We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days in Salzburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Ranked #44 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2 days in Salzburg”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed 2 nights on our way to Saalbach-Hinterglemm.

Room is very well setup, and although there is no free wifi, the paid high speed internet is really fast.

When we decided to order food from the restaurant, it was closed for maintenance so we had to survive with snacks. Also the fan in the bathroom brings cigarette smells, and your clothes and towels are always smelling bad, this is definitely annoying.

The location is not bad, you can walk to the main places. Just 10-15 minutes walking.

Taxi to airport is around 15 to 20 euros, depending on traffic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiopimenta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear User fabiopimenta82,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.com.
We are happy to read that you was generally satisfied with your room, the highspeed internet and the location of the Hotel.

Please take my sincere apologize for the bad smell in your room.

We hope that you had a great time in Salzburg and Saalbach-Hinterglemm.

With warm regards to the beautiful UK


C. Richter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    269
    159
    39
    24
See reviews for
126
285
40
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

No 2 bus from Airport, get off at VogelViderStrasse for Holiday Inn. Surroundings not the most picturesque.

15 min walk to centre of Salzberg

Receptionist gave us map pointing this out when we checked in which was welcome

Next to main road but room had good sound insulation

Room good, bathroom clean with bath. Very big comfy bed. Modern furnishings not looking tired

Highspeed wifi 2.50 Euros for 1 hour which is ok but the timer runs continuously so once you start the hour you've got to use it, would be better if it just recorded the minutes you actually used. No free wifi in communal areas.

No milk with tea/coffee making facilities, charged 1.50 for a small cup of milk which I thought was a bit tight since we only needed a dash of milk

Breakfast good

Staff friendly and helpful

Room too hot for our liking. We had the window open for the duration of our stay as the air con seemed weak. This meant we experienced significant road noise but was worth it not to have a room that was too hot

Don't forget on Check Out you'll be charged the City Tax which is around 1 Euro per person per night

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actionslaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear guest actionslaxx,

We appreciate the time taken to post feedback.

We'll make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best regards from Salzburg
Mariana
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel is not close to the city center and it is very average. It is like all Holiday Inns with the basic necessities met. However, the two girls at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. This is the second time that I have been to Salzburg and it was only for one night, but I would not stay here for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornerdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear corner davis,

We appreciate the time taken to post feedback about your stay in our Hotel.

We'll make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City.

We wish you all the best

Best regards from Salzburg
Mariana
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is roughly 15-30 walk from the city centre depending on your walking speed, it's a bit far and inconvenient. That being said, it's situated next to a massive mountain and the view was spectacular every day. We were there during winter and it was just breathtaking.

Staff are a mixed bag, we got some good ones and some rotten ones. Breakfast staff are friendly. Reception however, some were good, but girl with the blonde hair - you have a serious attitude problem. There were some other less friendly ones too.

Room was good, facilities all present and perfect.

Breakfast was great so thank you for that! Keep it up. The variety is to be commended.

One HUGE con though.- the lack of wifi. You had to pay or its no wifi. That was a serious dent in our experience at the hotel. We had difficulty finding information etc because of this. There is however a free computer on the ground floor. Beware though the keyboard is german!

Overall good, but please, free wifi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank raphmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, Reservation at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear raphmike,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience here at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City.

It's really good to hear that you were overall satisfied and that you enjoyed the amazing view from the hotel.

We strive to provide our guests with an efficient and excellent service; we would therefore follow up on your feedback with the appropriate department.

We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a happy new year.

Best regards

Lisa
Reservation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here recently for 3 nights. The hotel is very comfortable and well located to visit the Xmas markets. It is a 15 - 20 min walk to the Old Town but the sights en route make it an enjoyable stroll.
Breakfast is more than adequate and efficiently run. We had 2 single rooms and they were fine. There are tea and coffee making facilities and very comfortable beds.The only minor complaint was the lack of hot water for a couple of hours on our first night. We were told this was because a large coach party had returned from the markets and had used all the hot water!!¬ Maybe a bigger boiler would be a good investment.
Would we stay again? Yes no problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TubaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, Reservation at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear TubaJohn

I am truly delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Team does really enjoy delivering inspirational service to give you a truly memorable stay. I will pass on your comments to the team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City.

Best regards

Lisa
Reservation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We came to Salzburg for its famous Christmas markets and to see the Fortress (Festung Hohensalzburg). We stayed at Holiday Inn for 3 days. It is a modern, functional and comfortable hotel. The room and bathroom were spacious enough and comfortable, and the doublebed was really good! The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The restaurant was spacious, and dinner and drinks were reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet offered more than the usual. Its supposed to be an 18 minutes walk to the historic oldtown, but its just a short taxi ride also to the train station, and also just one bus ride. Salzburg was lively with all the visitors coming on this weekend. We have been to Salzburg many times over the years, but we will go back to Holiday Inn.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Herr Luis M. ,


herzlichen Dank für Ihren Besuch im Holiday Inn Salzburg City und Ihre Bewertung auf Tripadvisor. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns sehr wohlgefühlt haben und danken Ihnen für Ihre ausführlichen Kommentare. Ihr Lob ist für uns Anerkennung und Motivation zugleich.

Wir sind gern Ihr Gastgeber in Salzburg und freuen uns auf Ihre nächsten Besuche.

Das gesamte Team wünscht Ihnen eine besinnliche Weihnachtszeit und einen guten Rutsch ins neue Jahr.

Winterliche Grüße aus Salzburg
Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went there for a short stay of 3 nights. The room is clean yet basic. There view out of the window is dull. It's fine for the 1st night, but we just can't bear to stay there any longer at the 2nd and 3rd ones.

It's relatively cheap due to the location, but if you are driving like we do. It's quite convenient to pop in your car to get to all the attractions in the city.

In summary:

Pros:
Clean;
Free parking;
Helpful staff;

Cons:
Lack of characters;
Location isn't very convenient;
Basic breakfast

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guanyun Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guanyun Z,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel being clean and helpful staff. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#28 of 132 in Salzburg
1,024 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#33 of 132 in Salzburg
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salzburg City

Property: Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Address: Sterneckstrasse 21 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay central at the modern Holiday Inn Salzburg City hotel, a short walk from the sights of Salzburg's historic Old Town. Our contemporary hotel is a gleaming glass-fronted building just 5km from Salzburg International Airport. Enjoy far-reaching mountain views and an Alpine feel in your stylish Guest room. Stroll down bustling Linzergasse Lane and over the Salzach River to see Mozart's birthplace on Getreidegasse shopping street, 2km from Holiday Inn Salzburg City. Ride the funicular railway to majestic Hohensalzburg Castle and gaze out over the city from its grand turrets. The headquarters of Porsche Salzburg and Ernst & Young are a short drive from our hotel. Features: See Salzburg on a sightseeing city tour for example by bus with a hopp on and hopp off ticket. The restaurant staff is looking forward serving you delicious international cuisine in our restaurant "In(n)ovation" with indirect lightning and front cooking station as highlights. Our hotel lounge and 24-hours bar offers from lunch to espresso-break everything that you need to relax. Privat parking-garage available (at a charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing