We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Ranked #42 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Carp, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good experience here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed two nights here in September, 2013. Clean room, excellent staff, excellent food. Easiest and most direct access is off the autoroute from exit 288 in the north. Indoor parking for a charge. Appears to be a long distance from old section of Salzburg but we had a pleasant walk to Mirabelplatz in 20 minutes. A number 2 bus just outside the hotel will also take you to the city centre. For drivers, a good gas station is just up the street about 200 metres.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBT133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest MBT133,

Many thanks for leaving such positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the rest of the team of the Holiday Inn Salzburg City and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Mariana
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    260
    156
    38
    22
See reviews for
123
274
38
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

No frills hotel. Room average size - adequate for a couple. Room clean. Liquid soap dispenser - have to squeeze hard to get the liquid out. Toilet clean. Bed very comfortable - given 2 pillows without asking for it. Have to pay for wifi. The breakfast was,to my surprise,good. There was a good variety of hot & cold meats,cereals,cheese,fruits. The pork ribs were tender & well seasoned - not available even at 5star establishments. There was cappuccino available from a vending machine also. Good hotel to use as a base to sight see Salzburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yew Kay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Yew Kay Y,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

OK, it is better than many Holiday Inns in the US, but when you are in beautiful Salzburg, you can do better. We made the mistake of thinking we would welcome some US style comfort. Nope. Get a real Salzburg hotel near downtown! If you are there on business, and then only briefly, maybe then it's OK. But just OK. We had trouble with the automatic window shades, the automatic a/c, the automatic lights, the automatic door, the internet. Frustrating. Breakfast was good....but not included and very expensive. Also, lots of tours were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Jackmac31406,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel on a tour. Not to the level of the other hotels on the tour. Rooms were poorly lit and seemed dated. Carpet was clean but stained. Beds were good. We were in a room on the front of the hotel and was glad there were automated shades for the windows. Air conditioner had trouble keeping up. Did not appear there are a lot of choices in Salzburg so would not hesitate to stay at the hotel but it was not the best. No free internet, no English speaking channels on the TV, lobby is small. Breakfast was good but limited. The dinner that we had at the hotel was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear User mommoday,

Thank you for taking time to reflect your stay at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City.
I am happy to see that you have given us 4 points for the service and the sleep quality. Thank you!

Please accept my sincere apologies for your negative impression of rooms, breakfast, carpets, TV and AC. Kindly be assured that your comments will be most assuredly be shared with the team so that we can continue to improve the service we provide.

I would be grateful if you could contact me on <info@hi-salzburg.at> to further discuss your experience. We look forward to hearing back from you and hopefully welcoming you back in future.

Best Regards,

C. Richter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel was clean but needed a little updating. The room was a good size and we were located on the front of the building facing the street so it was nice that a screen came down to cover the windows. The breakfast buffet was very nice, lots of choices. Good hotel to stop for a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, Reservation at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sunshine028,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback and were so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Lisa
Reservation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Got upgraded to room with a balcony. Very nice room.
Location = OK.
Service = Outstanding.
Much better hotel than the nearby Crowne Plaza. If you are a member of IHG, choose this hotel over the Crowne Plaza. About the same walking distance from Old Town, but much better rooms and more updated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddyLindner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, Reservation at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear TeddyLindner,

Many thanks for leaving such positive feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read how much your enjoyed the whole experience.

It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the rest of the team of the Holiday Inn Salzburg City and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Lisa
Reservation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proserpine, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and booked two rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful, however there is not enough working in the evening. We requested 2 x single beds in each room, however on arrival both rooms had the beds joined made into one queen size in each room. Staff were happy to fix, however the only person that could do it was also working the restaurant and the bar so she was very busy and there was a slight delay in this happening.

The restaurant had a small range of menu options but what was available was of a very good quality and reasonably priced. Breakfast was excellent and room service is available.

One negative relates to the upkeep of some amenities. On our floor there was a very large outdoor court yard area, however access to this area was blocked off and as such the no cleaning is done, with the pavers turning black from mould and weeds growing in between them. It is shame as this area could be well used by guests during there stay.

The rooms were and adequate size and quiet. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the Old Town area but it is a level and safe walk along the footpaths.

The underground car park entry and exit is tight if you have a larger vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blaintm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear TraciBProserpine,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am most pleased to know that our staff delivered at par customer service on this visit and the breakfast served met your expectations. I apologize if the amenities were somewhat a dissatisfaction. Please be assured this shall be addressed with our team accordingly to consider for enhancements.

I hope the next time you are in the area you give us another chance to host you anew.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#34 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salzburg City

Property: Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Address: Sterneckstrasse 21 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay central at the modern Holiday Inn Salzburg City hotel, a short walk from the sights of Salzburg's historic Old Town. Our contemporary hotel is a gleaming glass-fronted building just 5km from Salzburg International Airport. Enjoy far-reaching mountain views and an Alpine feel in your stylish Guest room. Stroll down bustling Linzergasse Lane and over the Salzach River to see Mozart's birthplace on Getreidegasse shopping street, 2km from Holiday Inn Salzburg City. Ride the funicular railway to majestic Hohensalzburg Castle and gaze out over the city from its grand turrets. The headquarters of Porsche Salzburg and Ernst & Young are a short drive from our hotel. Features: See Salzburg on a sightseeing city tour for example by bus with a hopp on and hopp off ticket. The restaurant staff is looking forward serving you delicious international cuisine in our restaurant "In(n)ovation" with indirect lightning and front cooking station as highlights. Our hotel lounge and 24-hours bar offers from lunch to espresso-break everything that you need to relax. Privat parking-garage available (at a charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing