We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience at your Doorstep”
Review of H+ Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
H+ Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #20 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

From Innsbruck we took the train to our next destination, the Historic city of Salzburg.

I chose Ramada Salzburg City Centre because of its location. It's pretty much the very next building next to Salzburg HBf (train station). For those who have luggages to drag, this hotel will be a very good choice.

The staff at the counter was very polite and checking-in was smooth.

The room was ok. A bit run down though. Beds and pillows were ok too.

Even though the Hotel is right next to the train station, the noise from the train is as good as zero.

The Old Town is not that near but you can take several buses from the bus station in front of the hotel to the Old Town. It'll only take you about 10 - 15 mins to reach the Old Town.

There are a few shopping malls with outlet such as Starbucks (just next to the hotel) , McDonalds, Burger King, H&M and many more plus a cinema. If you're not into those stuff, it's still good to know the amenities around.

I did not take the breakfast and did not patronise the sauna. Sorry, no reviews for that.

Overall,this hotel is ok. But I really love the idea of not having to drag my luggages around especially with the hotel so close to the train station.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarsZali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear guest,

we are delighted about your positive impressions and thank you for your great review.
It’s a pleasure to read that you felt comfortable with us and enjoyed your stay in Salzburg. We also want to thank you about the praise of our great location next to the train station. Especially our staff was pleased about your kind words and we would be very happy to welcome you again as our guest during your next stay in Salzburg. We wish you all the best!

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre
Angelina Lipp – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 916 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

It's a decent unspectacular business hotel. The spa area and breakfast, however, is really good. It's located right by the central rail station, but you do not hear the trains. Staff is very friendly and helpfull, but should get some more training. They seem quite inexperienced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your compliment and your nice review! We are glad that we could convince you of our location, our varied breakfast and our friendly and helpful employeers. It’s great to hear that you have felt comfortable with us and that we were able to spoil you with our service. We are really looking forward to welcome you again at your next stay in Salzburg. Best regards!

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre
Angelina Lipp – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have stayed in standard room for 2 nights during our Europe trip in Jun 2013.

The room is quite new and modern. Bathroom is good. Air-conditioner is functional. The location is superb as it is very near the train station. However, since we have spent most of the time travelling the city, we haven't had a chance to explore hotel's facilities and food.

Ultimately, this hotel is suitable for tourists who spend most of their time exploring the city and would like to have a cozy sleep at night.

Note:
The only bad part is that one receptionist (African-American, young, female) seemed to be getting upset when I was asking for the direction to the tourist spot and the salzburg card even though there is no queue waiting for her service after me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review! We hope that you had a great and comfortable stay in our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay in our hotel and recommend it as an ideal place for sightseeing trips. We regret your inconveniences with our receptionist. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We are happy that we could satisfy your expectations! Kind regards from Salzburg!

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Nice rooms and very helpful staff, very close to the center with all facilities just next door. There is a shopping centre just adjacent. The rooms were small, but very clean, up to standard and overall well presented. Would recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear guest,

it’s wonderful that you have taken the time to comment our RAMADA hotel in such a great way. It‘s a great pleasure to read that you felt comfortable with us and that you liked our nice and clean rooms. Also your praise about our employees makes us proud and we are really looking forward to see you soon again! Best regards

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre
Angelina Lipp – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for a business sleepover. Hotel has a garage for the car in the basement.
Breakfast was very good. We went for the dinner to nearby hotel restaurant Imlauer Stieglbrau, Rainerstrasse 14, which is 10 minutes walk away. The food there was great. I slept very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollidaystraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your great comment and the nice review about our hotel. We feel very happy about your pleasant stay in Salzburg. The whole team would like to thank you for your review and the great praise. We are pleased that we seem to have done everything right and you have felt comfortable with us. We hope to get the chance to convince you a second time. Kind regards! Greetings from Salzburg!

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We came to the hotel 3 times in 2009, 2012 and 2013 and must admit that we do not feel comfortable there anymore. Service, in particular cleaning of rooms and maintenance of wellness area appear to have turned worse.

Plus:
- high calibre cultural events. It is possible and quite reasonable to buy tickets to very good performances and the theatre some days before. Be aware that tickets for Mozart week in January or summer festival are less easy to buy. You need to book some months in advance and mostly only by sending an application via email. It was not possible to buy tickets in the ticket office one year before Mozart week. Again I need to apply via email.
- always great town. Historical buildings, museums are always worth a trip to Salzburg
- climbing (easy level) near to town and accessible with buses. Easy to find out way and ticket price
- good shopping area called "Salzburg Outlet Designer Shopping" if you do not buy all your clothes in the Internet. Nice shops, friendly staff, good offering/ special offers in late season. Easily accessible with bus No. 10 to exit "Himmelreich". You do not need a car in Salzburg.
- perfect location of the hotel: next to Main Station, only some steps to the right.
- friendly staff
- nice, but small rooms. Good decoration and a small seating corner which makes it more comfortable to use the room during a day when cold winter weather.
- large shower, radio/TV transmitted to bathroom
- good breakfast buffet for European tourists, eventually for Americans also, less good for Asian guests (no asian or asian like food)
- sauna ok, steambath decorated nicely, very small relaxing areas for 6-7 people (hotel has more than 130 double rooms) so that it some times got a bit "crowded" soon

Minus:
- rooms are dirty. During 5 or 6 days bed linen was not changed, dust was not removed, no hoover.
- no fridge in the rooms which in most hotels in cities are common today (if only for beverages)
- you get coffee only if you know that you have to ask for it when you come to have breakfast. Staff will not offer coffee to you. If you do not know that, you may use a cappuccino/ latte macchiato machine, but if you like coffee only you wonder where to find it.
- sauna does not heat to more than 75 degrees which w/o steam is a bit too cold for a Finnish sauna. Twice during our stay guests despite note in front of the sauna put on water again and again, even after 2 min in the sauna, and thus turned into a second steam bath without the "effect" of a original sauna. A drunk guest was ask by security "to go in 5 min", but stayed. Security did not return.
- steambath should be an "aroma steambath" but we never noticed any kind of aroma except human style.
- out of shower drain came an awful smell (in shower and downstairs in fitting room)
- a so called "event shower" did not work in 2012 and again in 2013 was broken. May be it never worked since years - no change?
- rooms service not before 3 pm (for rooms with guests staying) but before 12:30 am for rooms with people leaving. Even if you ask room service or put on the sign "please make my room" you may return into a dirty room in the afternoon.
- staff is friendly and apologises e.g. for late room service, but never solves any of complains. Apparently, reception cannot help it or improve service and maintenance. Or we are the only guests who complain and staff noticed that we returned despite complains in 2012 (not in 2009 when all was ok). In 2012 we believed that it may be a "bad year", but now after again the same unchanged situation, we feel that it will not be better in future and will not return.
- Example 1: Our room was dirty all day. We waited in the small lobby opposites to reception for our room being cleaned because we wanted to use if before going to an evening event. After asking twice - the room service right in front of our room, and later again reception - we finally achieved that our room was "quickly" cleaned and that we could use it in the late afternoon to have some spare time before evening out.
- Example 2: Reception staff needed to call house keeping three times to ensure that sauna in the evening was turned on with a delay of a hour. We explained that before theatre we wanted to use the sauna which due to the delay and a somewhat bullish staff we could not use that day.
- Example 3: We went to sauna another day and did not find towels which usually are placed there for use in the sauna. We called staff who explained that towels usually come earlier from dry cleaners but are delayed this day. Staff wanted to go. We asked to get 2 towels from room service, because "we are quite confident that a hotel of this size has some spare towels elsewhere". Staff then asked for number of guests and got us two towels for two persons from room service. Guests arriving at the sauna after us again had no towels and apparently gave up plans to have wellness.

Room Tip: rooms to rear side, 4th or 5th floor to reduce noise from station and main street if you would like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A-re-tsamaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear guest,

first of all we thank you for taking the time to express your impressions from your stay at our hotel.To know the point of view of our clients is very interesting and helpful for us.
Your positiv comments about our excellent location, our rooms and our great breakfast makes us very happy. We are also glad that you enjoyed the beautiful city of Salzburg and hope you have had some wonderful days.
At the same time we feel very sorry, that you have had a bad experience with our hotel and insure you that this was certainly an exceptional situation, for which we would like to apologize.
Gladly we will check your mentioned shortcomings and will consider them in our processes.
Only with your valuable comments about your stay, we are able to improve our facilities and services. We gladly accept your criticism and will check possibilities for optimization. We have already informed the relevant section to review your mentioned points and hope we can convince you of our service the next time. Again, thank you for you comment.it is very important for us to hear, if there is something we can work in the future! We hope you might give us a chance to show you our improvements during your next visit! Best regards!

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre
Angelina Lipp – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very impressed with the hotel. It is opp to the Main train station in Salzburg. The check in was smooth at 1130am, the room was good.

I had booked a single room for two nights through booking.com for Euro 168 with breakfast. free WIFI all the places.

I had booked this hotel due to the location and health club. Was not at all disappointed.

No mini bar or coffee/tea maker in the room. Safe is there.

Free wifi is working fine everywhere.

The breakfast was very normal and was OK... nothing fancy about the breakfast.

Nice hotel, nice location, for sure will come back here. Ten mts walk to the city where the sightseeing tours are available.

There is a hop on and off stop in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms with front view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for highlighting positively our hotel and our central location. Obviously you got a nice stay and we are really happy about it. We are looking forward to your next stay and hope to get the chance to convince you again!

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre
Angelina Lipp – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#15 of 132 in Salzburg
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.6 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Salzburg

Address: Suedtiroler Platz 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Ramada Hotel Salzburg City Centre)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#29 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $99 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Salzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few minutes of walking distance away from the baroque historic city and just off the train station makes the "RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre" to the optimal home base for an easygoing vacation or business appointment.Park in our deep-level-garage (for a payment of a fee) with direct access to the hotel.The 120 rooms with modern and freshening design have costless WLAN, flat screens - cable - TV, radio, air condition, safe and a working area with a desk and telephone available. If you use a navigation system, please enter the address Engelberg-Weiss-Weg 10, 5020 Salzburg. You will get to the entrance of the underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your H+ Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Salzburg City Centre Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing