We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for tourist looking for wholesome food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zum fidelen Affen

Zum fidelen Affen
Ranked #19 of 582 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Great for tourist looking for wholesome food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We went to the drunken monkey after asking a local where to go for good native food. We all had colds after our long flight a few days before and so we shared the soup of the day and a few tall beers. Later we had the pork steak the drunken monkey way. All our meals were amazing but this one was soothing and unforgettable in its own unique and delicious way:)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrwarminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    207
    63
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had dinner there on our one night stay in Salzburg. We arrived early at 6pm and good thing we did as we they were all booked out for the night and they were able to accommodated us before the next seating. We ordered the wiener schnitzel, affen steak and apple strudel. The schnitzel was great, but took a bite of my partners affen steak and it was delicious. The service was friendly and the ambience was cozy as was the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Busy, noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had reservations for 7:00 and had only a short wait. There were two of us and half way through our meal, four more people were seated at our table. That was ok, as it was large enough to accomodate six people. The restaurant was very busy, crowded, and extremely loud. My husband enjoyed his Affen steak and my schnitzel was alright. I wouldn't return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TXTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“First visit excellent, second not so...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We tried this restaurant on our first night in Salzburg and, despite being very busy ( a Monday) we were seated at a large shared table, which we gather is the custom in Austria to maximise throughput. The food and service are wonderful and should not be missed. However, on our second visit a rather aloof young lady told us there were no tables available, despite there clearly being several large tables with only two occupants. We tried to book a table for our last night in the city, but could only be accommodated much later in the evening, so went elsewhere. Would have given this an excellent score had it not been for the young lady's attitude, as all the other staff are wonderful, as is the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheValients
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Try the Affen Steak - it's outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We picked this place based on reviews on TA. Although we had reservations, there was a little wait because we visited during the music festival. Once seated, the service was very good and the outdoor area was very pleasant. The food was top notch and the price didn't break the bank. I tried the Affen Steak and it was delight. The tastes just exploded in my mouth. If you are visiting, I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daz1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum fidelen Affen also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Zum fidelen Affen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing