour from Vienna: The Original Sound of Music Tour in...
Ranked #6 of 171 things to do in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This former palace now houses government offices. The gardens are where the von Trapp children sang "Do-Re-Mi" in the Sound of Music.
Brisbane, Queensland.
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens and close to town”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Here several scenes from the Sound Of Music were filmed so it is worth the visit to see. The fountain they danced around in the gardens of Mirabell. This spot is within walking distance of the new town and easy access. Palace was not open to visit inside.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarinnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,445
    1,676
    436
    48
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Check if it is all open before you go!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was rather sad to find that the Mirabell Garten was only partly open when we visited in March. You couldn't walk amongst the flower displays, as they were all roped off. It may be for the Winter, to protect the plants, but it was a shame as we had planned to visit this famous location on our short break. If you are able to check before you go, I would suggest you do. As you can imagine, it is also crowded.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenfels, Bayern, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Different palace experience”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The grounds are great, and you will get wet. The guided tour is very informative. Its amazing how all these water tricks are from the natural flowing water. The guides wait for you to take pictures, but it would be great to walk and linger at your own pace. If you have expensive camera equipment, leave it in your car and bring something cheap for this place. The water is everywhere and you could ruin your camera. The palace itself was disappointing, but the grounds are wonderful. Also, it has the Sound of Music pavilion (I am 16 going on 17...) on site.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tosha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pleasant Walk In the Gardens”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The flowers were in bloom when we were here and there was a wedding that afternoon (it seems there were weddings everywhere we went in Salzburg and Innsbruck).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pavlonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty in the winter snow, but i'm sure it'd be amazing in the summer sun!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

When I visited in February much of the gardens were buried under the snow and the fountains were frozen solid. Makes for a beautiful sight, but I can imagine the Mirabell Palace and Gardens really comes into its own in the summer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mogs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirabell Palace and Gardens also viewed

 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Mirabell Palace and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing