We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable base to explore Salzburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Ranked #40 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable base to explore Salzburg”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This is a modern hotel just a short walk from the old town and a comfortable base to explore Salzburg without the price tag of being in the centre of the city. We spent two nights at this hotel and had a good sized corner room with a view of the mountains, although not all rooms would have this. Despite temperatures of minus 8 C outside, it was warm enough inside for just light clothing. The service was efficient rather than friendly. There was a good selection for breakfast and we enjoyed some local specialties in the restaurant in the evening. The hotel had been recently refurbished but room amenities were a bit more basic than other Holiday Inns we have stayed in. We were disappointed there was limited choice of English language channels on the TV and no pay per view movies. There was also no fridge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KookaburraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    279
    161
    40
    24
See reviews for
133
294
40
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, BC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The rooms are great, the service was excellent, and there's absolutely nothing to complain about in the hotel itself. The only small problem I had is that the hotel is a fair distance from the Old Town (about 20 minute walk) and there's not much going on in the hotel area. For the price I paid, I think I would try to find something a little closer to the Old Town next time. If you have no problem with some long walks, this place is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigTim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarzana, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

A typical Holiday Inn Hotel, Modern style, good services and spacious rooms, excellent bed.
Breakfast is one of the best I have ever tried! Ten minutes walk from the city center.
Wi-fi is not available in the rooms.
I suggest it for a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamboetitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We booked two rooms for a family of four (two young children) for one night. The location was quiet and close to major attractions in the city. Hotel is very clean with very courteous staff. Rooms are elegantly designed with all amenities such as mini bar, electronic safe, closets, toiletries. Nice view from the rooms. Restaurant is good and very good spread for breakfast. Overall we had a very pleasant and comfortable stay there. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradeep-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We were impressed with the hospitality of the front desk staff. They were very helpful and friendly. We were able to walk easily to the old town part of Salzburg even though it was bitter cold. The rooms were good size and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparpook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I wouldn't rate this a 4 star by any means. No coffee or tea in rooms- room service rates expensive! Booked as a "city centre" hotel, although a 15-20 minute walk in so quite misleading.
When we first were checked in, we had to push past suitcases blocking the entrance belonging to a tour bus. Fortunately, a staff member stopped helping their colleague to get our details, so no waiting. Entering our room on the first floor there was a terrible sewage smell, staff promptly changed our room to the 4th floor- with a better view.
Other small problems- room card reader didn't work in room, so lights had to be turned off manually leaving the room. Also light didn't work outside the bathroom which made the room very dark. Hotel advertises wireless internet (surcharge), but only available in lobby. Hotel guide in room states that different pillows are available at reception by request. Not the case, as I wanted a feather pillow.
The plus- a good buffet breakfast. Staff relatively friendly and helpful.
I would recommend with reservation. Definitely wouldn't pay the full rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrn1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

I would recommend this hotel to someone who understood its limitations. It was clean and comfortable, seemed to be relatively new, and came in at a good price for Salzburg. The price reflects the fact that it is not in the part of Salzburg a tourist wants to see, and the rooms are a bit cramped for two people. I think it's really more of a business hotel. The decor was attractive. There was no clock in the room. The breakfast and desk staff were fine. We were not near the noisy communal area that another reviewer mentioned. The one quirk from our perspective was that we had reserved a "family room" (2 parents, 2 kids). When we got there, it wasn't a four-bedded room, or even two rooms connected by a door. Instead, at the end of a hall, there was a hallway door that you needed to use our key card to open, and then two non-adjoining bedrooms next to each other. The key card opened all. This part of hallway had a large window onto the parking lot with no window covering. So, if you had kids in one room and parents in the other, you couldn't hear each other, and you couldn't tend to a child without passing this very public window in your pajamas to get to the other room. In terms of keeping an eye on kids (for their safety, or to prevent them from leaving the room without permission) it was really no different than having two regular, non-adjoining rooms next to each other. The desk staff said it was about a 20 minute walk to the tourist attractions (Mozart's Residence, the Altstadt, the Dom, etc.) We were there in the rain, so we took cabs into town, which cost about 10 Euro each time. Some of what you save on the room rate, you give back to the cabbies, when this happens.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#36 of 132 in Salzburg
864 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,062 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.6 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salzburg City

Property: Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Address: Sterneckstrasse 21 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay central at the modern Holiday Inn Salzburg City hotel, a short walk from the sights of Salzburg's historic Old Town. Our contemporary hotel is a gleaming glass-fronted building just 5km from Salzburg International Airport. Enjoy far-reaching mountain views and an Alpine feel in your stylish Guest room. Stroll down bustling Linzergasse Lane and over the Salzach River to see Mozart's birthplace on Getreidegasse shopping street, 2km from Holiday Inn Salzburg City. Ride the funicular railway to majestic Hohensalzburg Castle and gaze out over the city from its grand turrets. The headquarters of Porsche Salzburg and Ernst & Young are a short drive from our hotel. Features: See Salzburg on a sightseeing city tour for example by bus with a hopp on and hopp off ticket. The restaurant staff is looking forward serving you delicious international cuisine in our restaurant "In(n)ovation" with indirect lightning and front cooking station as highlights. Our hotel lounge and 24-hours bar offers from lunch to espresso-break everything that you need to relax. Privat parking-garage available (at a charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing