We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality on a budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality on a budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Located at the hind foot of Kapuzinerberg, Meininger Hotel Salzburg City Center is not exactly what you'd call a city center hotel. However, the 10-15 minute walk or 7-8 min ride in the OBus to the Old Town doesn't make it less attracting for the traveler on budget.
We stayed in a double room with en suite bathroom on the top floor. The rooms are clean and sufficiently spacious, boasting a terrace with a view on the surrounding mountains. The double room has a flat-screen TV (able to play media from a USB stick), an extra sofa, a table, a chair and a small wardrobe. Wireless internet is available in every room free of charge. The hotel provides sets of towels, liquid soap, shower gel and a hair dryer by default. Rooms are cleaned every day.
We haven't tried breakfast, as it's not included, but standard buffet breakfast can be had for €5.90. There is also a well-equipped guest kitchen on the ground floor that can be used free of charge. Microwave oven, electric kettle, cooker, oven available. Washing machine and dryer can be used for €5 incl. washing liquid.
There's a shopping center in the same building with a Merkur supermarket and other stores. Merkur also provides various breakfast menus for €3-5.
Keep in mind, that almost everything is closed on Sundays and Catholic holidays.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterTheHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    275
    104
    29
    23
See reviews for
176
108
58
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

my first impression of this hotel was that it was a proper business hotel. a group of 8 of us were travelling across europe and this was the only hotel which felt so 'business' like. its got most of the amenities and everything is very functional. breakfast is ok, but not bad. the bed and bathrooms are very clean and well maintained, but the setup is very mundane. overall we had a very nice stay and were here only for 2 nights, so had enough to do outside the hotel than in it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeepjreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

the hostel is easy to get to, free wifi is good, there is a kitchen for people to store food in and a supermarket right next door! bedrooms are clean, and the hotel staff were mostly really lovely. it was cool in winter because the 6 bedroom room i booked just for me and had just two of us in the room for one night, the rest four people, so i was happy. there are vending machines and a lobby downstairs and i would recommend for groups of people or friends.

Room Tip: ask to be put on the street side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longare, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is my second trip to Salzburg and my second stay at the Meininger Hotel and I am not disappointed at all. I checked the reviews that others had written before booking and had some concerns but now that I am here I am glad I booked. The rooms while small are clean and well appointed for the price. The bathrooms are spotless and the hot water plentiful. The staff have been super helpful, whether calling cabs or making suggestions or reservations they have never once even hesitated in helping. Some reviews complain about noise in the halls, well what did you expect from a hostle/hotel? Right now during my stay there are three soccer teams in the building but the only noisy area is the common room around the pool table. Overall this hotel is a great place to stay for a really low price when compared to many other locations in Salzburg. As a side note....there are two bus stops, a McDonalds, chinese food and a kebab place all within 350 meters of the hotel.

Room Tip: The family rooms feature two beds pushed together and bunk beds, sleeping for four easily. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanddiver44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with 6 ppl. Per night was 12,5 euro!! Hotel was super clean and comfy :) the kitchen was nice and modern. You have to share the kitchen but luckily not much ppl used it so we can enjoy our dinner easily ;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeyore_dejournee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel was very easy to find, with a brilliant staff service and comfortable bedrooms. We felt secure in the hotel as room cards are needed to access the elevator. There's also an easy access to the town with the Obus services as the stops were only right opposite of the hotel. You can also get the Salzburg card in the hotel which was very convenient. Everything else was good except the internet services. It was rather troublesome to use as there was only a two hour limit and you had to go down to the reception to get the log in details again to be able to access. It was a good stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at the hotel fro 2 nights on a short break and we were thoroughly disappointed by the hotel!!
To start we had a family room, which must have been the smallest family room in all of the hotel as we were seriously cramped in there, with the smallest table and wardrobe ever!!! The bathroom was ok although we only had 2 shower towels even though we booked for 3 people to stay in the room.
As far as the WiFi goes... the advertisement is very contradictory on booking.com (where we booked) and in the hotel itself, where they even give you a key card holder saying that FREE WIFI is available anywhere in the hotel.... but of course the WIFI only work in the lobby... so get that sorted... either fix the problem or do not advertise free WiFi anywhere in the hotel, as this was the only way for us to stay in touch with our family and friends as we were in the middle of a very long trip through Europe.
The thing that made me angry the most is that on the last day of our stay we found out that we were allocated a room in the "hostel" part of the hotel, this was not confirmed anywhere on our paperwork neither were we charged a more convenient price because of it.
All in all I would never stay here again and I would not recommend it... not even to my worst enemy.
Oh! I nearly forgot.... there is a play area for kids, made of a dirty old piece of carpet with some wooden blocks!!! Seriously???

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninidippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#22 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
1.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#45 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
3.9 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Property: MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Address: Furbergstrasse 18 - 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing