We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In fact alright, but 3 star plus instead of 4 star ranking would fit better”
Review of H+ Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H+ Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #21 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in Januar-Febuary 2013 at the Ramada City Hotel in Salzburg. We have been there before and like to be in Salzburg for some relaxing days at this hotel having short winter breaks and attending cultural events (Mozart week every year in January).

Rooms are very small, but up to date, nicely furnished and comfortable even offering a small seating area. On the sixth floor a hearty breakfast is served at the Panorama restaurant which indeed offers a lovely view in the morning over town, mountains and castle. However, after two days the always same buffet becomes boring. Some other food (changing fruit, dairy, cake not served) would make Ramada Mornings breakfast more enjoyable.

For breakfast and spa, service staff was unreliable on some days. During the first days we were offered coffee. We asked for fried eggs with ham which were served by very friendly staff and were nicely arranged with spices. Later - always after waiting longer time - we had to order coffee once or twice. Coffee was served immediately, but only upon request. Fried eggs with ham were missing ham (or bacon anyway) and spices.

Spa is small as expected for a city hotel: sauna, steam bath and five relaxing chairs, no water dispenser and at the first two days warm shower always (no cold shower after sauna. This is true and not due to not knowing how to use a cold-hot water tap). Opening time was limited to 6 pm - 10 pm which during summer we would not complain about. However, we feel that in January - in particular when having cold weather and lots of snow out there - staff could agree upon guests request to open the spa earlier. After protest the hotel switched on sauna on 4 pm instead of 6 pm. And on Sunday only which show some inflexibility with "hotel processes". Steam bath was announced to be a "aroma steam bath" which is not true since there was no flavour. You will find plenty of towels being replaced frequently, but empty soap and shampoo dispensers. After telling reception they were refilled immediately, though.

Actually, we were a bit surprised that you will not find any of the usual bathroom equipment as known from other 4-star hotels (e.g. body lotion, sewing kit) which would cost some pennies only. Anyway, no reason to complain about because there is a shopping centre next to the hotel to help oneself "in case of emergency". ;-)

It just turns out to be a hotel with a minimum calculation and somewhat passive service. but offering all essential services and quiet, clean, comfortable rooms..

Therefore, at this hotel, you certainly will have a relaxing stay in a central location at Salzburg, Also you will not miss anything if you just tell the staff which not always checks services and offerings. We would recommend the hotel any time, but for a true 4 star ranking would expect better services and varying food for breakfast buffet. This is the reason for our lower rating at this forum.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the left floor towards the road, not the station. These rooms are more quiet th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-re-tsamaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 940 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel and had a very relaxing time. My deal was through a coupon programme, so the price was extremely cheap, including breakfast and upon arrival a big bottle of mineral water. The room was not huge, but clean. Bed is ok, not the most comfortable ever but fine, still had a good sleep. I personally do not like air-co heating as it is a bit noisy especially when you are trying to fall asleep. Also liked that I can open the windows of the room so every morning could let some fresh air in.
Staff was extremely helpful. Free wifi in the rooms are available, you have to request an access code at reception. Also there is a computer at reception where you can use the internet and can also print out eg. boarding pass for your flight etc, I found it very handy.
Hotel is not in the city center but only 10-15mins walk is I think acceptable. I went for a day skiing in the mountains and for me it was more important that the hotel is right next to train station and bus station so could easily travel around anywhere without even rushing to catch the bus :-) Also went to Berchtesgaden, Germany and a bus leaves from there too, so perfect.
There is a small shopping center next to it, comes handy when it is raining and have 2 hours to waste there.
Hotel has a tiny fitness center, never busy and also a sauna just above the fittness. Only few machines but worth doing a little workout just to ease guilt away after the nice food in town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose the Ramada last Dec as we came in by train and it is really conveniently close to the station, and this is the main plus point.

Staff at reception were very warm initially when we checked in. But for no good reason they were later unhelpful with directions to attractions, saying this was the job of the tourist info centre. This contrasted so much with the warmth and smiles we had received when we stayed at a family run cosy little Hotel Hohenstauffen in the summer. We enjoyed ourselves so much there and wanted to go back there this winter but unfortunately they were fully booked.

It being winter, we would have a better experience there if we could have some tea/coffee facilities either in the room or in the lobby. But no! the place is a bit sterile.

We received so much less but paid so much more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelwings_55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Right next to the train station, close to the inner city. Nice, clean rooms. Good selection at breakfast. Fitness room is not the best,but has a good view. Cardio machines did not seem to be in a good condition. Lobby area is nice and receptionists speak good english.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hysteria27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This Ramada was a very adequate hotel and its location next to the train station was excellent. It had a small area in the lobby where one could purchase a drink or coffee which was nice. The only nearby restaurants were all fast food or fast food in the train station. That being said, the location next to the station made it very handy. However, it was a good long walk into the old town of Salzburg but we did it two days, even found a laundry within walking distance. The breakfast buffet was very good but the hotel obviously attracts tour groups so breakfast was a bit crowded in the mornings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilderbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TREFF_MUC, Manager at H+ Hotel Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for rating our hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied and hope to see you soon again.

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I originally decided on this hotel because of its close proximity to the main train station in Salzburg. Not only is it incredibly close, but the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Spoke good english, provided us with a city map, recommended a fantastic local restaurant (close to the hotel) and checked us in, in a timely manner. The room was a good size room (for european standards), the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. We had no problem with our WIFI, it worked well. We had a slight problem with our TV not working properly, after I called the front desk, someone was knocking on our door literally 5 minutes later and got it working. There is a taxi stand right out the front door and the bus station is right there as well. It is a bit of a walk (15-20 minutes) from the hotel to the old part of town (castle). The breakfast was very good as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodesianRidgeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TREFF_MUC, Manager at H+ Hotel Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear guest,

we are happy that you have chosen the Ramada Hotel and thank you on behalf of the entire team for the very nice review. We apologize that your TV did not work very well and are glad it was promptly solved. If you should come to Salzburg again, we would be happy to welcome you once more.

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We are surprised as for some reason, the hotel allows us to check in early at 9am. We are impressed by the receptionist who is helpful and polite. The room is not too small...Love the bathroom which the heat come from the floor..the rain shower is great..generally the hotel is clean...the Internet comnection is fair and fast enough however losing connection several times.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TREFF_MUC, Manager at H+ Hotel Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear guest,

the team of RAMADA Hotel Salzburg thanks you for your very nice review. We are pleased that you are happy with your room and our staff members. Please do feel free to stay with us again, should you come to Salzburg; we would be delighted.

Your team of RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
1,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#37 of 132 in Salzburg
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Salzburg

Address: Suedtiroler Platz 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Ramada Hotel Salzburg City Centre)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $82 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Salzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few minutes of walking distance away from the baroque historic city and just off the train station makes the "RAMADA Hotel Salzburg City Centre" to the optimal home base for an easygoing vacation or business appointment.Park in our deep-level-garage (for a payment of a fee) with direct access to the hotel.The 120 rooms with modern and freshening design have costless WLAN, flat screens - cable - TV, radio, air condition, safe and a working area with a desk and telephone available. If you use a navigation system, please enter the address Engelberg-Weiss-Weg 10, 5020 Salzburg. You will get to the entrance of the underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your H+ Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Salzburg City Centre Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing