We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly and overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of H+ Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H+ Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Moscow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and overrated”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Firstly be aware that it's not the city center, the old city is in 25 minutes walk. The area is unpleasant: lots of strange people some of them drunk, lots of Turks leaving around in this "new" part of Salzburg.
The hotel room is more or less standard, but instead of a double bed they just put two single beds side by side:). There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room.
Wifi is free but not at all fast and stable. In some cases of disconnect you have to type the login and password again which is annoying.
Staff is not friendly and even doesn't bother to greet you neither meeting in a corridor nor asking your room number at the breakfast hall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belo4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    366
    168
    45
    32
See reviews for
144
365
67
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Don't go! Woke up today feeling drugged due to stiflingly hot night in this hotel. After 34 degree day out walking in the beautiful city came back to incredibly over heated reception. Our room had the so called air con system on all day but it was like walking into a sauna. Had to buy a fan to help us get through the very uncomfortable night. Staff very courteous and apologetic, agreeing conditions bad. The reception area like an oven and male staff wearing full suit, dripping with sweat. Also no mini bar in room, so unable to get a cool drink of water during night. Previous review indicates air conditioning problem not new so nothing has been done to improve matters. Marketing manager of Ramada Salzburg should go to Asia to see how it's done - despite constant heat and humidity in those countries hotels are always air conditioned and comfortable. This hotel is not cheap and certainly not value for money. TV cheap and nasty with bass overriding making it hard to hear what's being said. In summary Ramada hotel spoiled our Salzburg experience.

Room Tip: No tip as could not wait to leave this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A very standard hotel, perhaps a little overpriced. Breakfast was a good standard, served between 6-10:30 with excellent views from the 6th floor. Right next to the train station, however there was no noise from the station in the room.
No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, available for €10 a night, however we only paid for one night, and ended up keeping the kettle for a week and just buying our own milk from the Spar next door.
Staff were always friendly and helpful when we had questions. A bit of a walk from any of the tourist attractions in the old town, however the walk was pleasant along the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxehmookau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Booked via booking.com (my standard choice these days, since it is easy to find hotels for three persons, two adults and one child), and got quoted X euros for two nights. Ended up being charged X+10 euros (no, not the city tax, this was before the city tax). Did not have time to argue about it since the train was leaving in half an hour and we had other things to do.

Room was quite smelly when we got there, carpet cleaner or something, this cleared up once the air conditioning was running.

Wi-fi didn't work, but I hardly remember the last time wi-fi worked well in an hotel.

Apart from this, the hotel was okay.

Breakfast was okay, they had croissants (criteria #1), but no bacon the second day (criteria #2) and were slow in refilling the hot foods. The "fitness" area was decent too, with a couple of tread-mills and a weight machine.

The location is awesome, and this is why we choose the hotel. Close to the Salzburg Central station, and also to the Berchtesgaden bus which we used to get to the salt mines. There is a shopping mall with some clothes shops nearby (we commonly do a Reacher when travelling and buy new clothes instead of bringing everything), decent coffee in the mall, and a burger king immediately outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedeChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Just outside Train Station, you can use all the shops and facilities of the station which close a lot later than anything else in this city. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, free wifi is very useful, staff were very helpful and patient. Located right at Bahnhoff station, you can use the supermarket, restaurants, Tabacs, book your next reservation, it is also the main bus terminal.
On the negative side: I find the rooms small and cramped, feels like 15 square meters. i paid $127 a night, about $30-40 more than I think its worth. I supposed thats the cost for its location otherwise this would be a typical 3 star to me.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It is just near of Salzburg Haupbahnhof Station in newly construction buildings including a shopping mall. Since it is new and constructed for hotel they have so compact and useful rooms. Very friendly hotel staff, modern decoration and neat rooms. I highly recommended you this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmystere S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with friends at this hotel in July.

Staff is excellent, very knowledgeable and very helpful and polite.

A safe hotel as you cannot enter in the night without your hotel card (esp for girl travelers)

Conveniently located right outside the train station. Food outlets all around.

Rooms are fairly decent for 2 people and not more than that. The rooms, are clean with warm water and facilities. Breakfast has a good spread with eggs, muffin, ham, cheeses, croissant, bread, tea and coffee.

Overall - A good stay with no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anisha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 132 in Salzburg
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Salzburg
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Salzburg

Property: H+ Hotel Salzburg
Address: Suedtiroler Platz 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Ramada Hotel Salzburg City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#29 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Salzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few minutes of walking distance away from the baroque historic city and just off the train station makes the "RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre" to the optimal home base for an easygoing vacation or business appointment.Park in our deep-level-garage (for a payment of a fee) with direct access to the hotel.The 120 rooms with modern and freshening design have costless WLAN, flat screens - cable - TV, radio, air condition, safe and a working area with a desk and telephone available. If you use a navigation system, please enter the address Engelberg-Weiss-Weg 10, 5020 Salzburg. You will get to the entrance of the underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your H+ Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Salzburg City Centre Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing