We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to recommend it”
Review of The Old Courthouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochmaddy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Courthouse
Ranked #3 of 3 Lochmaddy B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Happy to recommend it”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was warmly welcomed by Mr & Mrs Johnson and spent two comfortable nights here and slept really well. There was a huge choice for breakfast and it was terrific. When I asked if I could have an early breakfast on the second morning, they were very obliging and said that would be fine. Mr Johnson has an interesting background and is an entertaining raconteur. Enjoyed my stay here with these nice people in their friendly home.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PeterG605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Arrived after a 40 mile cycle into 30 mph headwinds, and the warm and helpful welcome from Mr Johnston, with a cup of tea and biscuits was just what was needed. I really liked the traditional building and lovely Ercol furniture. The bed was the comfiest of our trip so far, and most welcome after a day in the saddle. Great breakfast to set us up for the day ahead, enjoyed the homemade jam. Perfect B&B for us, would certainly come again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Given the earlier reviews we were worried about what we'd find, but we'd needn't have worried. There were 5 of us cycling and the welcome and care from Mr and Mrs Johnson was first class. The place has an old charm and it is quite traditional, but none the worse for that. Everyone thought it was great and would happily go back. Our only complaint was we couldn't linger over breakfast as we had a ferry to catch and a stiff wind to pedal into.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCasebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Although it was a while ago we stayed her just discovered on trip advisor and though only fair to warn any poor unsuspecting travellers to avoid this place at all costs! Owner was extremely rude and did not even acknowledge us on arrival - we were kept waiting whilst he chatted to a man who had apparently gone to same private school. We were kept waiting at the door soaking wet having cycled all day in the rain. Room very depressing and heating was off. Owners should have given up a long grime ago as obviously not intereted any longer in their business and just going through the motions. The experience was one of the things that put us off travelling through the Hebrides again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Having seen one the previous reviews I was a bit concerned but didn't need to be. Maybe the decor was a bit dark on entry but the bedrooms were fine, clean and crisp clean sheets. Breakfast choice from the menu with plenty of toast and homemade jam and marmalade. Would return if in the area again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank modernoldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

A comfortable room in a good location with a tailor made breakfast, including smoked haddock and kippers caught by local fishermen. We were also impressed by the homemade jam and marmalade!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donya134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We were dispointed with this b&b. The place is dark and unwelcoming and smelt musty. The decir was dated and 'tired' but worst of all our bed linen was soiled. Need I say more?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tirycwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courthouse

Property: The Old Courthouse
Address: Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist > Lochmaddy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lochmaddy
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing