We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Nearby Hotels
$304
$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
$146
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$339
$323
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$326
$256
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$222
$145
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$307
$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Der Salzburger Hof(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
$106
$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stadtkrug Hotel(Salzburg)
$145
$140
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$216
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveler rating
154
310
180
43
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
310
180
43
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townminute walkmountain viewtrain stationnumber busair congave us a mapmodern hotelthe staff was friendly and helpfuleuros per personcorner roomstayed here for nightsstandard roommain stationquiet locationmini barpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 711 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We picked this hotel for the free parking but it is extremly limited. They do have aparking garage which in 11 euros per night. It was about a 20 minute walk into the Old Town section but the amount of money we saved was worth it. The rooms are clean but that is really about it. Don't bother paying for the breakfast - a much better one can be found for less money with a 10 minute walk in any direction. No mini-fridge or coffeemakers in room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and I stayed here this summer for a couple of nights while were touring in Salzburg.

When we first entered our room, we were surprised to see that they had upgraded us to a room with a balcony and sitting area outside with a view of the mountains. This had been done since I was a Platinum member with Holiday Inn. The other thing they did for us since I was a Platinum member was to leave a tray of fresh fruit and a small bottle of wine in the room for us. This was all very nice.

The room was clean and updated. The beds were comfortable.

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the old town of Salzburg. You would not want it to be any more since you walk a lot in the Old town as it is.

I would definitely consider staying here another time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler06232009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights towards July end.

Location:
The hotel is located far from the city center is about 20 mins walk from the eurail station as well as the city center. The close proximity of the hotel is rather dead at night (except another hotel bang opposite). When I read the name of the hotel read as Holiday Inn Salzburg "City" I made a mistake to believe it was in the city center. Proven incorrect. In terms of location, this hotel is a complete No.

Rooms:
The rooms were neat and clean but like rooms of most European hotels - the rooms here were also on the smaller side. There was no balcony like the pictures claimed to have. Infact, I couldn't find balconies in any of the rooms. May be they have done away with them. The lighting behind the bed (highlighting the wooden front) was looking very nice at right. Quality of sleep was excellent thanks to the good quality of pillows and mattresses being used. The bathroom was rather large as compared to the room. But there was a faint smell in the bathroom whenever the exhaust was on. We didn't bother to report it to the management though. They had provided a bottle of Fizz water in the room which I wish was replaced with still water.

Service & Breakfast:
The staff at the reception were helpful. One particular guy (can't recall his name) was very cheerful and helped us really well to plan our day in and around the city. The internet at the hotel is free for only 1 hour during the stay. It is a wierd policy since only 1 hour is provided even if a guest is staying for 1 day or 1 week. This is rather awful in today's era. The breakfast at the hotel was very good and as per the standards of Holiday Inn. They had a lot of options in food and drinks and a coffee vending machine for our choice of coffee. Nice.!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aayushchokhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I am not sure when I have been so disappointed with a hotel. It promised much and delivered little. Let's start with the rooms - so tiny and not enough room for suitcases. The wardrobes were blocked by bedside furniture so parts could not be used. The bedside lights are too dim to read by and they block the light switches. The beds (king size) are far too big for the room as it makes it almost impossible to move around the room. The corridor outside are 5 metres wide and wonderfully decorated but should have been used for the inside of the rooms as it is completely wasted space.
This is the first hotel I have stayed at in the past decade where there was no means of connecting to the internet in your own room. No cable or wi-fi. There was an hour free wi-fi available in the lobby but this was a once only. If you stayed a week or a day you got the same amount of free time (1 hour). The internet computer in the lobby worked poorly and was not worth the effort as it often did not let you send emails. This is appalling in the 21st century where connectivity is a way of life. It certainly did not mention any of this detail in the website.
The hotel's handbook also stated that there were several English language channels. Of course none of these worked. No-one seemed to know why or how to fix it. There were no foreign language channels available in any language other than German.
The hotel's website also never mentioned that parking came at a cost of 11 Euro.
The female staff seemed helpful but some of the male staff in the restaurant seemed very indifferent to customer needs except for the odd table they chose to concentrate on. Utterly terrible service - plates took forever to clear, no coffee offered were just some of the examples of poor service.
There was no shampoo or other toiletries in the bathroom and the one cake of soap was never renewed over a 3 day period.
The air conditioner could not cope with hot weather and was more a heater than a cooler.
Probably the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Stay as a single there is not enough room for 2 people
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tholland55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear tholland55,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day, especially with the room accommodations and Internet connection.

I appreciate you bringing these issues into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest services. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was a VERY value oriented hotel, and the room was small, pretty, lovely and clean. The big BUT was the noise, produced in large part by the staff. We tried to politely indicate our disconsternation with the "moving of carts of bottles" at 7:00 am, but to no avail. That said, the breakfast room staff was so REALLY accomodating. We just wanted to love the whole package, because the price was fabulous for Salzburg - or any place else! I can't help but recommend the place; just be mindful of the noise potential.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have a pool or fitness center - hence the gap in review.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdtkacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Dear UVAMomAlexandria,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I am delighted you found our hotel to be value oriented. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the outside noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews