We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb! much better than some 2 or 3 stars”

Restaurant Esszimmer
Ranked #1 of 636 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $190
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is called quite simply “esszimmer” (“dining room”). Anything more would be superfluous, says star chef Andreas Kaiblinger. After all, the “real adventure happens in the cooking pot.”
milano
Level Contributor
110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Superb! much better than some 2 or 3 stars”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

With my boyfriend we had dinner in Esszimmer. The dehor was open and the view on the small garden is very nice.
We choose the fish menu with combination of wines...it was great, perfect. Everything was so well done, so many small details, and so delicious. The service is impeccable, discrete. The wine was serve in generuos classes.
Dinner lasted 4 hours, worth going there...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stelladellasenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    67
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Incredible experience!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

What an amazing experience we had at this Resturant! It is actually an event, as we were there for three hours, and enjoyed every minute of it. There were four full menus to chose from, or you can order al cart. We chose the house menu and the fish menu, and did one of the wine menus Excellent choices! We split everything- what a treat! Presentation is outstanding, service is excellent, and the resturant has a great atmosphere. We finished "taking a chance" by selecting one of the sweet desserts and a cheese menu. What a wonderful surprise the cheeses turned out to be! The staff was attentive, and enjoyed being complimented on their food. We highly recommend this place for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank austinteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We, normal people, decide to go to a michelin star restaurant to have a gastronomic experience and wonder how pretentious they might be! Not here! We had such a great great time! 3 hours, 6 course dinner with matching wines , breads and a delicious starter as a compliment from the chef. Everything was amazing. Service was polite and warm! Perfect! One of the best nights we've had in europe. Not cheap but great compared to other michelin star restaurants. Highly highly reccomended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank BRA_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Lovely space, excellent food, warm service”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The three of us were driving through Salzburg and found this restaurant on Tripadvisor. So glad we went in! The place is stylish in a low-key way, including its name (The Dining Room in German). We arrived late and were the only people having lunch. At that time they could serve only the set menu, which was excellent. The olive oil and bread were unforgettable, the fish fresh and flavorful, the wine selection lively and interesting. A highlight of the trip, a very worthwhile place to visit!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best Restaurants in Austria”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had a party of 6 from the USA visit this spectacular restaurant this evening. The setting is comfortably sleek, with a color scheme that envelops the space and is enhanced by carefully arranged eclectic artwork. We were greeted with a casual but personal elegance that exuded sincerity and was maintained throughout the evening. The menu provided options for a la carte or fixed course dining with the ability for wine pairings and interchangeability. The presentation was exciting and the food was exquisite. We have previously dined at the best restaurants in Vienna, and Esszimmer is equal, if not superior.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rad t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Esszimmer also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Restaurant Esszimmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing