We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
235
49
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
49
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus restaurants within walking distance rose marie peaceful retreat a great place to stay when world heritage site visit salzburg helpful owner apartment was clean public transportation home from home salzburg card old town small kitchen minute drive stayed for nights salzburg area
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 293 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2015

We stayed at Haus Steiner in May 2014 for three nights. We needed two rooms to accommodate my wife and I and our 24 and 22 year old children. We stayed in the two-bedroom suite on the 2nd floor which had wonderful mountain views. Rooms themselves were simple but comfortable. Rosemarie was the ideal hostess. Not only was her cozy B&B clean and comfortable, but she also provided a traditional European breakfast and wonderful recommendations for nearby restaurants. The value for Haus Steiner was remarkable. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

The bus to downtown Salzburg was very easy. We made the mistake of driving our rented car on the first day which was expensive to park and not needed given the great bus service.

Our favorite nearby restaurant (easily walkable) recommended by Rosemarie was Reiterhof Moos (even open on Sunday night which was a lifesaver for us). The food was so good we ate there twice.

Overall, Haus Steiner was a great place for our family...a wonderful value with a gracious, helpful and welcoming hostess!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveMontana406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2014

Haus Steiner is a 20-minute bus ride (bus no.21) away from the old town which is great for a long and often exhausting day of sightseeing. There's a wonderful family-run restaurant nearby but you'll be hard-pressed to find a grocer.

Rosemarie is incredibly helpful & hospitable. I had a lovely conversation filled with laughter with her over breakfast and exchanged travel stories. There were ample supplies of bread rolls, pastries, fruit, yogurt, beverage, jam, ham, cheese, etc.

The single room is en suite and has a balcony with a gorgeous view of the mountain. The room was kept neat and tidy every morning. Wi-Fi worked well in the room.

The direction to the B&B on her website hasn't been updated. Apart from buses no. 1, 5 or 25, you may also consider taking no. 3 or 6, whichever comes first, to Markartplatz from the Hauptbahnhof, Salzburg's main train station. Change to Bus 21 at Markartplatz in the direction of Furstenbrunn.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Haus Steiner for a night in the Summer of 2014 (July). We had been to Germany, Austria, Switzerland and the Netherlands and Haus Steiner was in our top 3 places to visit again. The owners are extremely polite (like all of Austria). We had the room facing the back of the house and let me tell you a bottle of wine (bought from the crazy 100+ selection at the local gas station) and a relaxing setting on the private deck was amazing. There is a farmers field out beck with horses roaming and you can almost see the Eagles Nest in the alps just beyond that. If I were to win the lottery I would buy in this area of Salzburg! Dont let anyone tell you its far from anything, its 10 mins from downtown Salzburg and a few mins from the Red Bull Hanger! (Go Vettle!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. Our room had 2 rooms, a well-equipped kitchen and a balcony overlooking a grassy yard and field. Everything was clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable. Rosemary is a wonderful hostess, and she communicates well through email to coordinate arrival. We would definitely stay again. There are 2 markets within driving distance--Hofer (which stays open longer on Saturday) and Aldi--both are closed Sundays. Buses can take you into Salzburg City Center.

Room Tip: On back of house are balcony rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AZTravelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed in Haus Steiner for two nights in November & everything was faultless. As in other reviews guests have commented on the friendlyness of Rosemarie & we also agree she is a great attribute,friendly,helpful & nothing ever seems too much!
The house is situated amongst the best of Salzburg's countryside, but is only a short car or bus journey away from the main city.
The rooms at Haus Steiner are clean,comfortable & have breath taking views looking across to the mountains.
Breakfast is more than adequate, with a selection of teas,coffee,preserves with fresh bread,and more.
What more could you ask for!and all at an affordable price. We hope to return in the near future!

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain views
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews