We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, reliable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Ranked #44 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Piedmont, South Dakota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location, reliable hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

There is nothing special about this hotel. Its rooms are small and basic - but very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

It is an easy 15 minute walk to the historical downtown of Salzburg.

We did not eat at the hotel as the prices seemed a bit steep for the quality of the menu.

The front desk was friendly and efficient.

This hotel represented a very good cost value but was nothing really special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear David S.,

I was delighted to read your comments regarding the hotel and the staff. We always pride ourselves to provide high level of customer service and I am pleased to see that we have made your experience a memorable one.

Please do let me know when you are planning your next visit to Salzburg. I would be delighted to personally assist in making your stay with us as memorable as it can be.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    264
    156
    38
    23
See reviews for
124
279
38
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zlin, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A great value for the money. 60 Euros got us a nice, clean and comfortable room, with wifi and tea, just a fun 20 minute walk from the old town. You can also take the number 4 bus, which stops just a block away. Breakfast was 15 Euros per person, but kids eat free. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Gregory B,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice comments and feedback about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our contented guests. Be assured that your relevant feedback will provide valuable support to all of our staff as we strive continuously to reach excellence.

We thank you for recommending TripAdvisor travellers to come over to the hotel. Our whole team look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes from Salzburg

Corinna Eberstein and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family stayed here for Christmas week 2012 and it was a fantastic stay. Clean rooms, amazing staff. In fact, the staff is what made this stay so great! Resonable price and close to town and trains.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeomnerZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Joseph Z,

Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards your recent stay. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the whole experience.
It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the rest of the team of the Holiday Inn Salzburg City and we hope to welcome you back.

Best wishes from Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here in December for a Christmas Market. I loved the city, it was stunning. Really lovely streets, river. Loved the castel. We got the bus from the airport, it stops outside!! Really easy. The hotel was lovey, really nice rooms. Breakfast was amazing. However, it was a little far out, we got the bus as it was -15! No big deal. Really loved our stay.....would highly recommend...stunning!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is exactly what you expect from Holkiday Inn. The rooms are clean and reasonably comfortable, the service is reasonably friendly and the value is good in relation to location. The location of this hotel is very good for the old town if you don't want to stay right in the old town itself. If you are moderately fit it is a pleasant 20 minute stroll. After 5 or 6 minutes from the hotel you are on a street that is lined with shops and restaurants and that makes the walk even more pleasant. Parking is reasonable at 11 Euros per day but the parking spaces are a bit small if you have a larger car or an SUV. We were on the 5th floor facing the street but there was no noise- the room was very quiet. Only significant drawback was the lack of free WiFi. We got a free hour (to be used at once) but had to pay after that. There is a free computer in the lobby but it can be busy. The other point to check- we were told that we couldn't get our loyalty points because we had booked through Expedia. I hadn't heard this before but will be checking with Holiday Inn to clarify. I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for the right value/location proposition.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed two nights here while on vacation in Salzburg. The staff was very attentive and saw to everything we needed, including a few special requests. Rooms were slightly larger than typical European sizes, so American visitors should feel right at home.

The hotel was just a short walk from the old town; in fact we walked everywhere except to and from the train station (too much luggage).

Given the nice rooms, great staff, attractive price, and good location, a top rating and recommendation from my side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
183 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Being not very far from the railway station, the hotel is a favourite of the eurail travellers. It offers decent rooms with efficient service and common internet facility. The breakfast spread is sumptuous with a touch of German delicacies. The front desk people are well equipped in terms of information and assistance that the tourists generally expect from such a hotel. Salzburg attractions include Mozart connection, Salzburg Fortress, Sound of Music connection and simply walking through the banks of the river. Although the hotel is not located in a forlorn place, there is peace and calm all around. Even spending a few hours in front of the hotel is enjoyable for a tourist.

Room Tip: Rooms on the roadside give a good view of the street and hills closeby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsisBandyopadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#25 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.4 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#34 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
1.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salzburg City

Property: Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Address: Sterneckstrasse 21 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay central at the modern Holiday Inn Salzburg City hotel, a short walk from the sights of Salzburg's historic Old Town. Our contemporary hotel is a gleaming glass-fronted building just 5km from Salzburg International Airport. Enjoy far-reaching mountain views and an Alpine feel in your stylish Guest room. Stroll down bustling Linzergasse Lane and over the Salzach River to see Mozart's birthplace on Getreidegasse shopping street, 2km from Holiday Inn Salzburg City. Ride the funicular railway to majestic Hohensalzburg Castle and gaze out over the city from its grand turrets. The headquarters of Porsche Salzburg and Ernst & Young are a short drive from our hotel. Features: See Salzburg on a sightseeing city tour for example by bus with a hopp on and hopp off ticket. The restaurant staff is looking forward serving you delicious international cuisine in our restaurant "In(n)ovation" with indirect lightning and front cooking station as highlights. Our hotel lounge and 24-hours bar offers from lunch to espresso-break everything that you need to relax. Privat parking-garage available (at a charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing