We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday in Salzburg”
Review of Hotel Gablerbrau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gablerbrau
Ranked #97 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The hotel was in a great position right on the tram network, so it was very easy to catch a tram to the city as they run every 5 minutes. The hotel was very clean, the staff were very helpful and polite with nothing too much trouble. The breakfast was of a very high standard with lots of choices. Free internet was provided which was a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gold2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2009

The good points- Fantastic location, friendly staff, decent breakfast, clean.

The bad points- small rooms, no a/c, no fridge in room, no parking.

Overall fairly basic and expensive for what you get.

Would not rush back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bambergfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed here for one night. The staff was very helpful. The location is wonderful since it is within walking distance to the old city. The rooms were very clean. We ate in their restaurant and I were disappointed in the quality of the food. We were able to sleep in a family room for four people. The two single beds were small and rather uncomfortable but it was ok for one night. There is no parking available at the hotel and so they had us park in a public parking garage two blocks away for 15 euros. They gave us a 2 euro discount.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnesotans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

The hotel is in great location. It is close to the Alstadt, old town. Maybe a 5 minute walk. You have the convenience of the proximity to most of the main attractions and the cab can let you off at the front door unlike staying in the pedestrian area. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was the nicest on our trip through Europe. The breakfast was very good and overwhelming. The breakfast staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damtam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

My family and I spent 5 days in Salzburg at the beginning of February 09.
The Hotel is very conviniently located in the center of Salzburg. However the town is quite small and you can get around by foot from most of hotels.
The suite we had comprised 2 rooms but bed mattres in the second were unsuitable for adults, double windows did not close, no mini bar.
The worse aspect has been the very bad service we receive due to unpolite and uncaring staff

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Claud68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

This hotel is very conveniently located for the old and new parts of town - the best sights are all within walking distance. The meal we had on arrival was excellent, if a little pricey and the restaurant was busy with non-residents which I guess was a good sign. The room was large and had a sofa bed, which meant there was somewhere to sit with the family to play cards in the evening. The staff were helpful and easy to deal with and the service was very good.

We found the easiest way to get from the airport was to get a number 2 bus to the main rail station then walk from there to the hotel, athough this was a 20 minute walk, so a taxi would be in order if you have heavy bags. Buses don't stop particularly close to the hotel.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank techman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2008

I stayed here this last week (of November).

The rating is four star but I think it's fair to say it's closer to three star due to the lack of a few amenities e.g. laundry service, porter etc. but that's not to say it wasn't a good hotel.

The hotel staff were friendly, polite, fast and efficient.

The rooms were cleaned quickly and to a high standard, the service desk staff were very helpful, the breakfast staff were just the same.

The hotel and rooms were clean, in order and big enough.

Some reviews have criticised the noise but I have to say it wasn't noisy at all. At times, as anywhere in a big town, of course there was noise but from happy patrons in cafes and bars but this was a rare issue but not a problem. I asked for a top floor and got it - nice views and was great to hear the bells tolling across the old town.

The breakfast was adequate and in a continuous supply and more than enough to start a day rambling around Salzburg.

Was also a great location - literally less than a minute away from bars, restaurants, Mirabelle Gardens, Marktplatz, Mozart's family home, the old town and so-on.

Would recommend this place, absolutely.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LongingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,070 reviews
0 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#16 of 132 in Salzburg
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.4 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
2.9 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gablerbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gablerbrau

Address: Linzer Gasse 9 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $123 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gablerbrau 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Hotel, in a renovated older house dating from 1408, in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gablerbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gablerbraeu Centralhotel Salzburg
Gablerbraeu Centralhotel Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing