We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Salzburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of arte vida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
arte vida
Ranked #8 of 62 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Salzburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 and we could not have asked or wished for a better stay in Salzburg. Firstly, the location of Arte Vida is fantastic, right in the centre of Salzburg, which is in easy walking distance to all of the places you'd want to be.

The actual B&B is fantastic as well, extremely clean. Reinhold is especially nice. We stayed in the Bali room which was great. The common area was also excellent as we could sit and relax and we also cooked dinner there on occasion using the full kitchen as well.

I'd definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for an excellent stay right in the centre of Salzburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    70
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
134
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, VT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Arte Vida is fine if you don't want to spend big bucks in Salzburg and you want a location in a nice area. It's a five minute walk from the hotel to the other side of the river where the main attractions are: the Cathedral, Festung, and shopping district, etc. If you want to have more luxurious surroundings, then try the Bristol or Sacher that are in the same location as this place.

The downside with Arte Vida is the room is very small, pretty funky, and has a miniscule bathroom. So unless you are willing to sacrifice some amenities to save Euros, this is not a good choice. If you are not fussy, the location is perfect and the gent who runs the place is a delight. Very friendly and smart.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The four stars are value for the money. Would give it 3 & 1/2 if it were possible. We like to stay in eclectic, non-chain hotels and this fit the bill nicely. We checked in with a keycode to get the keys, but in the morning met Reinhold who was very friendly and helpful. Everything to see is Salzburg is in walking distance, but this place can be a little hard to find. Not sure of the mass transit in Salzburg as we had a car when we were there. Parking is in a garage several blocks away and is discounted a couple of Euro per day by arrangement with the B&B. We did not eat breakfast here, instead tried the cafes nearby. Driving in Salzburg is not recommended. Note: Wifi was spotty the two days we were there, had to go to the common area to get a connection. Also, they need to get new pillows for the beds, the ones on there look fluffy but are actually all air.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poodlepaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed last summer with our three teenagers - the space in the loft apartment was perfect for our family. Not only lots of room, but a full kitchen as well. The location is fantastic, and the service great. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Salzburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anya1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in the loft apartment, which was HUGE! Plus we got a good workout climbing up and down the three levels everyday! Full kitchen with separate dining area, and two bedrooms + an extra loft sleeping area. The bed was a bit firm, as are most in EU, and the various clock towers nearby meant a 7am wakeup each day (not such a bad thing!)

The location was excellent, only 2mins to the bridge to the old town. There is a parking garage nearby, which offers a discount to guests (half price, i believe). There is a shared kitchen and laundry guests can use (washing machine and dryer), which was convenient.

Overall, a great little guesthouse in a perfect location - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veruca1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

While it took us a bit of effort to locate the guesthouse, it is actually located near Mirabell Gardens, and it is possible to walk from the guesthouse to most of the attractions at Salzburg. The room is spacious and there is also a common kitchen where you can cook if you wish to. The host also provides good recommendations on where to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

First of all, you could not find a better host in Salzburg than Reinhold. He was extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants, sights, and the like. In addition, the location is perfect, especially for train travelers like ourselves. The concept of this place is good, but in my opinion it does not warrant a #1 Bed and Breakfast ranking. For one thing, it does not include breakfast! The decor is creative and colorful, however all could use a sprucing up and cleaning. Our room, the Mumbai, was very noisy, but we don't really mind that. It also had a very steep climb to reach the bed on the loft, and travelers might want to consider that before booking.
Again, we just spent over a month in Europe, and stayed in a number of places with the #1 Bed and Breakfast ranking, and each of the rest of them were worthy of the praise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisbarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to arte vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about arte vida

Property: arte vida
Address: Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
arte vida is Salzburg´s trendy boutique guesthouse, located in the very heart of the city, just a few steps away from Mozarts former residence, set among all the major tourist and cultural sights of the festival city.THE PLACE TO BE in the city center of Salzburg ! - exotic chic yet very affordable !Our beautiful, spacious accommodations, guestrooms, suites and apartments include a bohemian Cafe Bar with secluded garden and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your arte vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing