We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not central, but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not central, but good value”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Really happy with our decision to stay here. We were a bit worried about the distance from the city center, but for the length of our stay it was fine. It cost £10 to take a taxi from the station on the first night and we used the bus everyday after that. We were happy with the room, it was clean and comfortable with plenty of space.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    340
    127
    30
    27
See reviews for
228
127
67
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oradea, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited salzburg for a week-end and we stayed at this hotel. I was pleasently surprized by the homy atmosphere there, nice staff and services. Even if it is more of a family hotel and there were many childern it wasn't disturbing.
It is about 20 minutes walk far from the hystorical center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bufnita007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

First of all, this a wierd hostel, this is more like a huge hotel. There is 102 rooms and ONLY one washer and ONE dryer which is totally ridiculous. Moreover, it was out of order, no comments. The same goes for the kitchen (only one oven for more than 102 rooms)... The breakfast was too expensive. The lockers were too narrow to put a backpack. It could be good to put tablet beside of the beds. The rooms which are along of Fürbergstraße are very noisy.
However, the rooms are huge and clean. This is easy to go in the city center by public transportation.

Room Tip: not along the Fürbergstraße. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank san15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

if you're looking for a cozy, typical salzburger hotel with a warm atmosphere and personal touch, this is not the place for you.
However, if you are after a good value accommodation with clean and tidy rooms, this hotel is just fine.
The location is not central, it takes 25min walk to get to the centre.The hotel has a parking but it does not come for free.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I'm surprised by some of the other reviews. The staff are lovely, well te gentleman at the desk we dealt with was and the rooms are great! Nice modern bathroom, wardrobe, desk and chair, great bed and enough space for two no problem. There was also a great couch in our room! The best was the decor though, cute deer stencils on the walls. Well matched and modern furtinture and beautiful rustic hardwood floors. Well worth the money would like to stay here for longer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinlochleven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Really really nice place to stay. It's really really clean, I stayed in a couple of different rooms and even the hostel areas were amazingly clean, nothing like any hostels I've ever stayed in before. The late checkout (11am) was brilliant, allowing me to see a bit more of Salzburg before I left and they looked after my luggage, even after I checked out which saved me lugging big bags around the place. The staff were extremely helpful and very knowledgeable. They really helped us out quite a few times.
The breakfast is incredibly good and keeps being topped up as the morning goes.
If I come back to Salzburg I know exactly where I'm staying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Saw lots of younger folks most likely doing Europe after college--seems to be that word is out that the hotel is a good place to stay. Really nice room and good customer service. The only problem I had was finding it as I caught the S-bahn train number S-3 from the main train station to the nearest stop (Gnigl). I found the address which was a somewhat large shopping center. I didn't know the hotel is part of that building and I went into the wrong door. A helpful shop clerk told me the correct route to the correct door. Very clean and efficient. The hotel is located about 20 minutes by foot to the old town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvtreehanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#39 of 132 in Salzburg
647 reviews
1.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#35 of 132 in Salzburg
869 reviews
1.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Property: MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Address: Furbergstrasse 18 - 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing