We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fixed menus based on your preference”

Restaurant Esszimmer
Ranked #2 of 642 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $190
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is called quite simply “esszimmer” (“dining room”). Anything more would be superfluous, says star chef Andreas Kaiblinger. After all, the “real adventure happens in the cooking pot.”
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fixed menus based on your preference”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I truly enjoyed this restaurant! There were 4 fixed price menu selections - I chose fish and my husband chose meat. the dishes included scallops and gnocchi, spinach/egg/salmon, sea bass, beef heart, raviloli and pike perch just to name a few. We also enjoyed some great regional wine and bread. I would strongly recommend reservations and tell the guys to bring a jacket (not exacly formal but they may feel out of place without a jacket. Most of the women were in dresses). The atmosphere is very tasteful - not too formal or stuffy. There is a wide variety of beverage options and they will help you with you selections if you are unsure or want to try something new. Please allow at least 3 hours for this "well worth the time and money" experience. It is one I wil glady repeat!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa_H687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    67
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rovnij
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I were invited by friends to have a dinner in this lovely gem. Thank you so much for the great experience. The food was exceptional, combinations really spot on. Service smooth, attentive, really gave us a relaxing and enjoyable evening! Thank you, will recommend to everyone passing through Salzburg!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Priska T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mozart Concert in Restaurant Esszimmer”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have already reported on the Mozart Concert enjoyed in this restaurant - without having commented on the restaurant itself!! Absolutely excellent - couldn't fault anything - the food, the service, the superb surroundings, all A1.

The restaurant itself is stupendous!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Salzburg's Finest - Amazing food and Excellent Service”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place was certainly a wow. Reading the reviews, I was skeptical it could be so good, and it truly was. My wife had the Esszimmer full menu and I had the Fish full menu. The experience actually started before the menu's even came with them offering all sorts of unique starter drinks, which even got my wife to drink who usually never does. She had a wine/lemonade with rose petals and I had a Reisling. Her drink was very good and my wine was perfect, not too sweet and not dry, fruity and refreshing. The 6 course meal began with a starter before compliments of the Chef who greeted us as we entered. There was so much detail and beauty in each course, it can't be described in this review as it would be too long. All I can say, each dish was perfect balance of flavor and size. Usually these fancy places don't give you much, you actually could be hungry at the end. Not here, while it was not too much, it was again, perfect. We both left full and totally satisfied. I have to admit my wife's was a bit better with flavor as her scallops in oxtail puree was the best scallops I ever tasted. All of my dishes were excellent too and at the end to have dark chocolate with goat cheese and pumpkin sounded weird, it too was a perfect balance of flavor. To sum it up, this is no doubt the best in Salzburg and probably the best in Austria. Make a reservation and go hungry as you too will think this place is amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great meal and great service”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Truly enjoyable dinner. The food was great, the presentation of the food was really good and we had excellent service. Well done! If you are in Salzburg and would like a special dinner, this is really the place to go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Swatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Esszimmer also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Restaurant Esszimmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing