We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gablerbrau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gablerbrau
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked this via hotels.com for a family of three which turned out on the booking confirmation to be a large apartment for £110 per night. One large bedroom with 2 double beds, mini kitchen, bathroom, separate toilet, lounge, free wi-fi. Location is excellent within the cobbled, traffic free area around Linzergrasse which has supermarkets, cafes, shops. There is an Italian restaraunt called L'Osteria on the ground floor of the hotel which is very popular although my experience there was not great. It is a 3 minute stroll over to the Old Town. Breakfast we took around the corner at the Classic Cafe in Mozartplatz which was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
30
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hotel is not that far from the main train station. Its easy to reach it with any bus what are leaving from Südtiroler Platz (In front of the main train station) or you can walk what will be like 20 minutes. In good weather its not a big distance.

The old town and the inner city is like steps away. The Hotel was renovated months ago so you almost get a smell of "new" when you enter your room.
My room had a huge and very comfy bed with modern interior. There is a small fridge with a welcome water (sparkling) for your refreshnes!
The bathroom was pico bello clean! Great shower and nice modern design!

There is a great Restaurant under the Hotel. If you love Pizza&Pasta then L'Osteria will be your favourite place to eat during your stay in Salzburg!

I would come here again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venom_six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in May.

First the positive:

On first impression, the rooms have a crisp Ikea design look to them. Everything is very clean.

Location is very good. About a five minute walk to the tourist area across the river.

Now the not so positive:

The rooms are lacking in some basic comforts and amenities. There are only large shower towels. No face or hand towels are provided. Only two "pancake" flat pillows are provided. There is only one luggage stand, and no table space.

We received a non-smoking room, but cigarette smoke still filtered in through the bathroom vents.

No breakfast included in the nightly rate (which we were aware of when we booked).

Hotel website indicated that parking was available for 15 € per night. VERY misleading. There is no on site parking, and there is not a public road to the hotel. On arrival, my spouse had to wait in the car while I tried to find the hotel on foot, which took about 20 minutes. The location is confusing the first go- around. We then got a temporary pass to drive through the gates to drop off our luggage, and were instructed to park in a public parking lot about 5 minutes away. Not a huge deal, but misleading.

To conclude, I would hesitate before staying here again. I would have expected more for the cost.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great location for those whose a first timer to Salzburg!! It is walking distance to Mozarthous @ birth home & the old town. Very friendly & helpful service from Florian, Front Desk. Rooms are spacious & roomy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank annabel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and could not have been happier. The rooms were very large, clean and offered everything an American traveler would hope for.
Everything was brand new, the staff was very helpful and the location was great, too.
It is located right downtown and all of the old town is within minutes. Dozens of restaurants and shopping was right outside the hotel.
Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jags7803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Just stay two nights at Hotel Gablerbrau in Salzburg. We are a couple from Canada and it is our first time in Salzburg. The hotel is in an excellent location as one can walk to all the interesting sites. As well one can catch a tram easily to the train station three stops away. It is not difficult to get around in Salzburg as the tram system is good. The hotel is still under renovation. There is a lot of noise during the day but after the renovation is completed it should be much better. The facility is new as our room is only renovated and open 2 weeks ago. The front desk staff can be a little more friendly in our opinion. The hotel has adequate bedding and bathroom facility. Salzburg is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Gablerbrau for three nights as part of an Inghams multi centre holiday.

The hotel is ideally located in a queit street just across the river from the altstadt - a few minutes walk to all the attractions in the old part of the city.

This is an old historic hotel with lots of period charm, including creaking floorboards. Our bedroom on the second floor was smallish but with a comfortable bed, small table and tv. The bathroom was spacious (inc full size bath with shower over) and there was ample storage via a large wardrobe in the lobby area. The room was secondary double glazed but there was no air conditioning - not a problem when we stayed but may have been a problem in the July pan European heatwave. Although our room overlooked other street restaurants this did not generate any problems. We did however experience the early morning street cleaning/ rubbish removal disturbance reported by some other Tripadvisor members.

A good buffet breakfast was provided which set us up for the day. We were on a half board package and the evening dinner in the charming traditional Richard Mayer Stube was varied, good quality and with huge portions.

We spent three enjoyable and exhausting days exploring Salzburg and its environs, visiting all the usual sights. We bought a 48hr Salzburg card offering free admissions and free local transport. This was good value if you planned your days to take advantage of the offers - a trip up the Untersberg mointain by cable car recovers almost two thirds of the card cost but you need a good visibility day for this.

We have been to Salzburg several times on day excursions and it remains for us a stunning compact city. Its only downside are the inevitable huge crowds of tourists from 10.00am-4.00pm. Nevertheless there are one or two places you can get away from the hordes , eg the easily accessible Kapuzinberg hill on the new town side of the river and the high level walk from the Augustiner Brau towards the Hohe Festung.

Outside of the annual August Music Festival (very expensive) Salzburg musically tends to be mostly Mozart for tourists and Sound Of Music related stuff. (Vienna has much more to offer in this respect.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaretandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Schwarzes Rossl
Schwarzes Rossl
#83 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#56 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#11 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#36 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stein
Hotel Stein
#68 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Institut St Sebastian
Institut St Sebastian
#81 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gablerbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gablerbrau

Property: Hotel Gablerbrau
Address: Linzer Gasse 9 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gablerbrau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Hotel, in a renovated older house dating from 1408, in city center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gablerbraeu Centralhotel Salzburg
Gablerbraeu Centralhotel Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing