We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to experience Salzburg”
Review of Villa Trapp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Trapp
Ranked #21 of 62 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Villa Trapp was absolutely perfect for our stay in Salzburg. The inn is located on the outskirts of the city so travelers can enjoy peacefully quiet evenings away from the city center. As others have stated, it is no more than a 5 minute walk to the bus stop that takes you to the historic district. If I remember correctly, it seems the bus comes about every 20 minutes and the ride is fairly short - 10 minutes or less. What's more, parking is on-site and free, and there is even ample parking space if you arrive in a van or SUV.

For most travelers, Salzburg is synonymous with two things: Mozart and the Sound of Music. If you are one of the millions of fans of the von Trapp story, the Villa Trapp is your inn of choice. The lobby and rooms contain several photos of the real Trapp family and some original furnishings, all adding to the ambiance of the villa. At least one of several Sound of Music tours picks up from this location.

Breakfast is family style in the dining room and is included for an additional fee. It consists of typical German/Austrian fare to include coffee, tea, juice, an assortment of breads and spreads, cold cuts and cheese, boiled eggs, yoghurt and cereal. Breakfast items are restocked constantly. I believe breakfast is available from 8-10, but may have ended later..

Free wifi is available in the downstairs living room. This common area is very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The back double doors of the room open out to the terrace which provides breathtaking mountain views and outdoor seating. The grounds are rather large and provide plenty of space while maintaining a certain element of privacy.

Our family of four stayed in the Wingside Suite which is situated on the third and uppermost floor of the inn. Guests can access this room via the spiral stair corridor or the large lift. Our suite included two very large bedrooms, each with its own bathroom, and a sitting room. Each room had a small television, desk and chair, bedside tables and closets. Each bathroom had a shower stall, sink and toilet. Our sitting room was furnished with a couch, decoratve chair, small desk or table with chair, coffee table, stocked bookcase and a small refrigerator. All three rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean.

The innkeeper, Christopher, was very friendly and helpful.

We will be staying at the Villa Trapp when we return to Salzburg. It was the perfect spot to enjoy relaxing evenings after our days spent in the bustling city. The only improvements I can think of would be to offer wifi in the guest rooms and to finish updating all of the television sets. Neither of these were matters of concern for our family as we like to escape the everyday conveniences when traveling. However, if you're a techie geek who likes to sit around the room all day utilizing dozens of modern electronic devices rather than out enjoying Salzburg, this might not be the place for you. Also, if you're antisocial and unable to engage in even the simplest small talk or conversations with strangers, the family style breakfast will probably not be to your liking. Everything about Villa Trapp was to our liking and more, and we plan on returning soon.

Room Tip: The Wingside Suite perfectly accomodated our family of four. It is located on the third and uppermos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 353 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at Villa Trapp for one night at the end of September 2012. Due to mixed reviews we were not sure what to expect but thought we would give it a try!
We were very happy with what we found.
The house is lovely and the lounge room really nice.
We stayed in Martina's room. The room was very clean and well set up. A cot was provided with bedding for our one year old. Our own bed was very comfortable. The ensuite was small but adequate and very clean, with a stand up shower with good pressure and plenty of hot water.
We realised the location was out of downtown Salzburg but this was fine for us as we had a car and there was plenty of room for parking. It was also nice to be in a quiet, residential area.
I dealt with Villa Trapp directly through email and had quick responses from Marianne. She was very helpful. I also got a slightly cheaper price than what was quoted in other booking sites.
We opted for the breakfast in the morning and it was perfect for us, a continental breakfast. There was a high chair for our son.
We would recommend this hotel and would return.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank ClareSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lowsy service, poor facility. We had to ask multiple times for towels, soap, and other normal items. Away from anything, this place is the original Trapp Villa, but it lacks in charm and normal amenities. Breakfast was horrible and expensive. Stay in downtown Salzburg instead.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Khatodn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The ambiente, the service, the cleaness, the location and last but not least the kindness of Marianne Dorfer and the helpfulness of Christopher Unterkofler is so irresistable that we are planning to return (provided our age and health permits). It is an excellent place for those who do not want to stay in a noisy downtown hotel.From Villa Trapp the downtown is only 15 minutes by bus. Easy access to the bus and no parking problems (and cost).
Breakfast is plentiful and excellent and on top could be consumed at one large table with the other guests.It is hard to leave the table because of the interesting chats, exchange of information, lots of stories exchanged with the other guests and with Marianne and Christopher.
We have no experience how the other guest rooms are looking like, but the Baron's Suite what Marianne kindly provided for us instead of Maria's Room (#3) is excellent (for a little plus). Maria's Room is dark and not very cozy. All in all: very good place and could recommanded for those who like to contact people and exchange views and for those who like the "klein und fein" hotels. FH

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Your reason for staying here is the connection with Von Trapp. The hotel is very much like a house and the rooms are therefore quirky, as you are effectively staying in what was once a house. The Hungarian lady who welcomed us on arrival was very helpful, and the owner was warm and friendly when we checked out. I enjoyed our room, it was comfortable and cool, despite the heat outside. The en suite was good. I enjoyed the breakfast setting, where all the guests sit at one table. When you spend all your time as a family group on holiday sometimes it is nice to chat with strangers in an informal setting.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Allthatfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My partner and I arrived at Villa Trapp around 1.30pm following a drive from Munich and a long flight from Australia. We found that check in time was not until 3pm so we went for a walk around the village of Aigen. We found a beautiful church from the 1600's and Villa Aigen. The surrounding meadows and mountains made it a very picturesque area. We headed back to Villa Trapp for check in. We were greeted by a nice Hungarian woman with limited english, but we were able to communicate. We were shown around the ground floor of the house where there was a large communal sitting room and breakfast room. Then were were taken up the lift to our room. We were surprised to find that we had been upgraded to the "Maria Suite". The room was amazing. There is a small entrance hall with wardrobes then a door to the right took us into the huge sitting room with two large sofas, coffee table and television. The views out of the two large windows on one side were of the large grounds of the estate and the Untersberg mountain in the distance. Then into the bedroom where there was a large king bed, chaise lounge and side boards. Then finally there was the bathroom off the bedroom. Pictures of the Trapp family and the house were tastefully placed around the rooms. We found the room wonderful.
In the morning we went down to the Breakfast room with its large decorated table. The breakfast was wonderful. Traditional Austrian meats, breads for toast, jams and spreads. There was also cereal with skim or whole milk, juices and a tea/coffee machine. There was even hard boiled eggs in a warmer near the meats. All more than enough to start your day. The chef stood by attentively ready to replenish anything that was running low or to help you work the coffee machine. Being seated at a large table with other guests in the house (depending on what time you came to breakfast) meant there was always someone there to have a conversation with if you chose to. All this while the soft tunes of Mozart or music from The Sound of Music was played.
When we went into Salzburg city centre, the managers ordered a taxi for us and it was a pleasant 10 min trip for around 10 Euros.
All in all we had a wonderful experience at Villa Trapp and would happily recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in Salzburg. I hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShanePPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My brother and I went ahead and booked Maria's Suite this past July even though the reviews for Villa Trapp were mixed. The setting was indeed gorgeous in this historic property, but the low-end college-dorm furnishings were disappointing, as was the surprise 50 euro charge upon check-out. Yes, that's because even though booking.com stated that our 250 euro charge was "per room" and the Villa Trapp website stated that there was a sofa-bed in the living room, it turns out that, unadvertised, the proprietors consider that sofa-bed that's already in the suite an "extra" bed and will charge you 50 euros for it! Oh, and not tell you about that until you have a cab waiting for you outside and you're trying to check out and get to your tour in town on time! The in-room amenities are few and spartan. Never have I paid so much for so little!

Our experience at Villa Trapp was hugely disappointing. Do yourself a favor and just go on the Fraulein Maria bicycle tour while staying at Arte Vida, at least until Villa Trapp improves their amenities and is up-front about their fees.

Room Tip: Watch out for extra fees to use a bed already in a room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ALFCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acul2001, Manager at Villa Trapp, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Alessandria
I am sorry that the Villa Trapp, after considering for a while did not meet your expectations. If you take a close look at your booking confirmation you will see that you booked Maria's Suite for one person only. Which of course is cheaper than a booking for two persons.
You arrived with your brother, so in total you were two persons. The terms and conditions in your booking confirmation tell in advance that the cost for every additional person above the age of 4 is 50,- Euro. So if this misunderstanding gives a bad touch to your stay I am again very sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
2.3 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
1.9 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#36 of 132 in Salzburg
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
625 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Trapp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Trapp

Address: Traunstrasse 34 | Aigen, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range: $108 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Trapp 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Trapp was the residence of the world-famous Von Trapp family, whose life in Salzburg entered history as "The Sound of Music", the most popular musical of all times. The villa is maintained in the style of this period, including 2 luxurious, 60 m² suites. They are exclusively furnished. In the past the Villa Trapp was not accessible to the public. Now you can sleep in the family's rooms and walk on their paths through the villa and the park. This stately building enjoys a quiet location close to the centre of Salzburg, surrounded by the city's largest private park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Trapp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Trapp Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing