We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch or dinner”
Review of Weiserhof

Weiserhof
Ranked #74 of 646 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were staying at the Radisson hotel, on the other side of the train station, and discover this place, just a short walk away. We arrived early on a Friday evening, about 5 pm, and the outdoor tables were half empty but most of them had a Reserved sign. By the time we finished the dinner, all tables were reserved; appears to be a popular place with the locals. Between 2 and 6pm they have only an abbreviated menu and felt bad that I missed the Calf's Head, available only after 6pm, that would have been a treat. I was planning to come back, but they are closed on weekends and we left on Monday. Anyway, everything we ordered was very very good, authentic Austrian food, fresh and very reasonable priced. But most memorable was the dessert: at our waitress suggestion we tried Hausgemachter Germknödel mit Butter, Mohn oder Zimtzucker; (don't worry they have English menus also) This was one of the best thing I ate in this trip. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellijay, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Cool Local Place”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Thank goodness for an 'English Menu'... The staff spoke enough English to get by... so it was all good...
Full of locals... doing what the Austrians do - enjoy beer, food, and conversation...
I had the black pudding - it was AWESOME....

Definitely worth a stop in.... if just for a beer and take in the locals

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemsonTiger1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“good food...definitely a neighborhood place”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

When we were there we were definitely on the English speakers in the restaurant. Some of the staff spoke English...most did not speak a lot.

Now that being said, I would go back in a second. They have English menus so you can point to what you want.

They are great service, good beer, food is very good and very filling, and you will get a good feel for local folks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Radford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant on the recommendation of the local hotelier as a restaurant one would definitely go back twice.
We odered the Calf's Head, expecting it to come on a platter with the full head, but the Chef came out to our table and reassured us that they slice the meat out first and then deep fried them like in a Szhitznel. We also tried the Butcher's Platter which consisted of an assortment of sausages, all home made at the restaurant.
Overall, the service was good and the atmosphere cosy like in a small family restaurant.
The food was not to my palate, but I guess it was pretty authentic Austrian as the restaurant was popular with the locals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikelima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Austrian food”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friends and I had a warm welcome, we hadn't booked but were kept waiting only a couple of minutes for a table though it can be busy in the evening. The whole place was buzzing, full of local people. The food was excellent, service attentive and friendly even when we accidentally spilled a glass of wine. We visited twice in a week. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norbonjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weiserhof also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Weiserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing